Pistons get a scare from the Celtics but come out with the Win

Posted · 10 Comments
Brandon Jennings Pistons Motor City Uniform Celtics

The Pistons improve to 2-and-1 on the season after a 87-77 victory over the “new look” Boston Celtics.  The Pistons Big-3 Josh Smith, Greg Monroe and Andre Drummond each scored 15 points to help Detroit, donned in their Motor City uniforms, to a sold win.

Key Points:

  • This is one of the deepest Pistons teams we’ve seen in years.  Despite the Celtics making it close down the stretch, Chauncey Billups and Will Bynum finished this one on the bench.
  • Five Pistons in double figures.
  • Andre Drummond is a dunking/rebound machine! He lights up the Palace like nothing we’ve seen in quite some time.  Dre finished with 15 (mostly dunks), 12 boards 2 blocked shots and 2 steals.
Amdre Drummond Dunks Pistons vs Celtics Motor City Uniform

Photo Getty Images – Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Did you get your Drummond jersey yet?
  • This happens alot!

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/pistons/2013/11/03/0021300041-bos-det-play1.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

Video courtesy of NBA.com

  • If I’m a Celtics fan I just can’t root for that hair – Kelly Olynyk.  Olynyk was the Celtics high scorer with 15 off the bench.
  • Speaking of hair, is Gigi ever going to get playing time?
  • Brandon Jennings made an immediate impression on the Palace crowd in his debut.  Jennings with 14 off the bench for Detroit in 30 minutes with 4 assists, and 4 steals.  Jennings makes this team different in a very good way. His first two points as a Pistons were pretty sweet.

  • I wonder how that other Brandon is doing?
  • Double-double for both Andre Drummond and Greg Monroe.
  • Singler and Jerebko have played scrappy and hard in all three games of the season.
  • Monroe with 10 boards and 15 points.
  • Boy is the front-court fun to watch.
  • The Pistons need to learn hot to put a team like the Celtics away.  They had way too many chances to put it in the book, but almost let them steal one down the stretch.
  • The Stuckey and Jennings tandem looks great.
Josh Smith Pistons vs Celtics Motor City Uniforms

Photo Getty Images – Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Josh Smith finished with 15 points on 7-of-15 shooting with 7 boards, 3 assists 2 steals and 2 blocked shots.  I’m getting really fond of him when he’s not chucking up three-pointers.
  • I’m a big fan of the Motor City uniforms.
  • This one was a party in the paint.  54 points in the paint for Detroit and the board war won 44-37.
  • Though they almost let this one slip away, the Pistons regained their composure and scored the last eight points of the game.
  • Turnover an issues, the Pistons with 21 on the night.

Highlights via NBA.com

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/pistons/2013/11/03/0021300041-bos-det-recap.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • Tuesday at the Palace against the Pacers will not be easy.
10 Responses to "Pistons get a scare from the Celtics but come out with the Win"
  1. Jake says:

    We want gigi

  2. dp says:

    A win is a win but it was an ugly game. 21 turnovers and 17- 29 fron FT against really bad team.
    Our bigs can’t play more than 35 mi. for game -it is a recepie for injuries- those minutes have to be given to Jerbko and Datome.
    6 TO for JS.somebody has to tell him to dribell less.
    KCP has to get some minutes ,he is much better team player than stuckey.

  3. Julian says:

    I would love to see what Gigi can do especially since he played so well in the Euro playoffs for Italy but looks like coach Cheeks is going with a 9 man rotation of 4 guards and 5 big men including JSmoove,Dre,Moose, JJ and Singler. Rookies like Gigi will have to wait for their chance to crack the lineup. CV31 is one of the few veterans that is out of luck as a Piston.

  4. Farid says:

    its early, but they are looking great! the best part thus far is the edge/energy they are playing with… also, we are playing solid D! its going to be hard to score on us…the chemistry needs to grow and develop — hence the turnovers… but as a fan i am excited as hell! LOL!!! really hope Pope gets time on the floor and is able to develop further…his D is great and the talent is obviously there… i think many will be very surprised as the season goes on… they have great potential… i only see Chicago, Indiana and Detroit competing with Miami. thats it out West… lastly, there is great opportunity for the Pistons to trade and gain more talent…teams are going have to make moves and we have pieces to provide. teams were obviously hesitant during the summer but come trade deadline reality will set in… i keep telling people here in Chicago… the Pistons will be a problem!!!

  5. Julian says:

    The next tough game for the new and improved Pistons is against the Indiana. Indy is ranked the #1 NBA team in the week one ESPN NBA team ranking. Even though it is still very early in the season, it will be a very interesting game to watch and to see how we compare to other playoff teams. Dre played an amazing 40 minutes last game. Looks like Jorts is strictly insurance and will be cheering his teammates from the bench this year.

  6. rascal says:

    why pistons loss at memphis??? its unexplainable to see marc gasol dominated the second chance points!!!we up by 2 points in the finals second of the game but marc gasol dominated the second chance points and sent the game in to overtime!!!!

  7. ericdtaylor says:

    griz are real good western conference finals, they are no joke, pistons played very well, went to overtime, you can’t feel bad about that loss.

    this team is decent

  8. Bellllissimo says:

    I was so happy about the win and excited. But then I watched NBAtv highlights and literally all of them were of brandon jennings even though he was a big reason we kept nearly losing and it was almost as if he was the hero of the game but yet the pistons won IN SPITE of him not because of. And it just makes me think how much i hate carmelo anthony. Give the man all the highlights and people will believe the hype. I was ok that jennings played but the fact he was portrayed as if he dominated the game pisses me off. Jennings isnt that good of a player imo and hes a role player but dont give him that “stuperstar” status giving him credit where he wasnt the cause of the win

  9. ericdtaylor says:

    brandon jennings is a decent point guard, he dribbles the ball heads up always ready to pass. Stuckey, Knight, both have no ability to see the court. Bynum is a true point guard but tends towards “hero ball”. If you had to look at the top 20 point guards in the NBA, jennings would definitely be in the mix. That is more than can be said of the pistons for the last 5 years. Is he top 10 no, but he is much better than we have had in such a long time. Billups is still awesome, plenty of game, but he can’t play the minutes we need. We are going to win on our bigs, moose, dre and smith, jennings is more than good enough to get the ball to them.

  10. Markov7 says:

    omg i just realised i saw moose dunk 2 times on theese highlits – progress

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM