Jazz Jinx Continues

Posted · 7 Comments
Brandon-Knight-Pistons-vs-Jazz

The Utah Jazz continue to have success against the Detroit #Pistons adding another victory in their match-up Saturday night. The Jazz rallied back from a 15 point deficit to beat the Pistons 90-87 at the Palace.

Key Points:

  • Detroit was executing and dominating the Jazz in the first half. The Jazz came out on a mission after the half and the Pistons seemed to start their London trip early, pretty much laying down and taking it. They did however fight back and have a chance to tie with a three pointer, but a non call on a Brandon Knight three sealed the victory for the Jazz.
  • You can be bitter about the non call on Knight, but the way the Jazz played in the second half they deserved this one.
  • Brandon Knight scored 16 on 7-of-16 shooting with just one assist on the night. The criticism will keep coming until Brandon plays his position better or he gets moved to playing the two. He’s hot and cold, but this season he seems more on the cold side.
  • Good turn out at the Palace, seems as though the Pistons recent winning ways are getting more fans in the building.
  • Al Jefferson is so underrated.
  • Greg Monroe was shut down in the second half. He still finished the night with his 14th double-double of the season scoring 12 with 11 boards, but his seven turnovers overshadowed just about anything he did.
  • Quiet couple of games for Tayshaun. He put up eight with three boards and three assists in 33 minutes on the floor.
  • It’s really starting to look like the Pistons need a true point guard on this team, something they haven’t had since Dumars traded Chauncey Billups. They do have Bynum, but I doubt he’ll ever get the starting job.
  • Speaking of Will, he played great scoring 13 on 6-of-6 shooting with 4 assist and three steals. It was a Bynumite steal by Will at the end of the game that gave the Pistons a chance as the clock wound down.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Daye scored five on 1-of-3 shooting and Villanueva scored four on 1-of-5 shooting.
  • Stuckey with nine points on 2-of-6 shooting and two assists.
  • 17 turnover for Detroit.
  • Andre Drummond was solid again scoring nine on 4-of-5 shooing with five boards and a blocked shot. I knew he was going to be good, but honestly I didn’t know he’d be this good this quickly. We will soon be sending holiday cards to the eight teams that passed on him.

Andre Drummond-Pistons-vs-Jazz

Photos Getty Images - Editing Need4Sheed.com
  • Gotta love the Bynum/Drummond chemistry lately.
  • Will Greg Monroe adjust defensively when Andre starts?
  • Singler didn’t stuff the stats putting up just two shots and making them both in his 19 minutes.
  • The Pistons biggest lead was 15, Utah’s 13.
  • Besides Singler’s +2, Jason Maxiell was the only Pistons with a + in the box (+10). Jason finished with seven points, three assists, six boards and three blocked shots.
  • Off to London for the Pistons, so we have to set our DVR’s for the 3pm start.
7 Responses to "Jazz Jinx Continues"
  1. edt says:

    knight had to hurry that last shot contested, dont think it was a foul.

    Austin Daye had a much smaller defender on him, it was his responsibility to throw up a 3, and he wasn’t up to the task.

    • greg says:

      that defender had been pesky all night and might have been able to steal it even from Daye who doesn’t get much elevation on his shot. I thought Knight’s one-on-one defense in late Dec was actually pretty solid already, but that was a nice charge he took yesterday

      • edt says:

        daye has a nice shot, but he needs to learn from charlie v — charlie has an incredibly quick release, daye shoots like he is stuck in molasses

  2. edt says:

    have you seen brandon knight’s defense recently? He is a different person in 2013. Pretty amazing.

    If I had the choice between steve nash with all offense and no d and a shutdown point guard that can’t generate assists, I’ll pick defense every time.

    This Knight guy might work out. If he only gets 1 assist but the other point guards on the jazz get ZERO we have just won that battle.

    Knight wasn’t the problem, Moose just couldn’t handle Jefferson being aggressive and pushing him around in the paint, but we already know Moose has some difficult against physical centers. Drummond on the other hand once he gets starter minutes . . ..

  3. Tycoon says:

    Last 3 loses was so close that could have gone either way. Come to think of it, we could have been 10-0 the last 10 games. Guys seem to learn how to play hard every game. Just dont lose in a blowout passion to Knicks or I’ll take back my words.

  4. Hello to all, since I am really keen of reading this webpage’s post to be updated daily. It consists of fastidious stuff.

  5. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after looking at a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m definitely pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking
    back often!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM