Grizzlies Top Pistons In Overtime

Posted · 1 Comment
Andre-Drummond-Pistons-vs-Memphis

The Pistons looked like a fresh new team Friday night on the road against Memphis.  They put themselves in a place to win their second game of the season on the road against a Grizzlie team that haven’t beaten in quite some time.

Something happened that we aren’t used to seeing, Chauncey Billups on the line with 52 seconds left in the game and he missed one.  That would have put the Pistons up five and probably put the game away. He also had a chance to win it in regulation, but his three just missed.  Instead Memphis dominated in overtime topping the Pistons 111-108.

Key Points:

  • I’m the first one to sit here and tell you I feel like Rodney Stuckey is a huge disappointment, but he came out in his first game of the season like gangbusters.  In fact if it weren’t for his strong play coming off the bench the Pistons may not have even been in the position to win this game. Rodney scored 19 points in 23 minutes on 8-for-13 shooting and was a +14 in the box. I hope Rodney proves me wrong this season.
  • Loved the stare down by Drummond on Miller after this dunk

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video courtesy of NBA.com

  • Detroit was close to putting it away and even closer when Josh Smith hit a triple to pout them up by six with a little over a minute left in the game. For every 47 ill advised triples Smith takes, he makes one big one. He was 3-for-11 from downtown. Smith took more threes than the entire Pistons team combined.
  • This was a balanced game with all starters in double figures except Billups as well as Caldwell-Pope, Singler and Stuckey off the bench.
Caldwell-Pope-Pistons-vs-Grizzlies

Photo Getty Images – Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Great game from Caldwell-Pope, who finished with 13 points in 18 minutes most of which were in crunch time. His breakaway dunk in the fourth quarter rivaled one of Andre Drummond.
  • Im ok with CV31 being inactive.
  • Clearly Detroit needs to tighten up on the defensive end. They allowed a ton of easy baskets.
  • Greg Monroe was great again scoring 16 with eight boards and three steals. His scrappy play in all of his 41 minutes on the floor shows you that he does whatever it takes to win a game.
  • Smith finished with 19 points, five assists, eight boards and three blocked shots. He and Andre are going to make this team hard to dunk on.

Chauncey Billups: “I loved it,” he said. “We fought hard. We fought really hard. That’s a tough team over there. Western Conference finals last year, got some great players over there. So I was impressed. I learned a lot about our team today.”

  • When the Pistons got themselves up in the fourth quarter it was Monroe, Drummond and Caldwell-Pope who were turning heads and making plays.
  • Old friend Tayshaun Prince helped Memphis put this game away with 2 big shots.
  • Andre Drummond looks better every single game. He stayed out of foul trouble and put up 12 points with 16 boards. Yes…16! Add the two blocked shots and some swagger and you have a bright star in this league.
  • Celtics Sunday at The Palace Of Auburn Hills.
One Response to "Grizzlies Top Pistons In Overtime"
  1. Julian says:

    Tough loss against a good playoff team. We saw something last night that will hopefully happen a lot in the future, which was a double double by Dre and a 3 point shot made by KCP. Chauncey did not have a good game but Stuckey playing his first game after his injury had a very good game. We need Jennings back ASAP.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM