Thunder too Loud in Detroit

Posted · 2 Comments
Greg Monroe-Pistons-vs-Thunder

The Oklahoma City Thunder made it nine in a row against the Pistons thanks to 37 points from Kevin Durant. Big games from Greg Monroe and Josh Smith helped keep up the fight for Detroit, but the Thunder were just too much. Key Points:

  • Drummond, who got into foul trouble was really a non-factor. Dre with just four points and three boards in 23 minutes.
  • Jennings and Monroe with double-doubles.
  • Brandon Jennings was 7-for-17 and 4-of-10 from downtown. He still seems to be learning how to play with his teammates, but he sure did seem to know where and when to get his teammates the ball. He had 11 assists on the night, a stat that hopefully the Pistons can count on.
  • Chauncey struggled again going 1-of-6 for just four points.

Chauncey BillupsChauncey Billups: “I love our fight, us not giving up, our goal is to get on those guys’ level, play that kind of basketball. Those teams have been together quite some time and experience is the best teacher. So you’re going to take some lumps every now and then and lose some games you’re supposed to win against some good teams, because they’re just more experienced.”

  • Rodney Stuckey with another great game with 17 points, three assists and two boards in 23 minutes. I wouldn’t be surprised if he gets the starting nod soon.
  • Detroit got a little from Gigi Datome besides a pretty sweet behind the back dribble and assist , he was 2-of-5 for six points in 12 minutes. When Cheeks put in Caldwell-Pope in the fourth to get the outside shot going for Detroit he didn’t do much either.
Josh-Smith-Pistons-vs.-Thunder

Photo/Getty Images Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Great night for Josh Smith who seems to be fitting in well with his new team. Smith led the Pistons with 25 points, eight boards, two assists, a steal and a blocked shot in 33 minutes.
  • Greg Monroe is making sure the league knows he’s worth a max-contract. Another double-double for Moose with 20 points, 15 boards, two steals, three assists and three blocked shots. Greg is really putting on a show.

Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • It’s promising that this team can hold their own with NBA contenders, but it’s clear that this team needs to learn how to get over that hump and win. That’s what great teams do, and when they get a taste of how to do it while gelling together they will be a force.
  • Detroit is off on a Western trip that should prove a big test.
  • Portland on Monday, Golden State on Tuesday, The Kings on Friday and they will finish off at the Staples Center to take on the Lakers on Sunday.

Pistons Highlights and Post Game Video via Pistons.com

Detroit Pistons DVD Boxed Set Just wanted to pass this on to all Pistons fans. The Pistons Motor City Madness Boxed set for just $17.00. I originally paid about $70.00 for this. Just got a few for the Holiday season, it’s a great gift for any Pistons fan or yourself. Detroit Pistons DVD Boxed Set

2 Responses to "Thunder too Loud in Detroit"
  1. Jake says:

    I know it’s early, they haven’t gelled and what not, but I think Greg’s value is pretty high right now. There’s only one guy they could realistically get that I’d go for. I’d trade Moose to the the spurs for Leonard and change. IF it’s necessary to make a trade.

  2. edt says:

    we have the talent. all about execution now, and that is on Mo getting the players to buy into his system. I am giving him the usual 3 month waiting period before I want to throw him in a fire.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM