Pistons win another at Home

Posted · 13 Comments
Kyle Singler-Pistons-vs-Cavaliers

The #Pistons may not have dominated the second half of Monday night’s game against the Cavs as they did in the first, but the 79-89 win extended their home winning streak to five games.  That may not seem like a great accomplishment, but considering their start to the season and their overall record, they’ll take any milestone that they can.

Key Points:

  • The Pistons had a 22 point lead at the half, and it looked like there was going to be a blowout at the Palace.  The offense however stalled a bit and the Cavs closed the gap to ten by mid third quarter.
  • Cleveland didn’t have Kyrie Irving or rookie Dion Waiters their two scoring threats.
  • Being at the game (with the other 13 people) I didn’t realize just how many blocked shots the Pistons racked up.  The Pistons recorded 13 blocked shots on the night, the most they have since 2007.
  • I did mention before that with Andre Drummond the Palace is DETROIT BLOCK CITY.
  • Andre finished with seven points, 12 board and three blocks in 20 minutes.  It was great to see Frank utilize the Twin Towers Monday night. It may not happen every night, but when he makes an impact on a game it’s just so obvious.

Brandon Knight on Drummod: “He’s just playing with energy. He comes in the game and blocks shots, fights for rebounds, and he just provides a different type of energy we need with the second unit. When the first unit guys see that, they want to come in and provide that same type of energy. He does a great job of doing that.”

  • Jason Maxiell is still pouring it on do you realize he’s blocked 13 shots in the last three games?  He finished with 12 points, six boards and five blocked shots on the night. It’s nice to hear the crowd gasp when Maxiell gets a nasty block.
  • Tayshaun Prince and Kyle Singler each with 15 points. Kyle scored seven consecutive points to held Detroit to a 14-point lead late in the first quarter. ROY?
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Anderson Varejao with 17 points and 18 boards.
  • Best part of my night at the Palace, you’d think was the victory, but it was the 20 something D-Bag Cavs fan with the Varejao jersey on and NO shirt underneath that literally walk down every section of the Palace to try to get a closer seat. When he’d get turned away by the ushers the Palace crowd would laugh and then he would try to taunt them with by popping his jersey and waiving his hands. I’m surprised someone didn’t pop him in the face.
  • Brandon Knight led the Pistons with 17 points, five boards and five assists. It sure looks like whatever slump he was in to start the season is long gone.

Brandon Knight-Pistons-vs-Cavaliers

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Moose with 14 boards, five assists, two steals. two blocked shots and nine points.
  • Charlie V is still getting time on the court, but his shot didn’t fall Monday night. He was just 1-for-6 with two points.
  • They won this one, but their second half play was alarming.  It was the a depleted Cavs team, so they were lucky to finish this out.  I was almost waiting for their “Lions” moment late in the fourth quarter.
  • A win Wednesday night at home against the Warriors would be a nice.
13 Responses to "Pistons win another at Home"
  1. Nikhil says:

    Good game. 6 out of next 11 look pretty winnable games too. Clippers, Pacers, Nets,Nuggets, Bulls will be tough. Still think we have a chance to make it to post-season…

  2. edt says:

    I’m not too alarmed about the second half play. The pistons played down to the cavs level. It’s the sort of thing you see other teams do with the pistons, the other team lets up a bit because they know there’s absolutely no way they can lose.

    I know it’s true that you are supposed to play 100% at all times, but this cavs team is just so bad it’s easy to let down your guard and let them lose by only 10 points.

  3. Bellllissimo says:

    do you think kyle singler realistically has a shot at ROY? i havent kept up with the guy in new orleans or michael kidd gilcrest so im just wondering. if it wasn’t a stats game i would say singler has the chance to be ROY for sure :) especially if his defense improves and gets those stats up too :)

  4. Brady says:

    I’d say only four are winnable. We play the Wizards twice, the Raptors and the Cavaliers each once. The other seven will be very tough games. 4-7 in the next 11 is my prediction.

  5. Tycoon says:

    If Singler remains consistent throughout the season, he’d be a great candidate.
    Nat, how’s the attendance at the Palace? Watching it from the tv, im seeing too many empty seats. Its a nice home streak, I supposed attendance should go up a bit.

    • The attendance is horrible! I can’t tell you how depressing it is to go to the games. No lines at any concessions stands and you can get tickets on the secondary market for as little as $3 depending on the game.

      • Jake says:

        We have the worst attendance in the league. I read on nba.com that if we were to take out the opening night crowd which was about 16 thousand, that our attendance would be under 12,000 a night

  6. Brady says:

    If we play very well they are. Both of those teams have winning records and are solid teams. We can beat them but not if we play like we have been.

  7. Brady says:

    If we play very well they are. Both of those teams have winning records and are solid teams. We can beat them but not if we play like we have been. However we may win both of those and drop one or two of the easy games. We will see.

  8. greg says:

    NBA.com has Singler listed as #3 in the running for ROY

    http://www.nba.com/rookie-ladder/?ls=iref:nbahpt6c

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM