Pistons End The Heat’s Winning Streak with Hustle and Teamwork

Posted · 13 Comments
Brandon Jenning Pistons vs Heat Dec 3 2013

The #Pistons showed themselves and the NBA that they can win on any given night after they beat the defending World Champion Heat on their own floor ending their 10 game winning streak. Detroit was dominant during the 107-97 victory letting the Heat get the lead just once in the game on their first two point as they led by as much as 18 points.  Though the Heat got as close as three late in the fourth the Pistons did something they haven’t done all season…close them out.  And what better team to do it against than the Heat.

Key Points:

  • Brandon Jennings had two very decisive plays that led to this victory.  One, a three-point make from way beyond the arch when the Heat had gotten within three 88-91 to put the Pistons up six.  The other a HUGE, and I mean HUGE steal from LeBron James who didn’t even know he got swiped.  James was still going up for the dunk when Brandon was halfway down the court getting ready to pass it to Monroe for two.

[Video not found]
Via NBA.com

  • Jennings finished with 15 points, four steals, five assists.
  • This win was all about teamwork, with seven Pistons in double figures. By far the most complete game since this team was assembled.
  • Very surprised that not a ton of superstar fouls were called in this one, especially being that it was in Miami.
  • A breakout game for Kyle Singler, who led the Pistons with 18 point. More importantly his three-point shot was dropping. He went 4-of-6 from downtown his last from way back with LeBron guarding him and the shot clock winding down.
  • Great feeling to get this win, but it wasn’t fun watching late in the fourth as the Heat crept back in, especially leading by 18 points.
  • Josh Smith did a heck of a job guarding LeBron James. Pistons fan my complain about his shot selection at time, but he’s been bringing it on the defensive end. Smith finished with 15, a blocked shot (should have been 3), with four assists and four boards.
Josh Smith Pistons vs Heat December 3 2013

Photo Getty Images – Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Huge start to the game by Andre Drummond who grabbed six boards in the first few minutes of the game. Unfortunately Dre got into early foul trouble limiting his minutes to 19 on the night. Despite the limited time he finished with 10 points and 18 boards.
  • Jonas Jerebko, who been getting more time, scored 7 points all of which seemed to come at the perfect time.
  • If you missed it I’m sorry, the highlights just don’t do this game justice.

[Video not found]Via NBA.com

  • Defense was defiantly the deciding factor in this one.
  • When the Heat got within three I said to myself and twitter, “this is where Mo Cheeks shows he can coach….or not.”
  • Stuckey still being the catalyst on this team.  He finished with 16.
  • If Detroit would have lost you could have looked at the turnovers (18), especially the costly ones late in the game.
  • Greg Monroe as solid as ever with 16, five assists, a steal and two blocked shots.

Andre Drummond Cartoon QuoteAndre Drummond: “It is a great feeling. We played all 48 (minutes) tonight. We played hard the whole game. We didn’t let up off the gas. We just took advantage of the lead that we had and just kept pushing forward.”

  • Brandon Jennings post game interview via NBA.com

[Video not found]

  • I wish we could bask in this one a little longer, but Detroit has to keep it going Wednesday night in Milwaukee.
13 Responses to "Pistons End The Heat’s Winning Streak with Hustle and Teamwork"
  1. Julian says:

    Best game of the year for the new look Pistons. Detroit only took 16 shots from downtown but they made 44% of them. KCP did not take any shots from 3 pt land. Looks like coach Mo is going to keep KCP starting and Stuck coming off the bench in the super 6th man role. Even when they come back from injury, Bynum and Billups will not have major roles on this team anymore. Whether you like Cheeks or not, it could be worse.
    Kidd booted Frank from the Nets coaching staff. That did not take long.

  2. edt says:

    kidd is a dick. Can you say Larry Frank the scapegoat?

  3. dp says:

    COME ON D!!!!

  4. Julian says:

    I agree that KCP will be a starter for the rest of the year and Stuck gives the Pistons a real nice spark off the bench.
    KCP should improve over the course of the season and will very good by playoff time.
    Next W against the Bucks!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM