Does The NBA Realize They Made An Andre Drummond Sized Mistake?

Posted · 4 Comments
Andre Drummond All Star MVP Statue

It’s been well stated by just about anyone who follows the Detroit Pistons that Andre Drummond got a raw deal when it came to the NBA All-Star game.  He was clearly better all season than the reserves that were picked in front of him.

Did the team he plays for and their record play a part in the selection process? Probably, but that doesn’t mean it was fair.

Dunkin' DrummondWell Mr. Drummond made sure that he made a statement on All-Star Friday night during the NBA Rising Stars Challenge with a record 25 rebounds, and adding 30 points while leading Team Hill to a 142-136 victory over Team Webber on Friday night and winning the MVP award..

Dre just didn’t care, he went after everything and that was evident from the start. Besides making a statement with the rebounding record, Andre dunked everything in sight.

To just anyone that follows the Pistons it’s what we expected from a young man that we hope this team will be built around in the future, but does that mean the NBA and the average fan took notice on Valentines day?

I think so.


Andre is everyone’s fantasy come true.  I can confirm that he’s put my Fantasy Basketball team in first place with his stats, but more importantly he’s putting my Pistons on the map with is extraordinary play.  And I’m pretty sure he went out of his way to prove his point.

The good thing for Andre is that he did two things.  He avoided the ridiculous 2014 All-Star uniforms, while proving he’s got what it takes to be the next NBA Super Star even if he plays for the Detroit Pistons.

All Hail the MVP!

Andre Drummond mvp

The NBA shouldn’t’ make a mistake like this again….but they will.

 

 

4 Responses to "Does The NBA Realize They Made An Andre Drummond Sized Mistake?"
  1. Max from Russia says:

    How do u like Charles Berkley who said Drummond is a star in a dumb foolish Pistons organisation that has no future?

  2. edt says:

    i was looking at a picture charlie tweeted of him & andre posing together and it looked really odd couldn’t put my finger on it right away then I thought “Where are his tattoos!”

    I think this is the only tattoo he has

    http://media.tumblr.com/6b789ff639d257e095b18231122f9fb6/tumblr_inline_mls3g27xHm1qz4rgp.png

    his mom & sister. Dude is really old school. Not a fan of the ink.

  3. otisdm says:

    Max: Charles Barkley is 100% right. The team has no future at all, and it’s literally impossible for me to get excited about Andre Drummond when all signs point to committing to failure by locking up Greg Monroe to some ludicrous contract that’s going to poison this team’s future even worse than Josh Smith’s did, at least in terms of compounding problems. Josh Smith is a sunk cost. We should be making the best of that mistake by putting him and the rest of the team in a position to succeed. That means trading Monroe. I’d rather get 65 cents on the dollar for him (and I maintain that we can do better than that) than PAY $1.75 on the dollar for him to stick around for four more miserable years. This is not going to end well.

    Natalie: I definitely disagree, mostly because he’s on a bad team. I don’t think Andre even qualifies as a snub, to be honest. I would have been surprised if he made the team. I mean, we’ve been hovering around TEN games under .500 for what feels like eternity. There’s room for one genuinely awful team in the East’s playoff picture, and we still can’t make the cut. As I’ve said to others who complained about this, I just feel like I have bigger fish to fry. Like getting the team on track. Unlike Greg Monroe, Andre Drummond will have many opportunities to make All-Star teams in the future. Frankly, it’s hard not to ignore the negative implications of him doing what he did in the Rising Stars game. I just have visions of Tom Gores being so stupid he thinks as long as Andre is around he’s going to be deluded into thinking he has a guaranteed sure-fire contender on the horizon. “This kid is so good, who cares what players we surround him with? The future is BRIGHT as long as he’s around.” Only it isn’t.

    Sorry if I’m in an extra negative mood. My favorite team is about to kill itself in a day and a half.

  4. SMH says:

    This team has a myriad of issues, the least of which is a perceived snub for an exhibition game selection.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM