The Warriors Pummel The Pistons

Posted · 7 Comments
Kentavious-Caldwell-Pope-Pistons-vs-Warriors

It’s tough for most #Pistons fans when Detroit heads off on their Western trips. It means long nights of games starting at 10 or later and finishing when most would be asleep. I’m happy to say I deiced to save myself of a lethargic Wednesday by turning this one off and going to bed after the Warriors had built a 19-point lead to close the first quarter.

Thinking maybe they made a game of it I turned on the TV when I woke up and fired up the Tivo. I had made the correct decision to go to sleep, that game ended as awful as it started. The Warrior made the Pistons look like an over-matched D-League team in their 113-95 victory on their home court.

So if you did as I did and decided this one was too later for you, you made a great decision.

Key Points:

  • It had to be embarrassing for the Pistons, Golden State just kept knocking down shots. It was so bad the Cheeks tried whatever he could to swing the game the Pistons way.
  • You know it started bad if Cheeks put in Caldwell-Pope and Tony Mitchell to try to get things going.

Maurice Cheeks “I was a little disappointed in our effort. You can’t get down 20, 25 points” – it was 19 after a quarter and ballooned to 29 late in the third quarter – “and be happy with the effort.” Of the use of multiple players and starting the second half with Smith and Billups on the bench, Cheeks denied he was sending messages. “I just wanted to change some things up. It wasn’t about their effort. I just wanted to try to get something a little different.” Via Pistons.com

  • Don’t think that this was just a game of three-point shots for the Warriors. The Pistons gave up a ton of easy baskets in the paint, 54 points to be exact.
  • Note to self and fellow Pistons fans. It’s great to watch games like this when you can hit the fast forward and double speed button. It lessons the pain.
  • Gigi got some time scoring 10 and knocking down a couple of three-pointers.  Detroit is in desperate need of outside shooting, hopefully he can help.
  • In case you’re wondering the Pistons Andre Drummond is the fifth best center in the league and has one of the best shooting percentages. Andre led the Pistons with 16 points and 14 boards in the loss.
Greg Monroe Pistons vs Warriors

Photo/Getty Images Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Greg Monroe continues to play well and clearly been this teams best player since the season started. Monroe scored 15 with 5 boards, and two steals in 30 minutes on the floor.
  • Detroit on a four game losing streak going into Sacramento.
  • It’s great that the Pistons are scoring, but they wont win many games if they can’t hold teams below 100 points.
  • Golden State shot 50% from downtown and 60% on the night.
  • Josh Smith 18 minutes with two points on 1-of-6 shooting.
  • Caldwell-Pope 4-of-11 for nine points.  You can see he’s go a nice game, I’m just not sure if he’s ready yet.
  • The Warriors biggest lead was 29 points.
  • I suggest you don’t watch the low-lights.
  • I’m doing a mind erase on this one and hoping that two days rest with help the Pistons get their third win in Sacramento on Friday.
7 Responses to "The Warriors Pummel The Pistons"
  1. edt says:

    Mo cheeks = Mo clueless. Isn’t he supposed to be some kind of genius point guard coach. What the hell is he doing out there letting us get burned on the perimeter like that. I know I was supposed to wait for a month before throwing him in the fire, but after a loss like this, I’m ready. Pitchforks!

  2. Jake says:

    Thank god I went to sleep at halftime

  3. Julian says:

    Cheeks has no choice but to start Dre, Moose, JSmoove, and Jennings. How long is he going to throwing Billups out there as a starter? Start Stuckey and give KCP some playing time/experience coming off the bench. By the end of the year KCP will be our starter at SG. Chauncey needs to mentor the rookies but he should way down the depth chart at guard. If Cheeks does do something soon, he will not be coaching long in the D.

  4. Tycoon says:

    I bet Mo is in the hot seat right now considering how impatient Gores can be. Next two games should be winnable or he’s nearing an early exit.

  5. The Fan says:

    EDT, I think I feel the same way. lol.

  6. terry says:

    Not panicking, Detroit has had the toughest schedule up to this point in the league. That with a new team and coach, and a pg that missed all of preseason so i already knew the chemistry would be lacking. They threw Billups a bone and started him out of respect and fan support, but that wont last long. They are showcasing Stucky for trade bait, and they will make a trade to free up minutes for the future. I new going in that the beginning of the season would be rocky, I just hope to not have to endure another loss like that one though

  7. Rosheed says:

    Pistons are going to the playoffs guaransheed!!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM