The Pistons vs. The Warriors

Posted · 4 Comments
The Pistons vs The Warriors

The 2-4 Pistons are in Golden State for the second game of their four game West Cost trip, to play the 4-3 Golden State Warriors. The Pistons are looking to break a 3 game losing streak, and more importantly, looking to get their first road win of the season. Golden State is in the midst of a short losing streak of their own, having lost their last 2 games.

  • The good:  The Pistons are averaging a league high 52 points per game in the paint. They will need to exploit this advantage against the Warriors big men pairings of David Lee, and Andrew Bogut.
  • The bad: The Pistons have lost 13 of their last 16 road games. The old adage is: protect your home court and go .500 on the road, and you’ll be alright. The Warriors present an obvious matchup dilemma for the Pistons as well – Klay Thompson, Andre Iguoudala, and Stephen Curry love playing an up and down brand of basketball and are all “long”. Long rebounds could be an issue.
  • The unknown: When will Detroit get back to playing defense? The front line has held its own, but the perimeter D has sorely been lacking this season and last night was no exception. 11 3 point field goals by the Trail Blazers. If the perimeter defense sags too far away from Curry, Thompson, Iguoudala, Barnes, Douglas, etc, it will be a long night.

Tip off is at 10:30 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports Detroit. If you’re an out of towner like I am, the game will be broadcast nationally on NBATV. If you can’t catch the game on TV, catch it on the radio over at 97.1 the Ticket.

4 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Warriors"
  1. rascal says:

    i thinks its very difficult to beat warriors at there home court??? but the consolation is we visit los angeles lakers for our last 4 road game before we face knicks back at the palace!!!

  2. Tycoon says:

    About time Mo change the starting lineup. Our backcourt combo is making our opponents shoot well from the outside. Getting sick of Bynum making one great play but committing two turnovers right after. KCP deserves playing time.

  3. adamd says:

    The warriors played some A-grade ball. Monroe IS the pistons and our rock, some worrying foul signs from drummond.
    Good signs of life-which is great for us long-term pistons fans, but seriously Jennings sort your shit.

  4. Julian says:

    GS spanked the Pistons last night. The Warriors had as much as a 29 point lead during the game and sat their starters for most of the 4th quarter.
    Cheeks benched JSmoove and Chauncey. Gigi and KCP played some decent minutes off the bench. Dre had another double double. Unfortunately Jennings is trying to be a shooter not a passer so far this season.
    Coach Cheeks needs to realize that Billups is not the same player he was 5 years ago. KCP is inconsistent but has the highest ceiling of any of Piston player and needs to play. The depth chart at guard should be Jennings/Stuckey/Bynum/KCP. Billups should a leader in the locker room but only play if there is an injury.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM