The Pistons vs. The Cavaliers

Posted · 13 Comments
The Pistons vs. The Cavaliers

The 22-29 #Pistons will host the 19-33 Cleveland Cavaliers Wednesday night at the Palace of Auburn Hills. Both teams come into the game on a three-game winning streak. Detroit would love to get to number four to tie their longest winning streak of the season. The Cavs on the other hand haven’t won four in a row since LeBron James and his talent were playing in Cleveland.

The good: Detroit are playing with a boost of everyone and have dominated the Cavs of late winning their last seven match-ups. A good thing for me is that I won’t have to see Anderson Varejao and his floppy hair on the Palace floor.
The bad: Cleveland is also playing good basketball and is averaging 106 points in the past five games.
The unknown: Will Detroit get a strong collective showing like they did against the Spurts? Can the Pistons go into the All-Star Break on a four game winning streak. If they can it will also give them the longest home-game win streak since a seven-game run March 14-April 4, 2008.
Injuries:
Pistons: Josh Harrellson (knee) out.
Cavaliers: Carrick Felix and Anderson Varejoa are out.
C.J. Miles– Questionable

Stat: Andre Drummond has an Eastern Conference leading 37 double-doubles.
Stat: Josh Smith scored 25 points to lead the Pistons in their 115-92 win over the Cavaliers on 12/23.
Stat: Kyrie Irving led Cleveland with 21 points in the loss on 12/23.

Tip off is at 7:30 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports Detroit . If you can’t catch the game on TV, catch it on the radio over at 97.1 The Ticket.

13 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Cavaliers"
  1. I’d be pretty upset if they find a way to blow this one.

  2. otisdm says:

    The Cavs aren’t much worse than we are so far, just 3.5 games back. They might have actually managed to out-underachieve us, but the Pistons lost the season series to the Magic (2nd worst in the league) and got beat by the Bucks (1st worst) the last time they played. On paper this should be a win, but stranger things have happened.

  3. edt says:

    horrible. We have so much talent but such a messed up roster. We don’t have anybody that reliably hit a shot outside 15 feet. For a while we had so many shooting guards, rip, AI, stuckey, then we had so many small forwards, prince, singler, daye, middleton. Now we have the all bigs, monroe, drummond, jorts, josh.

    What good does it do to have the best bigs in the NBA when the everyone else on the entire team can just camp out in the paint daring us to hoist?

    Defense was nice to see. Or it could be the cavs are just awful shots too. Not sure.

    I’d like to get two decent jump shooters before the trade deadline, at the 2 and 3. I know how likely that is to happen.

  4. otisdm says:

    edt, this is basically my entire premise: You can’t win like this, and you’re not going to fix the perimeter by holding onto all the players you like and praying that shooters magically fall in your lap. There is no chance you can add even one shooter by the deadline without giving up an asset, and we don’t really have any assets aside from Monroe and Stuckey. And furthermore, you won’t be able to add the pieces we need with a sliver of cap space.

    Heck, I never thought I’d say this, but what would the season look like without Stuckey? And we’re going to lose him for nothing in free agency for what? To pretend we have anything left to prove this season? It’s insanely irresponsible. Please read my article. I think it will open your eyes at least a little.

  5. edt says:

    Josh played fine. much as I dislike his low IQ basketball can’t really complain to much for this game.

  6. edt says:

    Otis I hate Josh Smith and want him gone from this team. it is that simple. I love the moose. try to change my mind? Ha!

  7. edt says:

    would you really say “No” to this trade, Otis?

    “For Detroit this trade makes a lot of sense. Josh Smith has not worked out as a small forward and the Pistons would trade his remaining 3 years, $40 million for only $25 million worth of contracts and a possible better fit at small forward in Jeff Green. Josh Smith has his issues, but he’s a defensive force and would be able to play power forward for the Celtics and be rejoined with his friend, Rajon Rondo. Acquiring Smith would also still allow the talent-poor Celtics to stay on track to add a top 5 pick in the 2014 draft. Smith wouldn’t be in the way of any of the top picks other than perhaps Julius Randle. If the Celtics were able to add either Andrew Wiggins or Joel Embiid, either would fit really nicely next to Smith and the Celtics would have pieces to return to defensive prominence. And using the stretch provision on Gerald Wallace this offseason would still maintain enough cap space for the Celts to pursue a second-tier free agent. This trade helps both teams in the short and the long run.”

    Clark Schmutz, SLC Dunk

  8. edt says:

    leftywamu put together a great graphic that explains everything you need to know about josh smith

    http://f.cl.ly/items/0P1O0N3d2F0g3f1D3H2h/J-Smoove2.jpg

  9. ToNiGiZZLe says:

    Hearding and reading all these rumors and then hearing JOE D would give Monroe ” slow lazy turn over machine with no defense and can’t shoot for SH**!” max money just made me barfff and im sick of Joe and digging this organization to the ground. Bill Davidson is rolling in his grave watching what is happening, Trade monroe and Fire Joe D = THE END !

  10. ToNiGiZZLe says:

    Hearing* ” sorry i was pissed when typing lol”

  11. Otis says:

    I would do Smith-for-Green in an instant, but the trade makes NO sense at all for the Celtics. They would never do it. You’ll never find a trade for Smith that brings the Pistons a real asset, and the proof will be in the pudding because you’ll watch it not happen. Ever. Nobody wants Josh Smith. And besides, you’d still be left with the inescapable fact that Monroe and Drummond are two centers who only get in each other’s way and will never thrive together.

  12. edt says:

    any contract can be traded the fact is you straight up think Josh Smith is a decent player sure you think his contract is too big, but if it were 2 or 3 million less you would be delighted to have him on a pistons team.

    I think josh smith makes teams worse. The best way to win with a team that has josh smith on it is to play him on the bench. We would win more games with Jennings, KCP, Singler, Monroe & Drummond and josh smith at 0 minutes than we would with playing him.

    That’s what I think of Josh smith. As for greg & drummond can’t play together, well, since we have played the “jumbo” lineup 1000 or so minutes and that hasn’t worked, how about Greg + drummond and no josh smith, well we have exactly 29 minutes and 3 seconds of the jennings KCP Singler, monroe drummond lineup.

    That’s how much we have seen this “fact” that “two centers can’t work together” because we have tried it for half of a basketball game and that was because Josh Smith got benched for missing his flight.

    We also have about 35 minutes of Josh + Drummond and if we are going to trade away Greg monroe sure as heck I want more minutes with that lineup. Maybe I’m all wrong, maybe you’re right and this is the lineup of the future. I sure wish we would see more of that line up if that’s what is going to happen.

    I guess we will find out what happens after either Greg or Josh gets traded which because Joe D is a lame duck wont happen until this summer or next year’s trade deadline.

    I believe in the moose. But I sure do want to see Josh + Drummond on the court in the last stretch of the season if that is our future.

    It is appalling by the way that three of the worst contracts in the last 5 years in the NBA involve piston’s players, Ben Gordon, Charlie V and Josh Smith.

    I think we are going to make the playoffs, and after such a long drought my expectations are different. I used to think NBA finals or bust. Now I think, sure would be nice to kick back on a playoff weekend and watch my piston’s play hard and lose to the heat or indiana for a quick exit. That wouldn’t be so bad. Maybe we can get 6 games out of it. So despite everything I am looking forward to the end of this season. I just want less “jumbo” and more just “2 bigs” any two bigs it doesn’t matter.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM