Knicks Top The Pistons

Posted · 5 Comments
Andre Drummond Pistons vs Knicks

The #Pistons fell short after coming back from a 17 defect late in the third quarter to lose their fifth consecutive game to the Kinicks 85-89.

Key Points:

  • The Pistons big three led the way for the Pistons, the combined for 52 points.
  • Andre Drummond with another double-double putting 12 points, mostly by way of dunks and 17 boards.
  • Brandon Jennings didn’t have a great night going just 2-of-12 for two points and five assists. On one fast break sequence he gave up the ball to Drummond a little to early and Andre got fouled. Consequently he missed both of his free throws. Was that the criticism by some that led to the tweets he deleted?
  • And then you have the Josh Smith potential game winning shot air-ball.

  • What’s so tough about Josh’s shot is that he just had an awesome defensive stand on the other end of the floor when he took a charge against  Carmelo. One sequence, two totally different outcomes.
  • Not happy about Josh’s shot selection and attempt? Neither was he.

smithWhen I asked Smith if he got the shot he wanted, he said, “No, I didn’t. I’m still beating myself up because I could have been a little more aggressive and tried to put the initiative on the referees to make the call. It was a shot that is definitely going to be with me to the next game so I can try to get it out of my head.” Via Pistons.com

  • Cheeks didn’t have that one in mind. He actually had a 20 second time out the he could have used after Smith took the Anthony charge but decided to wait to see if he needed it later.

cheeks“I had a play in mind and they ran the play that I had in mind, would have liked to have seen him drive it. He didn’t drive it. I trust the shot that he took, it didn’t go in, and we live with it.”

  • Detroit was outscored 32-17 in the third quarter to fall 15 points behind after being tied at the half,
  • Who would have thought Charlie Villanueva, who hasn’t played since before Santa came to town, who be a spark off the bench. Charlie V dropped five points in his ten minutes right when the Pistons needed it.
  • Kyle Singler was also a spark for Detroit, putting up his 11 points right when Detroit needed them and playing with hustle that led to Knicks turnovers.
  • The Knicks are a horrible team, the Pistons should have won this one. Does it make it more frustrating? It does for me.
  • Josh Smith led the Pistons with 21 points, 12 boards, three steals and two blocked shots.
  • Chauncey look old.
  • Sheed made the best of his time in New York after playing with them for a season. He dropped by the Knicks locker room after the game and gave hug to Knicks owner James Dolan as the Pistons left the court.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

[Video not found]

  • It’s like groundhog day sometimes. Detroit let the Knicks go on a 15-0 run in the third quarter.
  • Detroit, who are in desperate need of a three-point threat, shot just 3-of-19 from downtown. That’s 15.8%.
  • The Pistons lose a game where they out-rebounded their opponent 54-38 and led in pain points 48-38.
  • Don’t think Wednesday night’s game in Toronto will be easy, the Raptors are first in the Atlantic at 16-17.
5 Responses to "Knicks Top The Pistons"
  1. Julian says:

    Another disappointing loss by Detroit. Good game by JSmith if you ignore the 8 TO and his last second air ball attempt to win the game. Pistons still dead last in the league in 3PT %.
    I wonder who will be the new coach next year?
    Billups.

  2. Anthony says:

    LOTTERYY!!!

  3. Julian says:

    The Pistons do not have a first round pick this year. Which means no lottery for a change unfortunately.

  4. Otis says:

    Yeah, and if you still think they’re “disappointing” then you have a serious problem with your expectations. They have almost the same record as last year, bro. Literally one game better than last year through 35 games. How’s that for progress?

  5. Julian says:

    Maybe I have been drinking the Piston Kool Aid and thought they would be new AND improved this year.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM