Detroit Drafts Tony Mitchell and Peyton Siva in the Second Round

Posted · 3 Comments
Tony Mitchell

You may not have been stoke about Dumars passing on Trey Burke, but don’t count out Kentavious, an athletic wing that can knock down shots, something Detroit sorely need.

Complimenting his first round pick Dumars went with Tony Mitchell of North Texas State with the 37th pick. At 6-foot-8¾ and 236 pounds with a 38-inch vertical leap Mitchell was viewed as a lottery pick when the college season started, but he had a sophomore season that set him back.

“From a talent standpoint, this is somebody who could very well be the best athlete in the entire draft,” Pistons assistant general manager George David said. Via Pistons.com

Louisville vs South Florida by by Tim GirtonThe Pistons finished the night by drafting Peyton Siva a point guard of Louisville’s NCAA championship team, with the 56th pick. Siva, a three-year starter, averaged 10 points, 5.7 assists and 2.2 steals a game for the Cardinals in 2012-13.

This pick may say two things, Detroit is hell bent on making Brandon Knight their point guard and their probably not going to re-sign Jose Calderon.

You’ll get to see both of them soon during the Pistons Summer league play in Orlando that starts on July 7th. Siva will play point guard, Caldwell-Pope likely will be the shooting guard, though the Pistons expect second-year player Kim English to be in Orlando, as well. Khris Middleton will be the small forward with Mitchell at power forward and Andre Drummond at center.

Say what you will about the Joe’s picks this year, but he had ‘stones passing up Burke, and finishing the draft the way he did.  He knows his job is on the line so maybe he’s got more up his sleeve.

3 Responses to "Detroit Drafts Tony Mitchell and Peyton Siva in the Second Round"
  1. jon92 says:

    It’s not that he had stones for passing on Burke, its just that he doesn’t know what the heck he is doing. Why would you pass on Burke?

  2. terry says:

    I’m definately a michigan fan, therefore a Burke fan by defualt. He has all the things you really want in a pg minus size and defense, but Joe was smart to pass him up. Pope gives us a lightning quick marksman with hussle and perimeter defense to boot. Stat wise he’s a better scorer than Mclemore and Olidipo, and was 2nd in defense only to Olidipo (who went 2nd!) at his position. It’s just a solid pick, and there are a good number of really good veteran point guards in free agency and on the trading block right now, so there was no need to gamble on Burke. Not so many sure fire shooting guards out there in comparison (Reddick? Mayo?).

  3. Nj says:

    George David is obviously not too bright either.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM