Poor D leads to rout in Big D, for Pistons

Posted · 2 Comments

Turrible… It’s hard to not just mail it in on game re-caps after the Pistons mailed it in last night against the Mavericks, in Dallas.   The good news is that they came out of the halftime break showing some fight, with a 35 point outburst.  The bad news though, and this won’t be reported as a “4th quarter collapse” since they were losing heading into the 4th quarter, but the Mavs proved to be too much for the Pistons in the 4th quarter as they pulled away with a 32 point quarter behind the leadership of Dirk Nowitzki and former Piston Jose Calderon.

The good:

  • Greg Monroe scored 20 and fell short of a double-double by 1 rebound.  Dirk is a tough matchup for most, and you could tell when Monroe matched up with him that he was out of his comfort zone.

The bad:

  • 116 points on 74 field goal attempts by the Mavs.  58% from the field and 23-28 from the line mean that they were aggressive and assertive on offense all night.
  • 28 points in 3 of 4 quarters, and 32 in the 4th quarter for the Mavs.  No one took leadership on the defensive side of the ball.
  • Brandon Jennings had a good night on offense, but had half of the team’s turnovers with 6.
  • Jose Calderon took advantage of the Pistons poor perimeter defense to the tune of 17 points on 7-8 shooting
  • Devin Harris and the shell of Vince Carter’s former self were a +12 off the bench for the Mavs
  • Andre Drummond was in a tough spot all night, but at times it was so bad that he was pulled for Josh Harrellson because of blown assignments and poor matchups.

The ugly:

  • Usually I hate to keep beating a dead horse but… Josh Smith is a chucker.  25 points on 24 shots is awful.  At least he only had 2 3 point attempts.
  • Rodney Stuckey and Kyle Singler were awful off the bench.

The Pistons have now lost 4 straight, and it’s hard to see an end to this streak in sight.  On one night, they look like world beaters when they hand the Indiana Pacers their only home loss of the season and beat down the Miami Heat… but then on the next night they “done get blowed out” by teams like the Charlotte Bobcats, Utah Jazz, and other bottom feeders.

As a fan, you try to see the good that the team has.  Right now we know we have 2 cornerstone type players in Greg Monroe and Andre Drummond.  We have an unknown quantity in Caldwell-Pope, and there is some upside in the future with Tony Mitchell.  That’s it, folks.  We knew who Brandon Jennings was before he came to this team, and he hasn’t changed (no matter how many ‘Bad Boys’ t-shirts he wore as a kid).  We all let out a collective sigh when Josh Smith was signed because he has shown that he can’t (won’t?) adapt his game to a system.  I was a Trey Burke fan at the draft, but I’ll give Kentavious Caldwell-Pope my support because he has shown some flashes.  As Natalie said here, the sun’s not even shining on this dog’s a** nowadays.

2 Responses to "Poor D leads to rout in Big D, for Pistons"
  1. Rube says:

    It kills me watching as a bleed Piston blue fan, from Brooklyn, NY, I can only imagine what my Detroit Fam feels like…Moves I’d like to see: this hurts but Joe must go. He is not pulling the trigger on deals that have to be made; trading Charlie V’s expiring, trade Moose for something of value to put Josh at the 4, if they are not going to give Moose big money, cut ties with Mo Cheeks and do the crazy but can’t be worse move of turning the team over to Sheed and Chauncey as coaches. The team lacks passion and I truly believe Sheed at the helm would light fire under their asses.

  2. Ben says:

    I don’t know how likely this seeing as Cheeks still has 2.5 years left on his contract, but I would like to Lionel Hollins coach the pistons. He made the grizzlies great and without him, they are not nearly as good.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM