Win Against The Wizards

Posted · 13 Comments
Jose Calderon Pistons-vs-Wizards

The #Pistons are going in to the All Star break on a good note. After losing a miserable game on Monday night against the Hornets, Detroit took on a hot Wizards team and got the job done with a 96-85 win at the Palace.
Key Points:

  • Greg Monroe with his eight consecutive double-double for Detroit. The last Piston to do that was Grant Hill. Monroe who’s doing whatever he can to make up for the absence of Andre Drummond finished with 16 points and 18 boards!


  • Isn’t it nice to have a great PG? And isn’t it nice to have two PG’s playing well? Jose Calderon and Will Bynum combined for 44 points.

singlerKyle Singler “Jose is a solid player for us. He’s been a great addition. Just things outside the court; his enthusiasm is great for the team. But his ability to come in and make threes, spread the court, and give us another ball-handler on the court is very valuable to our team, and it’s nice to have him out there toward the end of the game.” Via

  • Jose in fact was hitting so many three’s (6-of-9) that almost everyone in the crowd at the Palace got a free t-shirt. He led the Pistons with 24 points, three assists, a steal and a blocked shot. Be thankful for Jose, who was the only one in the early going that could score for Detroit.
  • Highlights via

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Bynumite!

Will Bynum Pistons-vs-Wizards
Photo/Getty Images Editing

  • Will finished the game with 20 points in just 21 minutes, 12 of which came in the critical fourth quarter when the Pistons were battling for the win. Bynum played a great game and led the Pistons in assists with eight on the night.
  • Rodney Stuckey once again took his All Star break early (check the stats). Rodney with 2 points on 0-for-7 shooting. I’m so over him like four seasons ago.
  • Give it up for Slava Kravtsov who was great help on the defensive end for Detroit, especially in the fourth when the Pistons went on a run and pulled away.
  • Nice Oop for Slava

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • By just looking at the score you’d never get the story of this game. Detroit took over the fourth quarter by dropping 31 on the Wizards and locking them down defensively.
  • Another very solid game for Kyle Singler who is doing a lot of the Pistons scrappy work.  Singler finished with 12 points, seven boards and a steal in 37 minutes.
  • I was hoping to see Brandon Knight turn the quarter with the acquisition of Jose, but I think we may have to wait a while for that. Brandon with six points on 3-of-8 shooting in 28 minutes.
  • Brandon Knight will be the only Piston represented in the All Star Game festivities.  You can catch Knight in the Skill Challenge.
  • On break until Tuesday when the Pistons welcome back Tayshaun Prince when they host the Memphis Grizzlies at The Palace.
13 Responses to "Win Against The Wizards"
  1. Nikhil says:

    Good win, and Jose is making the team better with every game.
    Unfortunately, I think we will miss the playoffs this year. 6 games behind with 26 to go. I hope I am wrong .

    • edt says:

      so we need a record of about 45 wins and 47 losses

      i think we win charlottex3, indiana 1x (split), washington, new orleans, golden state, brooklynx2, toronto, cleveland, philly, finishing with a win on our last 4 games, and maybe steal a game or two during the last dozen games against a contender, finishing 13 wins 13 losses for a record of 34-46 which by the way will be our best record since we traded away Billups good for 9th place.

      9th place sucks. We really need this team to go on a roll, and Joe D has to do something to bring more firepower to our team before the trading deadline.

  2. Tycoon says:

    Nice assumption edt. We need to win 15 or more the next 26 games to get there. Its going to be tough but I want to see us get to at least 9th place and flirt for that last spot to bring some sort of momentum next season.

  3. Nikhil says:

    I think for any chance to get in playoffs, Pistons need to go 20-6 and hope bucks go 500 after all star break. Doesn’t look possible, but you never know.

    Lesson for Frank, we can’t have a 0-8 start next season.

    • edt says:

      you do NOT need a winning record in the eastern conference to make the playoffs. 20-6 is 41-39, I think you mean 21-7 or finishing 42-40. Remember in 2 009, Detroit make the playoffs with a 39-43 record.

      38 or 39 wins should be plenty to make the 8th seed.

      Of course in the western conference you’ll need 42 wins and we would have to go 21-7, but since we aren’t we only have to go 18-10 <—- that's not gonna happen unless we get really lucky because we are just not that good of a team.

      It's definitely still possible but we need the other teams to have strategic injuries, the flu that kind of stuff.

  4. The Fan says:

    I’m thinking we should re-sign Calderon in the post season and it would be sweet to make the playoffs.

    I agree with you Nat, its nice to have a true PG and I hope we can get rid of Stuckey. So glad I didn’t name my dog that.

  5. Nikhil says:

    I agree that we dont need a winning record to make the playoffs, but we still need to have a better record than bucks ho are 6.5 games ahead if us. To overtake bucks in remaining 26 games I am saying we need to go 20-6 and hope bucks go 13-13 .

  6. Nikhil says:

    I agree that we dont need a winning record to make the playoffs, but we still need to have a better record than bucks ho are 6.5 games ahead if us. To overtake bucks in remaining 26 games I am saying we need to go 20-6 and hope bucks go 13-13 Or worse.

  7. Bellllissimo says:

    Sorry. I broke the replay button on the slava dunk

  8. Julian says:

    One good thing about Dre not playing is that Slava K. is getting a chance to get his feet wet to see what he can do as a back up center since next year Drummond will likely be starting at C and Moose will move over to PF. We need to see more Slava slams next year when he gets more playing time as our back up C.
    Good to see the Pistons playing better although a playoff spot may be a long shot unless they can pull off a long winning streak.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment


2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM