Pistons Take Care On Business Against The 76ers

Posted · 6 Comments
Greg Monroe Pistons vs 76ers

The #Pistons did what they were supposed to do on a snowy Saturday night at the Palace of Auburn Hills against a lesser opponent, dominate them. Detroit treated their fans to a 113 – 96 blowout against the Philadelphia 76ers, making it just the second time this season that they have strung together two consecutive home game victories.

Key Points:

  • Five Pistons in double figures and three with double-doubles. The usual suspects being Andre Drummond and Greg Monroe, but Kyle Singler added another tying his career high in rebounds with 10.
  • The last time Detroit had three players with at least 20 points and 10 rebounds was Dec. 3, 1997 when Grant Hill, Bison Dele and Lindsey Hunter all reached those numbers in a 108-103 win over Phoenix.
  • Andre Drummond started the game off on a mission and really showed the league that they make a mistake no selecting him as an All-Star reserve. Drummond finished the game with 22 points on 10-if-11 shooting, with 14 boards and a ridiculous five blocked shots. Did I mention this steal for a Dummified dunk to start the second half?

[Video not found]

  • Don’t forget Greg Monroe who also posted big number going 8-for-10 for 21 points, with 12 boards, three assists and four steals in 28 minutes.  If he ends up going at the trade deadline there will be a ton of unhappy Pistons fans out there.
  • Drummond and Monroe were a combined 18-for-21.
  • Great night for Singler to put up a good game.  Stuckey with just eight minutes on the floor scoring just one point.  Stuckey was complaining of dizziness.
  • I so want to root for Gigi Datome, but the limited minutes he does get never seem to amount to anything.  He was 0-of-4 in seven minutes on the floor.
  • Caldwell-Pope with 12 points on 4-of-11 shooting.  Looks like it’s going to take at least a full season to get his shot consistent.  I do however like what he does on the defensive end.
  • Smith, 4-of-10 for nine points and nine boards. I don’t think I’ve come across one Piston fan that can say they like him.  If you’re that fan please let me know.
  • Brandon Jennings is always looking for his shot.  He was 6-of-17 for 20 points and just four assists.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

[Video not found]

  • Bynum, who is notorious for looking for his own, had six assists in just 22 minutes.  Brandon was on the floor for 37.
  • Kid Rock and Pistons owner Tom Gores in the house.  I’m pretty sure Gores does not own a long sleeve shirt. Despite Gores Always Sunny attire, he claims he understands this team needs time.
  • Nice to see Detroit hold a team to under 100.
  • I’m really getting to like the other Josh more and more.
  • It’s fun to watch when they play like this, isn’t it?
  • Monday in Miami should be different.
6 Responses to "Pistons Take Care On Business Against The 76ers"
  1. Lori says:

    Hi Natalie,
    Haven’t been on here for a while, but since you’re looking for a fan who likes Josh smith, here I am! he’s one heck of an athletic, well rounded basketball player who isn’t being used or coached correctly, in my opinion. He’s a natural power forward who should be told by his coach to drive to the basket and to never take a jumper unless it’s an emergency. He’s more than capable of making assists on a regular basis and should be told to defer to players with more consistent outside shots, no exceptions. You saw the game in which he had 22 points, 13 rebounds, seven assists, five blocks and four steals. He’s great!

    Greg Monroe isn’t being used correctly either, again in my opinion. I think he should be moved back to the 5, where he belongs. He isn’t athletic enough or defensive minded enough to be successful as a power forward. He should be the center for the second unit.

    The blame for the lack of success so far falls squarely on the shoulders of Mo Cheeks, who apparently went to the Yogi Berra school of coaching. Can you understand him? I know it’s English he’s speaking, but… anyway, I wish the Pistons would hire a coach with a proven, winning record. What’s wrong with George Karl or Stan Van Gundy? They might not be your favorite people but at least they know how to win!

  2. Nikhil says:

    Playoff chances looking slim right now. Even if pistons go 500 from this point….

  3. edt says:

    this is the weakest eastern conference in the history of the NBA. In 8th place are the bobcats at 21-28 winning at a rate of 42.8%. If they continue they will make the playoffs with 35 wins and 47 losses. 47 losses! Anyway, like I said this eastern conference is historically weak. Pistons are 19-27 if they go 50% from here on out they will end up 37-45 and obtain the 7th seed. By contrast in the western conference memphis is in 8th place winning at a 56.5% rate, and if they continue this they will end up going 46-36.

    So in the western conference you will make it in at 46-36 and in the eastern conference, 36-46.

    The problem for the pistons is that they win about 1 in 10 against western conference teams I don’t see that changing. If we go 50% against the east and 10% against the west, since we have 11 or so games against the west and so let’s be generous and give ourselves 2 games against the west and a bit over 50% against the east or 13 games, we’ll win 15 out of our next 36 games and end up with a 34-48 end up out of the playoffs and lose our pick to the bobcats.

    Right now that is the most likely thing to happen to this team. I wonder if Tom Gores knows this. Probably not he just knows business the basketball is a mystery to him. Joe Dumars certainly knows this horrible possibility is looming. We lose the pick, don’t make the playoffs, Joe D gets fired . . . well I guess there is a silver lining to every cloud.

    I just try to enjoy the wins and am hoping for some playoffs. If only the Pistons could go 50% from here on out, they would lock in an 8th or 7th seed, I just don’t see it happening because we have too many games against the west still scheduled.

  4. Nikhil says:

    Good analysis Edt. A trade can of course change all that for good or for worse, here is hoping for a better rest of the season.

  5. edt says:

    I would love it if we got into the playoffs. To do it I think we are gonna have to go 75% against the eastern conference, which seems like a lot I know but look at the teams cleveland charlotte brooklyn new york philly sure we can drop the games against Indiana and Miami but if we win the rest we can make it in.

    We really need to limit the jumps shots by Brandon Jennings and Josh Smith to get there. Josh has had a really good month, he has really cut down on his jump shooting, if he continues this and Brandon just quits jacking up so many awful shots …

    Would it be so bad to have the palace full and rocking?

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM