Devastated in Detroit

Posted · 1 Comment
Josh Smith Pistons vs Blazers

The Pistons led the West-leading Portland Trail Blazers on their court for close to 48 minutes Sunday night at the Palace of Auburn Hills.  It was the last-minute in regulation that got the Blazers into extra minutes and it was this


Damian Lillard fadeaway with one-tenth of a second left in overtime that broke the Pistons hearts.

The struggle to close games out continues for Detroit, final score 111-109.

Key Points:

  • Josh Smith all scorers with 31 points on 13-of-17 shooting with seven boards, four assists a steal and a blocked shot. This was clearly the best game for Smith since coming to Detroit.

Coming into the game, Josh Smith was averaging a career-high 4.4 3-point attempts despite making just 26.9 percent of them. He finally got the message to take the ball to the rim, scoring seven of his eight first-half field goals within five feet of the basket. He surpassed his season high by making four hook shots in the third quarter. via NBA.com

  • LeMarcus Aldridge continues to dominate the league and especially against Detroit.  He put up 27 points and 12 board and was the reason the Blazers got won the game.
  • It’s almost torture as a Pistons fan to watch a fourth quarter of any game.  I’m going to put a Gastroenterologist on retainer soon.
  • Brandon Jennings misses a triple-double with 15 points, eight rebounds and 10 assists in the loss. He’s cut down on the turnovers of late, he had just two on the night.
  • Not only does Andre Drummond fill the stat lines, he can fill hearts.  Playing high school and college ball in Connecticut he wrote the names of all the victims of the Sandy Hook shooting a year ago on his shoes and donated them and his jersey after the game.
Andre Drummond Sandy Hook

Photo Getty Images

  • Andre finished the game with 13 points, 14 boards, three steals and three blockes shots in 43:35 on the floor. He also added a few standard jaw dropping dunks and kept himself in the game getting his fifth foul mid fourth quarter.
  • Greg Monroe had another healthy game and did his best against the outstanding Aldridge. Moose scored 17 with 7 boards, a steal and a blocked shot.
  • I wouldn’t be surprised if Kyle Singler gets the starting nod over Caldwell-Pope soon.  Each finished with five points on the night, but Singler has played more meaningful minutes the past few games.
  • Bynum was dressed but did not play.
  • Recap via NBA.com


  • Billups is getting time on the court but it seems to be limited.  Not sure if they are taking it easy on him since the injury or that’s what his role will be.  He will not be playing back-to-back nights, so we wont see him in Indiana. He scored six with four assists in 16 minutes on the floor.  I personally would have had him out there to take that last shot in regulation.

 smithJosh Smith: “If this doesn’t sting, I don’t know what does. When I was in Atlanta and we were young, we were in a lot of ballgames, but late down the stretch we couldn’t figure it out. A year later, we turned the corner. But those losses that we experienced in that time, they stung a little bit and they were also learning experiences. We sat down as a team and watched film. We didn’t want to watch them, but we saw reasons we lost those games and it didn’t do anything but make us better. We’ll sit down as a team and see what we’re doing wrong in late games, because this was definitely a winnable game.” Via Pistons.com

  • Stuckey with 17 on 7-of-18 shooting.
  • Monday night in Indiana against the Pacers is going to be rough.
One Response to "Devastated in Detroit"

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM