Spurs Dismantle Detroit

Posted · 8 Comments
Greg-Monroe-Pistons-vs-Spurs

The #Pistons got utterly embarrassed by the Spurs Sunday night in San Antonio 114-75. It’s games like this that tend to show you just how much work Detroit needs to do to be relevant.

Key Points:

  • Greg Monroe led the Pistons with 18 points and eight boards but a -33 in the box. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a number that big, ouch.
  • Charlie Villanueva with the double-double not Greg. Villanueva with 10 points on 4-of-11 shooting with 10 boards in 25 minutes.
  • Manu Ginobili didn’t miss a shot till mid third quarter. He led the Spurs with 17 points in 22 minutes on the floor.
  • Nothing really went right for Detroit after having the game tied at 12 with five minutes left in the first quarter. After that it was all San Antonio.
  • The Spurs with 35 assists on the night.
  • Low-lights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • The Spurs led by 20 at the half and started off right where they left off starting the third forcing Frank to call a quick timeout. It didn’t much matter as San Antonio just kept adding to their lead.
  • The Spurs biggest lead 37!
  • Quite honestly, the Spurs made Detroit look like a JV high school team. You just wanted it to be over.
  • Love it that Popovich took a time out in the fourth when Detroit got a few buckets. The score was Spurs 96 Pistons 68, can’t let them get too close Pop.
  • Take notes L Frank.

Pop-and-L-Frank
Photo Getty Images

Lawrence FrankLawrence Frank: “We don’t have the margin for error when you’re playing the best team (in the league). We’re definitely capable of doing better, and we’ve shown it. We’ve got to be locked-in on one thing, and that’s got to be about the team. It’s got to be the team first. That’s why San Antonio is such a great model. They play agenda-free. The effort is there on both ends. That’s why when you get your butt kicked like this, everyone across the board has got to be better because it’s embarrassing.” Via Pistons.com

  • Brandon Knight shot just 3-for-14 on the night for eight points, two steal and a team leading six assist.
  • Jose put up 14 points on the night, but was an ugly -30 in the box.
  • Jerebko, who is making the most of his minutes, scored 10 with five boards.
  • Demoralizing is a great way to describe this one.
  • Detroit fans will be watching the tournament this year to find their favorites for the draft this year if they already don’t have one. Need a Bracket? March Madness betting offers at MarchMadnessAction.com
  • Next up the Sheedless Knicks on Wednesday night at the Palace.
8 Responses to "Spurs Dismantle Detroit"
  1. edt says:

    this game was over for me at half time.

  2. terry says:

    Detroit may actually finish the season worse than it started. time to pick a favorite lottery caliber player. so far I like that shooting guard out of Indiana. Joe should amnesty Stucky unless he can pull off some unlikely trade in the summer, and find a true 2 guard to start in front of the under achieving Brandon Knight…

  3. terry says:

    Detroit may actually finish the season worse than it started. time to pick a favorite lottery caliber player. so far I like that shooting guard out of Indiana. Joe should amnesty Stucky unless he can pull off some unlikely trade in the summer, and find a true 2 guard to start in front of the under achieving Brandon Knight…

  4. Shawn says:

    If we could somehow get the #1 pick, Ben McLemore would be a perfect fit for us

  5. Tycoon says:

    No easy opponent in sight until March 23.

  6. Dan says:

    Demoralizing, so need to rant..

    Reading in international press about the state of detroit as a city – didn’t know things were that rough! Detroit needs the Pistons to man up, to be worthy of the uniform.

    It is a real shame Dre is out for now. Keep him out until he is safe. I have a bad back, and it sticks with you for life if you’re not careful. hope he gets all the help he can.(I recommend detox, sauna, pilates, acupuncture, chiropractor – all on an ongoing basis)

    I like the Slava, English and Middleton sightings, as well as the three guard lineups and the JJ minutes. But somehow it isn’t enough even for a long time fan with real emotional investment.

    Gores needs to see that the product isn’t good enough. A lack of energy, effort, spark, entertainment, power, hard work on court as well as empty bleachers is killing the product. What is the proposition here? what is detroit basketball about? My detroit basketball isn’t about best practice defensively minded yet a bit of everything -It’s too boring now. his investment is imploding.

    Can we make it interesting now please. At this point I just need a reason to see the games.

    The current plan as it seems makes it interesting sometime in December, after off season activities and a bit of team settling in come next season. Too late for me Gores.

    Come on Gores.. make it count now man. Detroit needs it.

    in terms of fine-tuning – How about signing a back up big to a short term contract (Big Ben?) to back up Slava? We need Monroe to be a 4 now. I’d say Monroe is the key asset on the floor and Frank needs to get him productive at the 4 for next season NOW, so need to see him playing with Slava or another 5 when he is on the court, hence can’t have the two sharing at the 5.

    also – this is a pistons team, not a lakers team – every man gets 6 fouls – use them!(read:play harder -take it hard to the rim, bump hard inside, stop the man driving etc. don’t be afraid of the whistle) No one is intimidated as is. I don’t get it – aside from Monroe and Jose I don’t see any players who Frank should be dreading getting into foul trouble.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM