The Pistons Have No Answer For The Hawks

Posted · 7 Comments
Rodney Stuckey Pistons-vs-Hawks

The #Pistons lost their third game in a row to the Hawks 114-109. Detroit, who were without Brandon Knight and Will Bynum didn’t have enough to take down the Hawks who were light’s out from downtown outscoring the Pistons from three-point range 42-9 and getting a career night out of Al Horford who put up 23 points and 22 boards.

Key Points:

  • The Pistons are now six and a half games back of The Bucks for the final playoff spot in the East.
  • Being down three key players in this one, the rest of the Pistons squad didn’t do enough to keep themselves in this game.
  • Rodney Stuckey, who needed to step up did. He led the Pistons with 22 points on 10-of-17 shooting with two assists, and five boards in 35 minutes on the floor.
  • I would love to have Al Horford in Detroit, he’s got to be one of the best kept secrets in the NBA. He quietly puts up numbers game in and game out. Horford became only the sixth player in the past decade to put up 20 points and 20 boards in a game.
  • Their fifth game in seven nights is no excuse, especially with the pathetic efforts against Indiana.
  • Jose with nine assists on the night for the Pistons, but just 3-of-11 from the floor with seven points and four turnovers.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • The rookies Khris Middleton and Kim English have been getting meaningful minutes of late and taking advantage of them. They’re not setting things a blaze, but they look good in spurts. English finished with a career high 10 points, while Middleton scored four.
  • Jonas Jerebko wants his job back as do so many Pistons fans do. Best night of the season for the little used Jerebko, who scored 21 on 9-of-12 shooting with six boards, three assists and a steal. I doubt this will change Frank’s mind, but he’s been doing some serious rotation juggling to try to figure out what works so who knows.

Jonas Jerebko Pistons-vs-Hawks
Photo Getty Images Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Mr. Frank please teach this team how to guard the three-point line. Sincerely Pistons Fans
  • Monroe looked like he was going to have a huge night after finishing the first quarter with seven points, four boards a handful of assists and steals and a blocked shot. Greg didn’t have the game that Horford did, but no one can complain about 15 points, eight boards, five assists, two steals and a blocked shot.
  • A steal and finish with a dunk.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

jerebkoJonas Jerebko: “I feel like we’re a better defensive than we’ve been showing and we’ve got play harder,” Jerebko said. “We’ve got to come out and play harder in the first quarter and we’ve got to finish the game strong.” Via Pistons.com

  • Lets hope they can take down the Wizards in Washington on Wednesday.
7 Responses to "The Pistons Have No Answer For The Hawks"
  1. Jessi says:

    So how did Thai trade help Detroit?

  2. Jessi says:

    So how did this trade help Detroit? I k ow down thing had to be done but I am not seeing where it has helped? I know Detroit is a team the needs work but how many more years is it going to take?

    • edt says:

      the team runs now, prince was molasses unable to help the team on the fast break, if you remember the 2004 championship team it never did anything in transition always a slow paced full court game with ‘sheed in the post and rip coming off screens.

      This team is young agile, and less skilled and needs to run the court, with our lineup we can do that, calderon is part of this, able to move the ball up the court properly.

      But without knight and bynum and drummond . . . this plan is on hold. We need our players back.

      English and middleton just not that good, sorry.

      The pacers right now are playing at the highest level, they can beat the knicks by 30 points, we are just not good enough without drummond having starter minutes.

      So to explain — pacers are a championship quality team, and the hawks got us when we were short 3 players.

      The only problem I have is that Frank clearly despises Jerebko, Larry feels that Jonas belongs in the D league. Maybe Jerebko mouths off at Frank, I dunno. Come on Larry. Jerebko is a good player, give him the minutes!

    • Bellllissimo says:

      the calderon trade was about cap space in the offseason. and we needed someone to run the point because shoot first point guards weren’t working

  3. Mathias says:

    off course JJ is good, if you can score 21 on 9-of-12 shooting with six boards, three assists and a steal, in the NBA vs a pretty good team that´s good!
    He need minuets from Frank, but i don’t know whats grinding Franks gear!!
    Com on Frank whats the problem??

  4. Drew says:

    Greg looked like he got some elevation on that dunk! That’s not something I say very often.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM