The Pistons vs. The Rockets

Posted · 6 Comments
pistons_vs_rockets_n4s_logo

The 23-35 #Pistons are Houston to take on the 39-19 Rockets Saturday night. The Rockets are on a roll, having won 10 of their last 12 games and have won seven straight against the Pistons on their home court.

The good: You can see that this team is playing much better lately, they just need to learn to finish off games.
The bad: The last time these two teams met Dwight Howard had a monster game putting up 35 points with 19 boards. Remember the days when Sheed played Howard so well he was barley noticeable on the floor?
The unknown: Can Andre Drummond show that he’s improved since the last time he met Howard? Will Detroit’s defense be able to hold off Houston, who are averaging 114 points per game while shooting lights out from behind the arc?

Pistons: Chauncey Billups (left knee surgery) is out.
Rockets: Greg Smith is out.
James Harden is probable.

Stat: The Pistons are 4-17 against Western Conference opponents.

Tip off is at 8:00 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports Detroit . If you can’t catch the game on TV, catch it on the radio over at 97.1 The Ticket.

6 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Rockets"
  1. Shawn says:

    If there was ever a year where tanking was imperative, THIS would be that year.

  2. Haris says:

    #freegigi

  3. Dan says:

    These real humiliations come against teams with good paint presence and perimeter play. the pistons can’t defend against the style of play they really should be designed to play themselves.

    Very bad paint defence. Inexperienced like no other.

    I say Big Ben needs to come in and compliment Sheed.

    Offensively – Smith’s fit to the team isn’t there. when you have Moose and a good PG you don’t need anyone else ‘holding’ the ball on offence. The ball should go through them. Josh should be moving himself around the floor more and touch the ball less.

  4. Tycoon says:

    I can imagine Mo Cheeks smiling…

  5. otisdm says:

    Guys, on the tanking thing, I’m really not so sure. They should have been tanking for each of the last five years, but at this point since they sat on their hands at the deadline, how can we actually expect to get better next season? Ten mil in cap space and a mid lottery pick? Is that going to be enough to make the pick we surrender to Charlotte painless? If they’d been sellers at the deadline, I’d be all about tanking and coming back strong next year. As it stands, I don’t think it’s even possible to come back strong. And if things continue going the way they have been, the situation will only deteriorate.

    If at any point someone was going to come in and actually develop a multi-year plan, it might include surrendering the pick this year and tanking like they mean it next year. Then they’ll have a nice lottery pick and more flexibility to do maybe something with guys like Jennings (on an expiring contract) and Smith (with only two years remaining). I mean, there is no future anymore. It’s all just bad choices we’ve been left with. I’m just not so sure keeping the pick is this slam dunk great idea anymore. It would make next year more bearable to endure, but when that season is over we’ve still got to pay the piper at some point. If the situation festers, this team could fall even further off a cliff and hand over an even better pick. God that Ben Gordon trade was awful.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM