The Warriors End The Pistons Home Winning Streak

Posted · 2 Comments

The Warriors spoiled the #Pistons home winning streak Wednesday night, but the 104-97 final score hardly tells the story in this one. The Warriors third quarter explosion pushed them ahead by 20, but Detroit had it down to a three points deficit with 1:08 left in the game.

Key Points:

  • I wasn’t as though the Pistons didn’t have chances in the final minute of the game, but failed to make a shot to keep them in it.
  • Someone tell me WHY Brandon Knight, who was having an awful night took three 3-Pointers in the final minute of the game. Add a turnover to that minute and you almost want to blame him for this one. And someone should also explain to me why in the world that Frank would even have him in the game, at that point?
  • Tayshaun Prince led the team with a season high 24 points on 10-for-18 shooting.
  • Greg Monroe just nine points with five boards. He’s been a little off his game lately, but is it wrong to almost expect a double-double every night?
  • Andre Drummond was a show within the show last night at the Palace. The NBA needs to take notice that this kid is the real deal. Mark Jackson can foul him all he wants to send him to the line, but he’s just going to make up for it. He played starter minutes on Wednesday night, and was in the game over Greg Monroe in the last minutes when the game was on the line.

Andre Drummond-Pistons-vs-WarriorsPhoto/Getty Images editing

  • Drummond put up his second double-double of his career with 15 points and 12 rebounds. But it was his energy and scrappy play that wowed anyone that was watch the game. He may just be the Pistons new Putback King. I almost want to give him the nickname “Easy” because that’s how he makes everything look.
  • Less than stellar night for Kyle Singler, who put up just three points on 1-for-6 shooting.
  • Klay Thompson was a three-point machine.  His five third quarter three-pointers seemed more like 15, allowing the Warriors to pull away from the Pistons.  He finished the game with a game high 27.
  • Good to see Spartan Draymond Green get some playing time for the Warriors in front of his friends and family. He finished the game with two points in 12 minutes on the floor. Be thankful for Draymond’s supporters Wednesday night or the crowd would have looked much more sparse than it was.
  • Stuckey was great, scoring 17 points and dishing out nine assists. Though he didn’t have a great first half he heated up big time after the break. He did a much better job keeping up with Curry, who made Brandon Knight look silly.
  • Singler and Stuckey combined missed their first 11 shots.
  • If it wasn’t for the Pistons bench this game would have been a Warrior blowout.
  • Charlie V’s three-pointer put the Pistons within three points with a minute left in the game. He finished with 11 points and has been doing well on the other end of the floor too. He’s giving the team non-Charlie like effort on the defensive end since he’s been back in the rotation.
  • Highlight of the Game via

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Interesting stat from “Detroit is giving up an average of 84.3 points in its victories, compared to 101.3 points in its losses”
  • It’s all about defense. You can’t let a team score 39 points in the a quarter.
  • Stephan Curry is on a tear, putting up a 20 and 10 streak like it’s nothing. He also shut Brandon Knight down while scoring his 22 and 10 against the Pistons.

Andre Drummond: “We should have never let it get that far to where we had to work that hard to get back. Moving forward, we need to just play our game.”

  • Next up The Bulls Friday night at the Palace.
2 Responses to "The Warriors End The Pistons Home Winning Streak"
  1. edt says:

    watched heat nicks last nite. If you offered me a straight up trade stuckey for wade i wouldn’t take it, wade can’t finish at the rim anymore cant draw fouls and has a worse 3 pointer than stuckey does.

    Sheed is an absolute beast, blocking in the paint all nite, perfect defense, and like a kid who has behaved all day and is allowed to eat a cookie, sheed is allowed to brick his precious 3 pointers.

    MIami is a hot mess, lebron is great, bosh is great, but they have absolutely no protection in the paint, they dont have the twin towers we have, and their guards are worthless, stuckey and nite are better than what miami has.

    The lakers should eventually figure things out but it sure is satisfying to watch them struggle. They are firing on all 1 cylinders, and that’s the Kobe cylinder. Kobe is playing great, passing, defending, shooting, but everyone else on that team is strangely disjointed, unable to communicate, howard doesn’t receive enough touches, it’s a complete disaster, and Nash is not gonna help.

    thank you lakers and miami for making me remember that being a pistons fan is great fun this year. We have no high expectations to worry about. And no matter how badly we get beat, our guys don’t go soap opera and dysfunctional.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment


2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM