Pistons Top The Spurs In John Loyer’s Debut

Posted · 6 Comments
Greg Monroe Pistons vs Spurs

The Pistons won their third straight game and fifth consecutive game at home in a win against one of the best teams in the NBA. Detroit’s 100-109 win against the Spurs was the first for interim coach John Loyer.

Key Points:

  • From a fans standpoint, this team look entirely different from the one that lost to the Magic just a few days back. Detroit seemed to have a spark and really gave 100% the full 48 minutes.
  • Detroit started off strong out of the gate and nothing set the tone like this ridiculous block Andre Drummond sent to the other end of the floor right in the hands of Brandon Jennings for a quick two points.

[Video not found]
Via NBA.com

  • Detroit finished the first quarter on a 15-5 run to take an 11 point lead into the second quarter.
  • Greg Monroe dropped a double-double with 15 points on 7-of-10 shooting, with 10 boards, two steals and three assists in 36 minutes on the floor.  Looks like Pistons want to keep the big man for a while.
  • This time it was the Pistons who took advantage of turnovers. Detroit with 11 on the night and the Spurs 19 turnovers led to 26 points for Detroit.
  • There was a lot of chatter at the Palace about the Cheeks firing. Most fans saw it coming, but were shocked it happened when it did.
  • Nice showing from the Pistons bench. It was also nice to see Loyer give the starters a break after they’d been playing a ton of minutes of late.

Andre DrummondAndre Drummond: “Everybody loves John, you can see the excitement we had when we were walking off the court after the game. We’re all excited he’s our coach now. Of course, we miss Mo, too. But we’ve got to move forward and try to win some games.”

  • Rodney Stuckey put up 20 points on 7-of-13 shooting with four boards, a steal and three assists in 27 minutes on the floor.
  • Bynum is now out of the dog house. Will played 15 minutes with two assists, two steals and eight points.
  • Caldwell-Pope seemed more comfortable, scoring nine points on 3-of-7 shooting. He has an uncharacteristic two turnovers in 21 minutes.
  • Brandon Jennings continues to lead the Pistons in points. Brandon scored 21 on 8-of-18 shooting, with four boards, six assists and two steals in 32 minutes on the floor.
  • No better assist from Jennings than this lob to Andre Drummond.

[Video not found]
Via NBA.com

  •  Six Pistons in double figures.

John Loyer: “ I told them I thought we could play collectively for longer periods of time better than we have, we had to dig deep and play together.” Via Pistons.com

Highlights Via NBA.com
[Video not found]

  • A win against the Cavaliers on Wednesday can tie the Pistons longest winning streak of the season at four.
6 Responses to "Pistons Top The Spurs In John Loyer’s Debut"
  1. Marcell says:

    Sitting in section 112 I was surrounded by Spurs fans. Thankfully they remained silent thru most of the game. Perhaps stunned.

  2. Damien W. says:

    That had to be tough. Usually when your around the away team fans at the Palace.. they seem to have more fun than everybody else. Good to hear that we put the breaks on that. ^_^

  3. Jake says:

    The 15-5 run was at the end of the 2nd

  4. Julian says:

    I like that Loyer promoted Sheed to an assistant coach rather than just a player development coach.
    If the Pistons do well the rest of the season and make the playoffs, then Gores may actually keep Loyer as the head coach rather than starting over with Hollins. But Joe D. is on thin ice regardless.
    Now the Pistons need win the next 3 games then they will be in good shape since 2 of the games are against our 8th place rival, Charlotte.
    GO Pistons!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM