The Pistons vs. The Hawks

Posted · 5 Comments
The Pistons vs. The Hawks

The 4-7 #Pistons are back at The Palace to play the back end of their home-and-home against 7-5 Atlanta Hawks on Friday night. Both teams came out of the gate slow in their first meeting Wednesday night, and you could see that their schedules had something to do with it. Atlanta had a tough loss in Miami Tuesday and Detroit, who ho just came back from a long West coast road, trip played the Knicks Tuesday night got on a plane to take on the Hawks 24 hours later.

Detroit will try to redeem themselves at home for a game that could have easily been a win. It was clear that the Pistons ran out of gas in the fourth quarter. Some may consider this a scheduling loss, but the Pistons aren’t making any excuses.

  • The good: Surprising to most, Rodney Stuckey has been the most consistent Piston.  Stuckey who’s providing a spark off the bench for the Pistons, is knocking down his shots and keeping Detroit in games. Stuckey is averaging 17.8 points in the Pistons last four games.  Even after the collapse in Atlanta, Basketball Odds at SportsBettingOnline.ag are on the Detroits’ favor.
  • The bad: Former Hawk Josh Smith didn’t set Atlanta on fire in the Pistons Wednesday night loss, in fact Smith matched his second lowest point total for the season with just 11 against his former team. Could it have been his not so warm reception by the organization and its fans? Smith received a slightly warm response during the  introductions, but only real applause he got on the night was after the first timeout of the game when a “Thanks Josh Smith” message was up on the big screen. The applause he got every time he missed a shot doesn’t count right?
    Hometown boy Kentavious Caldwell-Pope also didn’t fare well  going just 1 of 9 for four points.
  • The unknown: Chauncey Billups and Will Bynum are still listed as day-to-day.

Stat: Rodney Stuckey leads the Eastern Conference in bench scoring, ave raging 14.6 off the bench.
Andre Drummond is till leading the NBA in field goal percentage with 65.0%.
Fact: Charlie Villanueva needs four points to reach 6000 career points. Questions is, will he ever get any playing time to do it.

Head out to the Palace of Auburn Hills to see if Josh Smith can make some three’s against his former team. Tickets as low as $10   – Offer Code : gopistons

Tip off is at 7:30 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports . If you can’t catch the game on TV, catch it on the radio over at 97.1 the Ticket.

5 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Hawks"
  1. Julian says:

    Pistons need to have the shooters like Gigi, KCP and Singler step up and start hitting their shots from 3 pt land.
    Looks like Singler gets the start tonight at SF instead of a slumping JSmoove.
    Go Pistons.

  2. edt says:

    stuck and slingler played decent everyone else was horrible, missed assignments, no showing by the bigs, inability to guard their shooters, leaving the lane open, poor passing, horrible shot selection, so-called shooters that can’t shoot, josh smith who shoujld never be allowed to be called a “small forward” again, just pencil him as power forward forever and ever, he’s fine there but on the perimeter he is a disaster.

    Without stuckey and singler playing some great basketball we would have lost by 50. didn’t look at the box score and I think I’m not gonna.

  3. dp says:

    I DO NOT LIKE JOSH SMITH JENNINGS AND CHEEKS

  4. Dan says:

    Dropping both against ATL and the one against Portland isn’t ok. That’s 3 games behind expectation only 12 games in!

    -A mix of experimenting on system and experimenting on roster every game – 11 games in that has to stop.

    -Generally I like the quicker semi-tranistion offence. Also like Jennings getting more assists. But how to mix quick offence and off-ball movement at the 2/3 with impact inside? Mr Cheeks’ job to demonstrate.

    -Glad to not sit here pissed off with Jennings and Smith wasting my time with poor shot selection.

    -I’ve not liked the minutes given to singler – he hasn’t been worth them – but I see how him starting adds movement on the offence and how his defense has picked up. Still want to see a slight reduction on minutes and have JJ/Gigi play some.

    -Are these guys really inspired?

  5. Julian says:

    Another loss. J. Smith missed practice/ slumping so he come off the bench (0 pt) and Singler made the most of his start leading the Pistons in scoring. BJ had 14 assists but did not score much. Good game for Stuck and another double/double for Dre and Moose. Jhorts got some playing time and made the most of it by scoring 7 with 5 RB. He was 1-1 from 3 pt land.
    KCP is still going through some growing pains with his shooting but he had 4 steals. With Bynum and Chauncey hurt they might as well play the rookie and give him some valuable experience. Hopefully he can settle down and hit 33% of his shots from downtown.
    Disappointing start to the season so far.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM