The Pistons vs. The Trail Blazers

Posted · 8 Comments
The Pistons vs. The Trail Blazers

The 23-44 #Pistons are in Portland to take on the 30-34 Trail Blazers Saturday night.

  • The good: Nothing much good for Detroit these days, but you’ll get to take a look at the most likely candidate for Rookie of the Year Damian Lillard, who put up 26 with 10 assists a few days ago against the Knicks.
  • The bad:
    The Pistons seven game losing streak. A loss in Portland will tie a seasons worst eight game losing streak.
    Detroit has won just eight games away from the Palace.
  • The unknown: With Knight and Drummond out, Monroe can’t be the only one who puts up numbers for Detroit.  Who will it be if anyone against Portland? My money is on Calderon, who has seemed to regress ever since he got to Detroit.

Tip off is at 10:00 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports. If you can’t catch the game on TV, catch it on the radio over at 97.1 the Ticket.

If you’re thinking of going to one of the few remaining games at The Palace, you can get tickets directly from the Pistons with NO FEES.

8 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Trail Blazers"
  1. edt says:

    Calderon has been playing inspired basketball during his tenure at detroit, for instance in his 19 games here he has 7.3 assists per game with 1.7 turnovers, assist to turnover ratio of 4.29 nearly a FULL point above A.J. Price, Kirk Hinrich, Jason Kidd and Tony park, and behind only (obv) Chris Paul with a ridiculous 4.5 assist to turnover ratio.

    Calderon has been playing great, it’s not his fault that first Drummond, and then Knight got hurt. Calderon’s defensive is not impressive that’s the only criticism.

    • Agree edt,
      Jose seems like one of the only ones that cares out there. It isn’t his fault, it’s what the Pistons are giving him. Despite the team, I hope he stays if he’s in the long term plan, but at this point it doesn’t really look that way.

      Not sure what the plan is lately.

      • edt says:

        we can keep calderon Joe should be able to sign him to a 2 year at a competitive price, brandon knight has improved a lot defensively this year and that means he probably has a future at the 2, we can draft trey burke for our point guard of the future What’s that? draft a real point guard to play point guard, what a novel concept. We’re ready for a playoff run next year, let maxiell go, have jerebko charlie fill up the bench PF minutes. Slava won’t be ready for NBA minutes for another year, that boy is so raw, he even shoots free throws at 25% would do it better granny style. And of course trade stuckey for value that’s a priority he doesn’t fit into our plans.

        It is awful hard watching this team with drummond and knight both hurt, I guess you can root for lottery balls but I’ve never been that way, I want to finish the end of this season strong.

        Yeah we have a strong core, Drummond, Moose, Knight. I was really down on Knight’s potential because he was a disaster at point guard, a turnover machine, but at shooting guard, you see all his good qualities, and best of way his turnovers are way down.

        Give it a year more seasoning, calderon, knight, singler, moose + pengiun we’ll be strong next year but I want to see that lineup before the season ends!

        Can’t promise I’ll watch more than 10 minutes of this game, been that kind of season.

  2. Shawn says:

    Really hate to keep hoping we lose games the last few March’s, but fact of the matter is we need a heck of a lot more talent than we have on the roster right now and the best way I see that happening is for us to get a high draft pick.

    ben mclemore, shabazz Muhammad, or Marcus Smart would do wondersssss for our team.

  3. Dan says:

    I’ll watch all of the game, and I’ll be missing Dre out there throughout.

    More talent is a must.

    I’d do it in the order of 1-identity(desired one) 2-habits 3-talent.

    But talent is hard currency and tradeable if not the right type. Just not a fan of tanking.

    Is there an identity and system that shapes the pistons? Joe d speaks of personality traits of players, frank of earning minutes. But what is the type of ball being played?

    A win would cheer things up. Go pistons

  4. Adamd says:

    Singler is getting schooled-he is a sixth man at best. Can’t wait to see who we draft and trade.

  5. edt says:

    good game for stuckey, we need more of this if we want to get value for you, stuck, keep it up

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM