No Luck in London

Posted · 9 Comments
Andre Drummond Pistons-Knicks-London

The #Pistons dug themselves a deep hole in London when they scored the games first two points and then let the Knicks score the next 16 points. Will Bynum and sparked a late third quarter run to get the Pistons within four points of the Knicks, but the Knicks came right back. Another Bynum rally got them close again in the fourth, but again the Knicks came right back to beat the Pistons 102-87.

Key Points:

  • Very cool to see the Pistons play on the big stage, too bad they didn’t look better doing it. I’m just happy that they didn’t get blown out because it looked awful when they were down 16-2.
  • Will Bynum led the Pistons with 22 points on 10-of-16 shooting with four assists and a steal in 29 minutes. You have to appreciate Bynum who sparked two runs for Detroit to get them back in the game and not embarrass themselves in London. He even went on a person 7-0 run in the fourth quarter.

Will  Bynum Pistons-vs-Knicks-London
Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • You know I love me some Bynum, but when he’s the Pistons best player of the game it means people are not doing their jobs.
  • Speaking of people not doing their jobs…what’s up with Brandon Knight? He scored one point on 0-of-4 shooting in 18 minutes.
  • Andre Drummond helped Will get the Pistons back in the game. He posted another double-double with 11 points, 10 boards and two blocked shots. Per minute, he’s the Pistons best player of late.
  • Moose also with 11 and 10 boards.
  • Knicks are three-point shooting fools. They make them and they win, plain and simple.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Nice to see Bill Laimbeer in the house.
  • Great game by Singler, who was also responsible for helping the Pistons stay in the game. Kyle with one of the better games he played in the last couple of months. He finished with 15 points, 4 assists, 3 boards and a blocked shot.
  • A minute and twenty-five seconds for Kravtsov.
  • Prince with 12 on the night.
  • Not a great way to get overseas Pistons fans after that game, but I know quite a few Pistons fans in London got to finally see their team play in person, and that to me is pretty cool.
  • Sunday night against the Celtics at The Palace.
9 Responses to "No Luck in London"
  1. Nikhil says:

    Just noticed Pistons have scored exactly 87 points in their last two games and linited the bucks to 87 the game before…
    Anyways, I think coaching staff has two challenges here to get this team to take the next step….
    1. Can’t go 6 – 7 posessions without scoring. Coaching staff needs to come up with a cut-off. lets say team goes 5 ot 6 posessions without scoring take a time out.
    2. 9 out of the 14 wins pistons kept their opponents under 90 points. Team needs a specialist defender. Nots aying anything but if the other team is going on a 10 or 16-0 run maybe stop the bleeding by getting guys like AD, Max and JJ on the floor. I don’t see too many teams scoring too easily against these guys. Don’t know what JJ did to be out of rotation for so long, but need to start using him or whatever outside chance we have of post season will vanish quick.

    • Nikhil says:

      Wish somebody was keeping a stats on maximum unanswered points allowed and scored by each time. Bet you Pistons will be close to bottom. Huge opportunity for improvement in my mind.

  2. Bellllissimo says:

    sorry to play the blame game but this loss is completely kyle singlers fault. I watched him leave iman shumpert at the 3 point line 3 times at least for 9 points at the worst times. simple fact.

    could also blame guys like greg monroe and tayshaun for not playin with the team and trying to pad their stats but seeing singler constantly leave the 3 point line was driving me crazy lol

    i wish i could blame this on jet lag but both teams went through the same thing. just wish they could of at least played harder

  3. Bellllissimo says:

    actually there were some positives.
    1. i gained respect for austin daye for the hard foul on chandler (though i like chandler)
    2. Slava is the best passing big man in the league. its fact. slava owned the knicks thewhole time he was in
    3. I was talking trash to knicks fans and londoners cheering for melo and also learned a lot of londoners are now Andre Drummond fans. Also some will bynum fans now too. :)

  4. edt says:

    ok that was really boring. We get one game this week and . . . that’s about it.

    Maybe I’ll go watch the lakers. I’ll see if I can learn to hate Steve Nash.

  5. Tycoon says:

    Could not watch the game but it feels like a blowout loss to me. If Drummond is the best player per minute, why is he not getting more minutes? Going overseas and playing with no effort is disappointing to fans.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM