Pistons Snap Skid in Sacramento

Posted · 11 Comments
Josh Smith Pistons-vs-Kings

The Pistons and their fans are smiling today after the Detroit snapped their four game losing streak with a 97-90 win in Sacramento. What’s even more encouraging is that Detroit won on the road in a hostile Sacramento area that set a new world record Friday night for the loudest indoor crowd noise in an arena.
Key Points:

  • The Pistons were led by Josh Smith, who put up 21 points, with eight boards, seven assists, five steals and four blocked shots. This from a man who only a couple of days ago got limited time on the floor. Smith came out in strong in this one and didn’t let up, setting the tone on both ends of the court. This is the Josh Smith the Pistons signed up for.

Maurice Cheeks: “He got us going, but I thought more important he got us going defensively. The way he closed off the paint, got his hands on a lot of balls, come up with a couple of steals and made a lot of nice passes to guys running down the floor. I thought he was the one that ignited us to get that lead in the early going.” Via Pistons.com

  • Cheeks, who’s still not sure what to do with this rotation, gave Kentavious Caldwell-Pope his first career start in Billups absence.
  • Caldwell-Pope scored seven points with two boards and two assist in 21 minutes on the floor.
  • Singler with 22 minutes on the floor with hustle as always put up 11 points with three boards and assist and a blocked shot. I just with his three-point shot would start dropping on a more consistent basis. But to his defense I can say that about the Pistons in general.
  • Most are wondering by Jonas isn’t getting a ton of minuets, my guess is they need to see what Caldwell-Pope and Datome can do. Jerebko with 7 minutes and two points.
  • Detroit started this game on a mission, and didn’t let up till the final buzzer was blown. Nice to see after the blowout at Golden State.
  • Huge night for Andre Drummond, who had another HUGE night. Drummond, the dunking machine who was ruthless on the glass, tied  his career high with 18 boards. His dominance on the boards helps him clean up Detroit’s mistakes with ridiculous dunks. He put up 15 points and added two steals in his 36 minutes on the floor. I have to believe that Andre is turning heads every time he steps into opponents arenas. How can you not take notice of Dre?
Andre Drummond Pistons-vs-Kings 18 rebounds

Photo Getty Images – Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • The game went back and forth with six lead changes, but a 16-4 run by the Pistons late in the third quarter gave them a ten point lead going into the fourth. The Pistons took that lead and finished the Kings off, never really letting them get close.
  • I wonder if Rodney Stuckey is upset he didn’t get the start, but considering he got more minutes than KCP,  probably not. I’m guessing Cheeks likes the spark Rodney brings off the bench for Detroit.  Stuckey with 16 points, 4 assist and a blocked shot in 30 minutes on the floor.  Rodney has been solid since the season started for him.
  • Greg Monroe didn’t have his usual battle with DeMarcus Cousins, mostly because Smith and Drummond were having big games.  If you’re counting though, DeMarcus led his team with 26 points and 13 points.  Greg with just eight points, four boards in 29 minutes.  This game was not a bright spot in a huge start to the season for Monroe.
  • A fun game to watch and even better that they came out with the win.
  • Highlight via NBA.com


  • LA Lakers at the Staples Center Sunday may start a winning streak.
11 Responses to "Pistons Snap Skid in Sacramento"
  1. Julian says:

    1. Big road win for the Pistons
    2. JSmoove played most of the game and had a big game.
    3. Dre started slow defensively but finished strong with anothe double/double
    4. Jennings had a decent game. When he distributes he is good but then he throws up some questionable shots.
    5. KCP started and brought energy, speed and defense that Billups can not.
    6. Good game for Stuck and Singler off the bench.
    7. The Pistons main weakness is still their 3 pt shooting and their 3 pt defense.

  2. MathiasQ says:

    Good game! Dre are going too be one off the best C in tha NBA pretty soon! 18 Rebounds thats crazy! J Smoove wow what a game.
    Hoping too se more of JJ soon, from the bench! Like how Sheed talked to Dre under the game =)

  3. Brady Smale says:

    Am I correct in saying that the Piston’s lead the league in steals per game at 10.4?

  4. You are correct! They do lead the league in steals right now.

  5. “The Pistons main weakness is still their 3 pt shooting and their 3 pt defense.”

    If they can start making and defending the three better it will = more W’s

  6. edt says:

    I think a lot of this 3 point defense is a deliberate scheme by Mo Cheeks. Not sure why he likes his current system but I think he just wants to get the other team to give up on the paint entire and try to win the game at the 3 point line. Sort of dare them to win the entire game with 3’s. The problem is too many teams can do it!

  7. Dan says:

    Nice to see a win.

    The Dre, Moose and Smith combo make every game fun to watch!

    Like KCP on the defensive end, and man Gigi can shoot. Gigi and KCP deserve more time, as does JJ. Have a feeling we’ll see it over time.

    good to see we aren’t too dependent on Billups.

    I swear I saw a sheed ‘ball don’t lie’ in the background towards the end.

    looking forward to the Lakers game.

    Always special to see the pistons go get a W in the staples centre

  8. Cindy says:

    Love watching this team! You can see the chemistry building….. Go Pistons! Fight to the end!

  9. Rock says:

    No biggie but Jonas I think had 6 p in his 7 min…

  10. Julian says:

    The Pistons should be a much better rebounding and defensive team (points allowed). KCP starting will help and he has the speed to help the fast break also. He shot 37% from 3 pt land in college, so hopefully his outside shot will start falling with more playing time. The Pistons potentially could have 6 players averaging double figures if KCP gets starter minutes and with Stuck as our main 6th man off the bench. Hopefully, our Euro boys, JJ and Gigi, get a chance to show what they can do too.
    BEAT THE LAKERS!

  11. Rosheed says:

    Pistons will beat the Lakers guaransheed

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM