Opening Night – The Pistons vs. The Wizards

Posted · 6 Comments
The Pistons vs The Wizards

The #Pistons will open up the season Wednesday night at The Palace of Auburn Hills against the Washington Wizards. Detroit, with new head coach Maurice Cheeks will start this 2013-14 season with high hopes as they try to make the playoffs for the first time in five seasons.

  • The good: New blood, old blood, and new beginnings.
  • The bad: Brandon Jennings and Rodney Stuckey are out tonight.
  • The unknown: Will Chauncey Billups applause shake the rafters of Palace?  Who will be the last starter announced by Mason in pre-game introductions?
  • The known: Sheed is back!  Rasheed Wallace will return to the Pistons’ bench this year as a member of Maurice Cheeks’ staff.

The Starting Lineup:

  • PG: Will Bynum (7th year; Georgia Tech)
  • SG: Chauncey Billups (17th year; Colorado)
  • SF: Josh Smith (10th year; Oak Hill Academy)
  • PF: Greg Monroe (4th year; Georgetown)
  • C: Andre Drummond (2nd year; Connecticut)

Best of the rest:

SG/SF: #25 – Kyle Singler (2nd year; Duke)
SG: #5 – Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (Rookie; Georgia)
PG: #34 – Peyton Siva (Rookie; Louisville)
PF: #9 -Tony Mitchell (Rookie; North Texas)
SF/PF: #33 – Jonas Jerebko (4th year:;Sweden)
C: #55 – Josh Harrellson (3rd year; Kentucky)
SG: #13 – Luigi Datome (Rookie; Italy)
PF: #31 – Charlie Villanueva (9th year; Connecticut)
OUT – PG/SG: #3 – Rodney Stuckey (7th year; Eastern Washington)
OUT – PG: #7 – Brandon Jennings (5th year; Italy)

You can still get in the door to watch opening night festivities. Tickets as low as $12 with no ticket fees! Offer code: gopistons

Tip off is at 7:30 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports . If you can’t catch the game on TV, catch it on the radio over at 97.1 the Ticket.

Let’s Get It Started

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video courtesy of Pistons.com
Here’s to a great season!

6 Responses to "Opening Night – The Pistons vs. The Wizards"
  1. gordbrown says:

    Good start, even without Jennings and Stuckey. Leading the league for the first time in I can`t remember how long. Go Pistons!!!!

  2. Drew says:

    Get rid of Jennings. Trade him for something good. Chauncey still looks sharp and Will will always give you 100 percent. Singler is solid, and Kentavious and Stuckey are still in the mix. Five good guards right there. What need is there for Jennings, a sub-40% shooter and a marginal passer?

  3. Jake says:

    So get rid of our most talented guard? When he hasn’t even played 1 game? Lol yah, OK dave.

  4. The Fan says:

    Watching Billups last night was a gratifying nostalgic moment. And boy did he deliver. He basically cemented himself as this teams on court leader. The guys is pure class and completely dedicated. Its a reminder how horrible that AI trade was and how horrible we have been at PG since he left. What a refreshing game.

  5. edt says:

    when is the last time we got a 10 point lead and were able to sit on it and win easily.

    Thank you mr big shot. Mo cheeks please limit his minutes we are gonna need billups in the playoffs to finish the games.

    This team is pretty darn good. Josh Smith proved me wrong in every way in this game, unselfish basketball, high iq, incredible passing, great shot selection.

    And did you see Charlie V? He looked about to cry. He knows he isn’t getting any more minutes and Mo Cheeks isn’t letting him tweet from the sidelines. Poor guy, lol. Come on Mo, let Charlie tweet, he’s not getting any minutes.

  6. Julian says:

    Charlie who? CV31 is out of shape and at the end of the Pistons depth chart big time.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM