The Pistons Top The Magic

Posted · 2 Comments
Andre Drummond-Pistons-vs-Magic

The #Pistons took down the Orlando Magic Tuesday night in commanding fashion 90-105. It looked like this would be a battle to the end, with the game close up until the half, but Detroit’s defense held the Magic to just 14 third quarter points allowing the Pistons to build a sizable lead and never look back.

Key Points:

  • The tandem of Greg Monroe and Andre Drummond put on the gas to help Detroit dominate the second half.
  • Brandon Knight stepped up his game leading Detroit with 18 points on 7-of-17 shooting with four boards, five assists, three steals and four turnovers. He may not be the Pistons best point guard, but at least his defensive game is getting better.
  • Only the pesky JJ Redick gave the Pistons problems leading all scorers with 26.
  • Jameer Nelson make 2 of this 10 three point attempts. If he was on the Pistons and jacked up 10 three’s he’d probably be sitting where Jonas is.
  • The Pistons were dunking away Tuesday night. Brandon Night put up another decisive dunk, as well as did Andre, but it was the Will Bynum alley-oop to Rodney Stuckey that really was amazing.
  • Via Pistons.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Andre Drummond hands are amazing, he finishes at the rim with power and touch. He put up another double-double with 11 points, 11 boards, two blocks, and two steals. I think he deserves an A.
  • Again…why isn’t Dre starting? “Andre Drummond came into the game with 3:22 left in the first quarter and the Pistons trailing 22-11. They immediately went on a 12-0 run and finished the quarter leading 26-25.” Via Pistons.com
  • Maxiell also put up an 11 point, 11 board double-double adding one assist and a block in 22 minutes.
  • Full Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Will Bynum is the best PG on this team plain and simple. He knows how to get the ball to his teammates and he knows where they want it. Will finished with 15 points, four boards and six assists with just one turnover in 25 minutes on the floor. The Will Bynum to Andre Drummond alley-oop combo is getting to be a staple. Throw it up and Andre will get it…he’s like the Calvin Johnson of the Pistons.
  • His first half wasn’t much to talk about, but Greg Monroe got the Pistons going by scoring 10 quick points in the third quarter on his way to 16 on the night. Monroe added six boards in 2 assists and looked determined after the half.

Greg-Monroe-Pistons-vs-Magic
Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Old friend and the Magic’s leading scorer Aaron Afflalo was held scoreless.
  • The defense is stepping up. Detroit with eight steals, five blocks and winning the board was 41-54.
  • Kim English with 2 points in his 3:36 cleanup minutes.
  • Wednesday night on the road against a surging Bulls team will not be easy.
2 Responses to "The Pistons Top The Magic"
  1. Julian says:

    Drummond is a double double dunking machine. Hopefully he will finally start a game by the end of the year and get his well deserved starter minutes.

    Don`t look now but the Pistons only have to beat out Philly and the slumping Celtics for the last playoff spot. Before the season started I thought that we had a great chance to get the last playoff spot this year.
    GO PISTONS!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM