The Pistons vs. The 76ers

Posted · 3 Comments
The Pistons vs The Sixers

The 14-22 #Pistons are in Philadelphia to take on the 12-23 Sixers Friday night. The Pistons need to stop the bleeding when they take the court against the Sixers having lost six in a row and eight of their last nine games, and they have a good chance of doing so against a Sixers team that has the worst defense in the league.

The good: Detroit is 1-0 against the Sixers this season. The fact the Sixers are in “tank” mode and they give up a 111.1 points per game. The last time these two teams played Andre Drummond did this:

Andre Drummond Career Highs

Photo Getty Images

The bad: All that is Detroit basketball right now from free throw shooting, shot selection, the rotation and selfishness. Detroit has got to figure something out before their slide puts them out of contention in the beyond lowly Eastern Conference.
The unknown: Can Maurice Cheeks work some kind of magic and get the Pistons back on track in the Philadelphia, the place where it all happened for him? Will he actually make the changes he’s pondering?

“He finally relented when asked if he would consider lineup changes if this slide continues.

cheeks“Yeah, uh-huh. It only makes sense, you can’t keep doing things the same way and expect different results,” Cheeks said. “At some point, yeah. I’m close.”

So, he has time to tinker, whether it’s moving Rodney Stuckey to the starting lineup or Kyle Singler or even moving one of his three big men to the second unit.

He wouldn’t hedge on one move or another but he admits the current way of doing things hasn’t been working.

The Pistons are the worst-shooting team in the league.

They’re a league-worst 30th in three-point shooting and from the free-throw line.

“But it’s still just a thought. It’s not right there,” Cheeks said. “With Stuckey back, so that helps to get back to where we were, coming off the bench and getting some production.” Via The Detroit News

Injuries: None
Sixers (if you know any of them besides Noel): Lavoy Allen – is questionable.
Arnett Moultrie and Nerlens Noel – are out.

Fact: Detroit has won nine of the last 15 games against the 76ers.
Stat: Andre Drummond ranks first in the NBA in offensive rebounding with 5.3 and tied for third in double-doubles with 25.

Tip off is at 7:00 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports Detroit . If you can’t catch the game on TV, catch it on the radio over at 97.1 The Ticket.

3 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The 76ers"
  1. Dan says:

    So just saw the last game.

    With no changes to the system and the starting 5 lineup I can’t see the pistons winning this.

    I still look forward to it, as I absolutely love watching Drummond and keep seeing what KCP can grow into.

    Go.

  2. Julian says:

    Big road win for the Pistons. All Detroit starters in double figures and Bynum/Singler in double figures off the bench.

  3. Julian says:

    JSmoove not only led the Pistons in scoring but had a great all around game.
    His STATS are 22 PT, 13 RB, 7 A, 5 B, 4 ST. Only the 3rd player in NBA history to do so.
    He needs play like this more often for Detroit to get into the playoffs.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM