Leather is on its way back!

by | Dec 11, 2006 | 10 comments

NBA commissioner David Stern, in a stunning reversal, has decided to shelve the new microfiber composite basketball after just a few months of use and switch back to the old leather model for all games starting Jan. 1, according to sources close to the situation. Via ESPN thanks to a link from Truehoop.


  1. Craig

    Now for the demise of Zero tolerance! Stern is a TOOL

  2. Anonymous

    i dotn understand the players are just starting to get used to it and now tehr switching back!

  3. Anonymous

    well at least the players union did something for the players. I guess Stern does want the law suit to stick around, if only he had of listened at the start of the season.

    Now I hope they still fight for the zero tolerance rule and don;t stop at this. David has not even brought up that part of the suit so I ‘d like to see what happens from here.

  4. theSHEEDabides

    Screw the ball, make refs accountable for bogus calls.

  5. Anonymous

    Do you think they will really have to adjust to the original ball??? Because now they have been using the new one!

  6. Big_Ben

    I don’t know how I fell about this. I mean I thought they should have asked the players what they wanted from the start, and I think they should go back to the new ball, but i hope it doesn’t effect how things are going right now for certain teams and players.

  7. Anonymous


    no if only the change the zero tolerance bullshit

  8. Anonymous

    I don’t get why the players have to adjust to the new ball mid season! At least the players got what they wanted

    Do you think the new ball will be cheaper after January 1st??????

  9. Anonymous

    why change the ball in jan shouldn’t they just start with the old balls now so they don’t have to re adjust to the old balls. I just dont get david he said he was doing nothing this season but I guess the union really has something on him and he was in the wrong, oh how this looks good on him

  10. Anonymous



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  • Rasheed Wallace
  • Greg Monroe
  • Andre Drummond
  • Josh Smith
  • Brandon Jennings
  • Caron Butler
  • Kentavious Caldwell-Pope
  • Jodie Meeks
  • D.J. Augustin
  • Gigi Datome
  • Spencer Dinwiddie
  • Jonas Jerebko
  • Kyle Singler
  • Tony Mitchell
  • Stan Van Gundy
  • Arnie Kander
  • Mike Abdenour
  • Tom Gores
  • Greg Kelser
  • George Blaha
  • John Mason

Pistons Past

  • Chauncey Billups
  • Rodney Stuckey
  • Brandon Knight
  • Tayshaun Prince
  • Richard Hamilton
  • Jason Maxiell
  • Tracy McGrady
  • Will Bynum
  • Austin Daye
  • Chris Wilcox
  • Dajuan Summers
  • Peyton Siva
  • Kim English
  • Terrico White
  • Josh Harrellson
  • Charlie Villanueva
  • Vernon Macklin
  • Viacheslav Kravtsov
  • Ben Gordon
  • Ben Wallace
  • Isiah Thomas
  • Maurice Cheeks
  • Lawrence Frank
  • John Kuester
  • Chuck Daly
  • Bill Laimbeer
  • Joe Dumars