The Pistons come up short in Portland

Posted · 7 Comments

Brandon Jennings season high 28 points and a 13 point rally from behind couldn’t get the win for the Pistons, who have now lost six in a row in Portland to the Trail Blazers after their 103-109 loss Monday night.

Key Points:

  • Portland torched the Pistons from behind the arc going 11-for-23 for 33 points.
  • Six Portland players in double figures.
  • Villanueva and Singler were the only power forwards to come off the bench for Detroit. Neither did much, each scoring two points.
  • Great game for Andre Drummond, who took the bulk of the minutes in the loss. Dre finished with 16 points, 16 boards, 2 steals and a blocked shot in 42 minutes on the floor. Hard work payed off for the big man, who seems to always be in the thick of things for Detroit.
  • Stuckey shot was off, Rodney was just 4-of-15 on the night for 13 points.
  • The 9-0 Pistons run in the final minutes of the game was promising, but it again shows that this team doesn’t know how to put a game away yet.
Photo/Getty Images Editing

Photo/Getty Images Editing

  • Brandon Jennings led Detroit with 28 on 11-of-24 shooting, with five assists and three steals. I don’t know if I’m alone in this, but to me Brandon looks like he’s not been that exited to be on this Pistons team. I hope I’m wrong.
  • The defense looked terrible. With the big three all able to do their jobs on that end, everyone else needs to step up. Way too many easy buckets and second chances for the Blazers. Defend the three!
  • For a team that knew they needed scoring from three, the Pistons haven’t done anything this season.
  • Cheeks seems to be trying everything rotation wise and nothing seems to be working.

Highlights via

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Greg MonroeGreg Monroe “We gave up 100-something points, that’s not acceptable. We definitely have to clean some stuff up. We have to start finding ways within the game, in earlier spots, to kind of take control”

  • Tuesday night at Golden State isn’t a cakewalk either.
7 Responses to "The Pistons come up short in Portland"
  1. Marcell says:

    You think Portland shot a lot of three’s. Wait until tonight with Golden State. I hope they can win at least one of these games out West. LA Lakers maybe? OK, just a flashback from 2004 season

  2. edt says:

    mo isn’t really churning the roster, datome, kcp, jorts, jerebko didnt get much minutes and he is running the vets very heavy in the rotation, billups is getting less minutes because he looks 100 years old out there. Been watching Jenning’s play, he loves playing in detroit, I think what you are seeing is not indifference but a young guy with a huge chip on his shoulder he’s playing angry and I love it, even when he went with hero ball in the last quarter it nearly worked.

    I think Mo lost this game, he needs to get the lads to play a more coordinated defense, that’s the coaches fault. Moose is looking like it is him not Dre who has the highest ceiling on this pistons team. Unstoppable, He disappeared under the basket and it looked like magic 2 seconds later the ball went in protected by the hoop. Incredible.

  3. Jake says:

    First, anyone else notice Jennings wears like running shoes? Now with my complaints. Cheeks is pissing me off, he plays the wrong players together and at the wrong times, and players we could really use he doesn’t play at all. Better make adjustments on defense tonight or Curry and Thompson are going to kill us. Monroe was clearly the best player on the court last night, RUN THE OFFENSE THROUGH HIM. #FireCheeks

  4. Otis says:

    This team has not had the problem of “not knowing how” to close out games for a great many years. First you need the personnel to be able to win these games, then you can worry about the nuts and bolts of how to go about doing it. When your team is unbalanced and outclassed by your opponent, you could write a Shakespearian dissertation on how to win games and still not get it done. Better to just accept that the team isn’t very good than to delude yourself into thinking there’s something missing here besides the right mix of talent.

  5. Markov7 says:

    i dont think i cant say much cose of my work i ve been able to watch only opener against wizards bot to me it seems like jennings s takin to much shots and his percentage should be a bit better (maybe thats why we re loosing games),a bit better D from other guys, and we definately need per shooter i know gigi can score his D id worryng me from whhat i see but i wouldnt relly just on him so i really believe and have faith if the team gets one more shooter well be just fine besides i dont xpect them to win ne game on this road trip except the lakers so no grudges for me

  6. Dan says:

    It is a new team with new mix of players, new system, new coaches. An injury plagued pre-season as well.
    Too early to judge this.

    Keen to hear Mo on why so many minutes to starters. Perhaps to get them gelled quicker?

    It is a tougher and more talented ball being played. I’m enjoying this more than I ever enjoyed the last several seasons.

    Would personally like to see more gigi, jj , kcp, mitchell and much less singler, cv. But I’m having fun.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment


2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM