All Star reserves named – Drummond snubbed, likely due to Pistons losing ways

Posted · 6 Comments
Andre Drummond Pistons vs Sixers

There are times in a guy’s career where he gets snubbed for an All Star team a time or two due to “paying dues”, or like in the case of Andre Drummond this season, because he’s just not on a good team.  The Pistons who are currently playing at a .400 clip, are not playing poorly due to Drummond’s play on the court.  Drummond, 20, is in the top 3 among all Centers in the critical statistical categories aside from blocked shots.  Let’s take a look at the numbers:

Andre Drummond
12.6 points
12.7 rebounds
60% field goal percentage
5.2 win shares

Roy Hibbert (All Star reserve)
11.8 points
7.8 rebounds
46% field goal percentage
4.5 win shares

Joakim Noah (All Star reserve)
11.7 points
11.7 rebounds
46% field goal percentage
5.3 win shares

(Don’t get me started on Chris Bosh, even though he has filled in admirably for the Heat with Wade out for extended periods of time.)

The numbers show that Drummond is deserving to not only make the All Star team, but he would be an acceptable starter if voted in by the fans.  Drummond can partially thank the recent change by the NBA to eliminate the Center position from the balloting, so now fans are not forced to pick a Hibbert or Noah (who would be the popular choices) or like in past seasons Jamaal Magloire.

He also has his team to thank for the snub.  The collective team has not played well enough in a weak Eastern Conference to elevate themselves into the playoff conversation, let alone to be represented in the All Star Weekend events.  Sure, Drummond will play in the “Rising Stars Rookie vs. Sophomores” game.  Had he been snubbed from that game, then we really would’ve had a problem.  (I believe Kyle Singler AND Kentavious Caldwell-Pope were both snubbed)
Andre-Drummond-Pistons-vs-Bucks-12-4-2013
As a group, the coaching staff and players should look to this snub as a personal affront and should serve as a cold, hard truth about how the outside world views them.  The team is broken as a collective group, but even the stars are overlooked in favor for lesser performers.  Greg Monroe is being the ultimate team player by playing out of position and putting up with career low usage.  Andre Drummond is dunking everything in sight, to the tune of what should be an All Star reserve nomination and he has nothing to show for it.  These are our 2 building blocks and they’re in the years of their careers when showing promise for the future means that they may want to stick around for the duration of their careers… and the bunch of guys around them are playing and working as if they have no clue what they’re doing or wasting away.

Maybe Drummond will receive some recognition if Noah by chance chooses not to play (he’s been injured a little lately), but even then the damage is done and the truth is in black and white.  The Pistons are so bad, even their best players aren’t good enough for the bright lights.

Turrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrible….

6 Responses to "All Star reserves named – Drummond snubbed, likely due to Pistons losing ways"
  1. He did.
    The sad truth is that I believed Drummond would get the nod. Silly me!

    Great job Danny

  2. Jake says:

    I didn’t think he would. He deserves it, having a better season than the majority of the eastern reserves.

  3. Damien W. says:

    Proof is in the pudding. Only winners get noticed.

    I do agree on both parts. Blame on the NBA for getting rid of the “Center” Category when it came down to All-Star voting (but that’s because of less and less True Centers being a thing in the NBA). Also, the Piston squad in general for actually being as bad as they are (I believe we should in the 6th seed right now).

    A lot of us going in had a feeling that Drummond was going to get the shaft because of Hibbert and Noah basically the only ones that has some kind of ‘Star Power’ even if they are, on the stat sheet, getting out preformed by our own Sgt. Zero.

    …anybody else think Andre Drummond should act like Richard Sherman of the Seattle Seahawks and start talking about how better he is than the other reserves in the All-Star game? He’ll bring some press to the locker room. It’ll be negative press but, they say bad press is better than no press at all.

  4. Enrique says:

    I’m still waiting for the redemption year Rip Hamilton talk about like 4 years ago.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM