Pistons Still Can’t Win In Atlanta

Posted · 1 Comment
Josh-Smith-Pistons-vs-Hawks-Nov-2013

The #Pistons can’t be happy with their tenth straight loss in Atlanta. More than one thing went wrong for Detroit in the 85-93 loss.

Key Points:

  • Let’s start with the return of Josh Smith to Atlanta. They didn’t set off any fireworks for Smith’s return. From the experience I’ve had with ATL fans and from last night’s reception of Josh, Hawks fans were glad to rid themselves of Smith. They went as far as to cheer him at misses jump shots, which is a sign for Pistons fans. That aside Smith didn’t turn up the heat on the team and fan base that didn’t really want him on their side anymore. Josh was 5-of-15 and 0-for-4 from downtown. He finished with 11 points, six boards, two assists, three steals and two blocked shots in 35 minutes.
  • Maurice Cheeks was tossed late in the fourth quarter for arguing with refs after Stuckey fouled out on two questionable calls. Either way things weren’t going Cheeks way on the court. It’s too early to judge, but Cheeks isn’t doing well with adjustments on the court, especially on the defensive end.
  • The game started terribly for both the Hawks and the Pistons.
  • The Pistons led by four in the third quarter and looked like they might pull out a win, but they went through a dry spell that shut that down quickly. Late in the fourth quarter they were shooting so poorly that it was like watching a train wreck, ugly.
  • Caldwell-Pope, who grew up in George may have let hometown jitters get the best of him. He was 1-of-9 on the night with four points in his starting roll.
  • Someone needs to get Gigi acclimated with NBA defense. Datome scored five points with a board in 10:42 on court.
  • Too many easy buckets in the lane for the Hawks and the Pistons points in the paint where hard to come by. Each team scored 50 points in the paint, but the Hawks looked almost effortless.
  • Atlanta went on a 22-9 run in the fourth quarter that the Pistons couldn’t recover from.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

[Video not found]

  • Smith, Monroe and Drummond combined for just 28 points.
  • Brandon Jennings led the Pistons with 21 points on 9-of-21 shooting with six assists and seven boards.
  • The shining stat of late for Detroit is their steals. The Pistons are tied with Dallas averaging 9.9 per game. The are second behind Dallas for Top points in the paint.
  • Give it up again for Stuckey for keeping the Pistons in the game. Stuckey scored 12 of his 18 points in the second quarter.
  • Andre’s production was down and a lot had to do with him being in foul trouble. He still however managed to put up a double-double with 10 points and 12 boards.
Andre Drummond Pistons-vs-Hawks Nov-2013

Photo Getty Images/Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • It was a disheartening loss from a team that has talent and started this season like they were going to play beyond expectations.
  • Let’s see what kind of changes Cheeks can make to get the win over Atlanta in Detroit on Friday night.
One Response to "Pistons Still Can’t Win In Atlanta"
  1. edt says:

    When stuckey is the best player on your team . . . why exactly did we spend millions on smith & jennings again . . . Why did we fire Frank so we could have a new coach equally as clueless? Joe D you better be marking down days until the trade deadline, u got stuck & charlie expiring contracts some flexibility. If we don’t make the playoffs this year, instead of the coach getting fired . . . it’s gonna be u mr dumars.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM