The Grizzlies Top The Pistons

Posted · 5 Comments
File name: Greg-Monroe-Pistons-vs.-Grizzlies.jpg

Pistons 78 – Grizzlies 90

Nat asked me to fill in because she couldn’t watch the game live.  I told her sure no problem.  But I told her if we lose, it will be short. I told her that’s it for me.  There are no more moral victories for me, I’m not gonna cheer a loss ever again.  I’m not gonna say “But Drummond played great.”  We know Drummond is great.  We all want Drummond to play more minutes.  Well, everyone except for Frank who is still rationing him.  We know this is a team that can compete.  So that’s it for taking little positives out of a loss.  No more.  It’s winning time or nothing from now on.  I won’t be satisfied with less.

I’m not going to the stats to explain this game.  If you just look at the stat sheet Brandon Knight was worse than awful.  So many turnovers in the first half alone, shooting awful, not making assists.  This poor play is more about Grizzlies defensive aggression than Brandon getting schooled.  Brandon is a lot better player this year, there’s no doubt of it now.  I think what is really different about Brandon Knight this year from last year is that he had a boy’s body.  He’s grown into his frame, and this year he’s making some grown up moves. Of course, Knight’s improved play this year is also why Stuckey had to go to the bench.  With Knight playing better it means Stuckey has the ball in his hands less.  Stuck just needs the ball in his hands.  He’s no Rip Hamilton cutting getting open and draining deuces.  Stuck needs to mow down the other team like a halfback.  Or at least that’s the theory.

A good thing about being some guy writing this game summary instead of a famous blogger is that it’s not a big deal for me to change my mind.  Jereb-Who?  Don’t miss him.  Did I used to cheer for his effort and amazing hustle?  He’s just not that good this year.  This year I find I like Charlie.  Did I ever say that Charlie V belonged in a clown car?  I don’t remember saying that.  Charlie can stretch the floor.  Charlie was able to knock it down from the three this game.  And he has even been playing defense a little bit this year. And about Stuckey.  Did I ever say I liked Stuckey or that he was a cheap man’s Wade?  I think what I meant is that he’s a decent energy guy off the bench.  But he has no vision can’t see where to pass, especially against this Grizzlies team who collapse on you with great help defense.

Charlie Villanueva Pistons-vs-GrizzlesPhoto Getty Images/Editing Need4Sheed.com

One thing about away games.  I love just listening to them.  Unlike the echo-ing tomb called the Palace, in other arenas, you hear the audience clapping, low applause for a good move, sometimes they cheer loud and yell for a dunk, and sometimes it’s a big “Boooo” as they protest a call.  Detroit needs that crowd to come back.  And we have to win to do it.  There’s no other way to bring back the crowd.  You and me and the rest of the need4sheed-ers, we are die hard fans.  The casual fans aren’t coming on the bandwagon until they see a bunch of W’s.

You know according to Hollinger, before this game, the Grizzlies were ranked the best team in the NBA.  And the Pistons  number 19.  We have to be one of the best 5-12 teams out there.  But like I said.  No more moral victories.

I could say more nice things like Charlie is finally defending and how after years he is finally earning some of his ridiculous paycheck, or how excellent Drummond is, getting better every game.   Or I can look at what beat us.  Mike Conley is a real point guard, he’s where Knight is going to be in just another month.  Or that Moose just couldn’t handle Marc Gasol on the defense or the offense because there is nobody in the NBA playing better than Marc right now.  Marc just went with the Hi-Lo and if the Pistons fronted, a quick pass meant an easy bucket.  Gasol also backed Moose all the way under the bucket in the first half for one shot with no help at all.  Just pushed him around.  Or that the Grizzlies as a team played constant aggressive defense.  I think Frank must have drooled to see how this Grizzlies team played.  He was thinking “I want some of that.”  I suppose you can point at the turnovers for how this game played out, but that doesn’t really tell the story because this Grizzlies team forces those turnovers.

No more moral victories.  As Moose would say “Get in there!”  I’m not looking back at this game.  I suppose I could say it was close the whole way with the Pistons less than 10 points away with 7 or so minutes to go, still down by less than 10 points with about 2 minutes to go, I mean sure it was close, or I could say that we “competed” whatever that means.  But, I’m looking forward.  All I want are W’s.  I know I said if we lost I would just type one or  two sentences, but I can’t help myself, I love this year’s team.  After so much gloom, we can see the light.  And now I won’t be happy after the game with anything but a W no matter who we are playing.  Watch out Dallas.

Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

5 Responses to "The Grizzlies Top The Pistons"
  1. ali bazzi says:

    I agree with you 100%. The thing about knight is that he needs a mentor. He hasn’t had that one guy to look up to. Monroe had Ben. Stuck had Chauncey even though he hasn’t lived up to his “hype”. And drummond is slowly coming along with the help of moose. If theirs a way we can bring in a veteran PG it could be a blessing in disguise. Btw im starting to dislike frank by the game now. But that’s for next time.

  2. Jake says:

    D fish was available

  3. Markov7 says:

    nice thread edt didnt watch the game (fell asleep) but i think i get the pic and couldnt agree more with u,no more moral victorys we want WINS they can do with 1-2 aditons (quality) but one thing for me will never change and thats opinion on charlie v (he needs to go – he can score 25 every night i dont care) unlike opinion on maggette cose if he DOES have THAT kind of impact on team as a pack leader as keith langlois says then who knows maybe we should re-sign him next season also

  4. Julian says:

    Grizzlies are the best team in the league this year because they are #1 in defense and #10 in scoring.

  5. Julian says:

    Grizzlies are the best team in the league this year because they are #1 in defense and #10 in scoring.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM