The Pistons vs. The Pelicans

Posted · 13 Comments
Pistons-Pelicans-Logo

The 17-25 #Pistons will host the 16-25 New Orleans Pelicans Friday night at the Palace of Auburn Hills. The struggling Pistons will try to make things right on their home court against the Pelican’s team that’s won the last three against Detroit.

The good: It’s getting even more difficult to pick out the positives for this Pistons team. Besides the budding All-Star the team has in Andre Drummond, the only real thing to look forward to is a Pistons deal before the trade deadline. And even that we can have concerns with.
The bad: Detroit continually loses games they should win, they can’t seem to hold on to late game leads, and they are utterly awful on their home court. Detroit has given up 110.8 points per game on 49.1 percent shooting, including 40.2 from beyond the arc while dropping 9 of 11.
To top it off, I personally don’t trust Joe Dumars to make a legitimately sound deal. We may want to see things change, but are truly scared to be in a worse position after a deal is done.
The unknown: Can Detroit win this one against a short handed Pelicans team with Ryan Anderson and Jrue Holiday out? Anderson was a big reason why the Pistons lost the last one to New Orleans.
Injuries: Pistons: None
Pelicans: Ryan Anderson, Jrue Holiday and Jason Smith are out.

Stat: Greg Monroe scored a season-high 28 points at New Orleans (12/11).
Stat: New Orleans won the opener and swept the season series last season and has won three straight as well as five straight games
at New Orleans Arena against Detroit.
Sad Fact: The Pistons are 7-of-14 a
Tip off is at 7:30 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports Detroit . If you can’t catch the game on TV, catch it on the radio over at 97.1 The Ticket.

13 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Pelicans"
  1. MF says:

    At this point citing or mentioning Greg Monroe’s stats or game history or game potential seems pointless. Monroe is not a part of the future at this point. Sitting Greg for Josh Smith against the Buck makes me feel like their’s either a potential move in place or at least a proposed trade. Likely a dumb one. Part of me almost wishes they would just ride the season out, resign Moose and use that amnesty on Josh Smith (never gonna happen though). I’m now convinced that the Championship Core was luck for Dumars. I have no more faith in his ability to build a team.

  2. Otis says:

    I like some of where you’re coming from, but you’re grossly misinformed. We have no amnesty provision. The final real chance we had to use it was last year on Charlie’s contract. At this point Josh is probably here to stay. Glad you finally see the light that Dumars had an incredible run of dumb luck in his first few years (he didn’t even WANT Ben Wallace). But Joe losing his job isn’t enough of a silver lining to make this any less of a catastrophe. If we don’t make a major deadline move or two, this franchise is going to be stuck in hell for a very, very long time. Like it or not, you need to trade Monroe before he hits restricted free agency, and you need to trade Stuckey before he hits unrestricted free agency. If not it’s IMPOSSIBLE to imagine a 2014-2015 season that’s any better than this one. $10 mil in cap space isn’t going to fix this.

  3. MF says:

    @Otis-I was wrong on how the amnesty clause works. I just looked it up. Very, highly, grossly misinformed indeed. I also understand the need to trade Monroe and truly believe Stuckey needs to go. I wished they would have traded him instead of Aaron Afflalo back with the Iverson/Chauncy trade. I think this may be a problem though due to his injuries and Mo Cheeks seems to really like Stuckey, which makes the kind of sense that doesn’t. Plus Dumars has a bad track record of rewarding players who overachieve in contract years with more than appropriate extensions that are not lived up to (Maxiel, Stuckey part 1, Rip). Run on sentences…You know I love ‘em. My point with Monroe was I wish the Pistons weren’t in the position to need to trade him just to attempt to salvage the season. I prefer to Monroe to Josh Smith any day. Should have clarified it better. I know Josh Smith’s contract=cap hell for years to come.

  4. edt says:

    mf U can not amnesty josh. The CBA had an agreement any contract signed before the new CBA (december 2011) could be amnestied so basically Charlie or stuckey could be amnestied. new contracts (after 2011) can not be amnestied.

  5. MF says:

    EDT I realize that now. My last comment states my mistake.

  6. Otis says:

    Hey Natalie, any chance I could submit a guest article? I’m a writer and editor, and I have somewhat of a following over at PistonPowered. I don’t know how much good it could do, but I think the points I made above are crucial and I’d love some sort of forum outside of a comments section to explain to the masses just how important this trade deadline is. If this team isn’t making deals by the deadline I honestly don’t know how much passion I’ll ever have for this team again. If not that’s cool too, but I thought I’d at least ask! :)

  7. edt says:

    didnt mean to pile on MF, I dont think anyone understands the new CBA completely

  8. edt says:

    Missed this game. Had tacos with my friend Bill instead. Not only are tacos awesome, but I feel strangely relieved I didn’t have to watch the team collapse in the 4th quarter again.

  9. MF says:

    I didn’t mean to imply you were. Sorry about that. I really didn’t understand the amnesty part of CBA. I read up on it and it made sense. Someone explained it to me wrong. I think you’re right…most don’t understand how it works

  10. edt says:

    You’ll just bash Greg Monroe if u write a column here Otis

  11. Julian says:

    Huge 20/20 game by Dre. Unfortunately, Cheeks went with a small lineup (Smith,Singler, KCP, BJ, and Stuckey) for the last shot of the game because of Dre`s FT shooting issues. Eric Gordon had the ball with 19 seconds on the clock while the other Pelicans spread the floor. Gordon got past KCP and layed it up over JSmoove. No other Piston helped out. Way too easy. No Dre to attmept to block the most important shot of the game.

  12. Otis says:

    edt, that’s not what I’d do. And you have my word, if we didn’t have a younger, better center on the roster, I would not complain about paying Monroe whatever stupid salary he’s about to get. Unfortunately you can’t build around two centers. Nobody has ever done it, and it’s especially ridiculous in today’s NBA.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM