It’s More Than Just Cold In Detroit For The Pistons

Posted · Add Comment
Detroit Pistons Glory Days

After each game this Pistons fan would to tell herself, “it’s ok things will get better.” And after each game of telling myself that, I looked into the mirror and realized how unrealistic and idiotic I was being.

I no longer utter those words to myself. Why? Because this team is a train wreck.Fennis Dembo

I’ve watched them through the teal years. I’ve watched the selection of Mateen Cleaves, Rodney White and Darko. I watched Fennis Dembo and William Bedford ride the bench, and even cheered for Pepe Sanchez when he got garbage minutes. And for some reason I have a maroon Stacey Augmon Pistons jersey.

So why after being so positive though all of my years as a fan has it come to this?

Andre Drummond NBA Detroit Pistons WallpaperBecause this year was supposed to be different. This was the year they were supposed to turned the corner after being in limbo for more years than I care to remember.  They have a superstar in Andre Drummond, but the pieces around him don’t fit the puzzle. This team is broken and I blame the one person I always gave a pass to.

In Joe Dumars I don’t trust…anymore.

In Joe Dumars I don't Trust

How do I loathe thee…let me count the ways.

  • Allen Iverson
  • Michael Curry
  • John Kuester
  • Keeping the Championship team together too long
  • Ben Gordon
  • Charlie Villanueva
  • Austin Daye
  • Rip Hamilton’s extended stay
  • A player mutiny
  • Jason Maxiell’s extended stay with a healthy payday

I can go on and on, but I won’t. It’s been said enough times by most of you. So now what?

Bless Joe D, he’ll still always be one of my favorite players of all time, and I thank him for the many years of happiness on court and off with the Pistons.

[Video not found]

He brought us championships as a player and a GM,  but he also had many gifts fall in his lap like Greg Monroe, Andre Drummand and even Ben Wallace. They need a fresh start.

Tom Gores at The Palace

Photo Getty Images

I’m also not putting all the blame on Dumars, he had issues when he couldn’t do much during the sale of the team.  And I’ve seen enough of Tom Gores to know that he could care less about this basketball team.

You can spend hours of time and possibly your sanity on the trade machine, but things like that just never seem to work out.  Pistons fans are in a tough spot. You wish for a trade that may help this team in the future, but you’re afraid of the outcome of the trade.  It’s also terrible to think that this team miss out on anything before the deadline.

And do you trust that freed up cap space can be used wisely?

Charlie Villanueva and Ben Gordon

Photo Getty Images

I also can understand many of you who at this point would rather see this team tank for a pick then have them slide into the playoffs in the awful Eastern Conference only to get dismantled in the first round.

I don’t know why, but at times I feel the need to apologize myself for this mess to someone who cared more than all of us put together. Sorry Bill.

Bill Davidson

Photo Getty Images

So now we just sit back and watch this team that isn’t gelling get hammered by teams at the bottom of the barrel. But guess what…this team is the bottom of the barrel.

They need help, or a miracle.

Comments are closed.

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM