The Pistons Narrowly Escape Orlando With A Win

Posted · 5 Comments
Greg Monroe Pistons-vs-Magic

The #Pistons fought to the final buzzer to beat the Orlando Magic for the second time in a week 104-102 Sunday night. Brandon Knight put up a career high 31 points and traded 3-pointers with J.J. Redick all night, but it was Knight’s consecutive threes that took the Pistons from three points down to leading by three late in the fourth quarter.

Key Points:

  • Detroit had a solid hold on the game in the first half, but the Magic came right back to squash the Pistons 13 point lead in the third quarter. From there it seemed like both teams were just trading baskets for the rest of the second half. You knew it was going to go down to the wire and it did.
  • This was a crazy finish that could have gone a different way. Just watch the final play and just how many chances that the Magic had to tie the game right at the rim.
  • Watch the finish of this one.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • The buzz before the game even began was the deactivation of Rodney Stuckey for the Orlando game. Many Pistons fans speculated that maybe there was a trade in the works to Boston since the news came down about Rondo being out for the season with an Achilles injury. It can be a trade, but it can also be buffoonery. I doubt that Dumars would make a trade that helps Boston when they are vying for the last playoff spot with Detroit.
  • With Stuckey out of the mix Frank when with more minutes from Kyle Singler and 18 for Kim English who scored six points on 2-of-3 shooting.
  • Besides scoring doubts and turnover, the blowing double-digit leads needs to handled.
  • J.J. Redick also put up a career high 31 and looked like he cold knock down just about anything…well until it counted late in the game.
  • Greg Monroe scored 17 on 7-of-11 shooting with seven boards and six assists. He’s got to be one of the best passing big men in the league.
  • Brandon Knight may not be the best point guard, but he can sure shoot the three. Like him, love him or loath him, no matter how many points your PG score he should have more assists than zero. Despite that he played a great game. His career high 31 came on 12-of-16 shooting with five from downtown.

Brandon-Knight-career-High-againt-the-Magic
Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • It was a Bynumite night as Will seemed to know exactly where his teammates were and when to get them the ball. Bynum finished with 12 assists and nine points. His only knock on the night was a bad shot decision with too many seconds left on the clock late in the fourth when the Pistons were trying to put the game away.
  • Andre went scoreless playing just 16 minutes, but adding four boards and 2 blocked shots.
  • Singler played well scoring 10 with tow steals, three assists and three boards.
  • Charlie V has a couple of very timely baskets.
  • Home against the Bucks on Tuesday night isn’t a cakewalk.
5 Responses to "The Pistons Narrowly Escape Orlando With A Win"
  1. Piston_fan_phl says:

    Good game. Knight looked like an all star tonight. He’s been very efficient hitting 12 of his 16 shot attempts and had superb defense on Nelson. He looked like “The Glove” tonight. I wonder why Frank didn’t put Knight on Redick. He could have atleast 4 assist if his team mates were hitting their shots (looking at you Prince). If Knight can give this kind of effort consistently this team will have the 8th seed since Rondo just had a season ending injury. Unless Jennings and Ellis takes off, Tuesday’s game will be a W.

  2. edt says:

    best part of knight’s game in 2013 is how improved he is defensively.

    Now if we could only trade stuckey to someone that needs “Hey”

  3. rai_from_the_philippines says:

    * BK could have had an excellent all-around game, if not for the 0 assists. Anyway, not to take anyway from him, he did a huge part to win the game.
    * Is it just me, or is the guy narrating the game highlights for NBA.com really bored?
    * Next up is the Bucks. How is BK matching against Ellis/Jennings?
    * Go Pistons!

  4. Tycoon says:

    If only we could trade Stuckey and Daye for Kyrie Irving. :)
    BK with 31 on 12/16 and a key to this win, I’d say 0 assist is acceptable for now.

  5. Bellllissimo says:

    “If you can only play well with certain guys, you know what you’re called? A specialist,” Frank said Sunday. “When you can play with anyone, you’re a rotation player.

    frank finallly described in words how i feel about carmelo anthony. he’s a glorified role player.

    but pistons doing good. i hope if there is a trade we get talent not just financial flexibility

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM