Brandon Has a Knight To Remember in Cleveland

Posted · 5 Comments
Andre-Drummond--Pistons-Cavaliers

The #Pistons got their second road win of the season Saturday night in Cleveland, when they beat the Cavaliers for the second time in a week 104-97.  This however wasn’t smooth sailing, as the Pistons again let a large lead disappear and had rally late in the game to get the victory.

Key Points:

  • Hats off to Rodney Stuckey and Andre Drummond who were pivotal in the third quarter. Putting Brandon’s game aside, the pair sparked the Pistons comeback.
  • It was Jason Maxiell who kept Detroit in it early helping them to a 13-6 run to close the half down just three points.  Jason finished the game with 10 points, 4 boards and a pivotal blocked shot against Varejao that seemed to give the Pistons the momentum.
  • This team needs to stop giving up so many offensive boards.  Noah on Friday and Varejao killed them on the glass. The Pistons were out-rebounded 35-46.
  • What’s up with Greg Monroe? Not only is he slipping in the efficiency category of centers in the league, his shot isn’t falling and he hasn’t put up a double-double in forever. He scored 11 on the night but missed 6 from very close range. He needs to throw it down with authority when he’s that close to the hoop. Monroe added four boards, three assists, a steal and three turnovers in 29 minutes.
  • Do we need to send out a search party for MOOSE?

Moose Monroe is Bullwinkle

Original Art by Al Kigore editing artwork Need4Sheed.com
  • While we’re at it, maybe someone should help Kyle Singler find his game. Kyle was 2-for-4 for 9 points and two boards, an assist and two turnovers in 35 minutes.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • His stat line doesn’t amaze, but Andre Drummond had a great game.  He put up nine points, three boards and a blocked shot in 21 minutes on the floor.  Andre, in my opinion, is way ahead of whatever schedule we thought he was going to be on.
  • Brandon Knight led all scorers with a career high 30 points adding seven rebounds and five assists.  It was Knight who seemed to make things happen right when Detroit needed a boost late in the game.  His three pointer with 2:56 left to make it 97-89 seemed to quiet the fans at the Q and help Detroit keep on track.

Brandon Knight-Pistons- Scores 30

Photo/Getty Images Editing Need4Sheed.com

Andre Drummond on Brandon Knight: “He played with a force. He played real hard and the shots he put up were falling. Tonight was his night.”

  • Tayshaun continues to contribute putting up 14 with eight boards in 34 minutes.
  • Charlie V still getting playing time and producing, while Jonas continues to rack up DNP coaches decisions.
  • Monday in Philadelphia to finish the two game road trip.
5 Responses to "Brandon Has a Knight To Remember in Cleveland"
  1. MichaelV says:

    Good job last night, even against the bulls the were good till… charlie tooked those 2 unecessary 3´s.And than just didnt boxes out noah..Let boozer score way to easy! I dont only blame him,
    but i really worry about cv 31, ok hes hittin open threes but his defense is weak ( at least he should block out).
    Yesterday neary the same again…as he tooked a quick contest 3 in in the 4th und turned the ball over next possesion, gladly he went to the bench as the game was on the line…..#nohatin

  2. edt says:

    not worried about moose, he’s allowed to have as many weak games as he needs before he turns it on again

    I am worried about how many minutes magette has. Not earned. has no defense. worse 3 point shot than charlie and matador defense. Can draw fouls but there’s no reason to give him stuckey’s minutes

    I am also worried about jerebko. Is there something we dont know?

  3. Corey says:

    Well with just 4 boards, that ends Moose’s streak wit the longest stretch with 5+ rebounds. He’s been a concern to me because he’s been constantly beat up by larger centers. That does make sense as his natural position is PF, and I’m hoping that the early season beat downs can allow him to add to his game so that he can take on the Chris Kamans and other big centers that have been tossing him around. Same goes with BK. I know he had a great night, but pay attention to how many PG’s get by him. It’s incredible. Yea he’s been wearing them out with his offense, but as quick as he is, he hasn’t been staying in front of his man very efficiently. I still believe Slava should get some burn. Corey Maggette is like the epitome of inconsistent. Sometimes he’s rolling on offense, and others he’s a turnover-prone guard/forward and his travels, fouls, unforced errors get to me. Charlie V is undoubtedly surprising, as I thought his days on an NBA court were looking slim. Kyle Singler will be fine if we stop trying to make him create his own shot, he’s an off-the-screen shooter/driver and a deep threat. Giving him the ball and expecting him to create wont work, as he plays a slower pace than most on offense. I’d like to see a little less Maggette, and more English, and get JJ slowly back into the works, even tho CV is playing well.

  4. Tycoon says:

    Monroe might be adjusting to C-PF switches. We all know Drummond will soon take over the majority of the center spot. Like edt, I dont worry about his numbers. Its good that CV is contributing offensively.
    Lets get some winning streak.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM