Another Lead Blown

Posted · 6 Comments
Greg-Monroe-Pistons-vs-Nuggets

There is nothing like starting a game with a 21 to 4 lead…except for maybe the Pistons. After bursting out of the gate to start the game Detroit slowly and methodically blew any chance they were going to have to win the game. The first quarter was just about all that Pistons fans had to cheer about in the 101-94 loss, besides the outstanding play of Jason Maxiell.

Key Points:

  • How can anyone argue right now that Jason Maxiell should lose minutes on the floor? Maxiell tied a career high with six blocked shots, all of them which came in the first half. He finished the game with 18 points, grabbing six boards and a steal in 32 minutes. If you actually watch the highlight of this game, you’ll see a lot of Max.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Kyle Singler with nine points on 4-of-12 shooting, with three boards, two assists and a blocked shot in 28 minutes. I’m surprised I haven’t heard more of fans wanting Stuckey back in the starting lineup of Kyle since he’s been slumping a bit.
  • Yes Rodney, no one is happy about this one. Photo/Associated Press editing Need4Sheed.com
  • Stuckey finished the game with 17 (after the half) on 5-of-12 shooting with five turnovers in 27 minutes before fouling out. It really was Rodney that made sure the Pistons stayed in this one.
  • JaVale McGee decided to put on a show and Detroit let him. Lobs into the big man from Andre Miller made the Pistons look like a grade school team playing in the NBA.
  • Why can’t Greg Monroe finish around the rim?
  • Defense?
  • Drummond scored seven points and 11 rebounds. He looked a little lost trying to guard McGee when he was putting on the dunk show, but I don’t think that was all on him.
  • Tayshaun Prince, who scored eight with six boards said it all.

“The growing trend has been when we get a lead, we continue to take care of the offensive opportunities, but then still be (undisciplined) on the defensive end. And it’s been like that this season so far. The teams that we’ve been up on early in the first half, we get really comfortable with what we’re doing offensively … then from a defensive standpoint, the discipline ends up going away because we’ve got it going so good on the offensive end.” Via The Free Press

  • Four games in five days is tough, but that’s no excuse in my book. This team as two days and a trip to Brooklyn to shake the funk for a Friday night game against the Nets.
6 Responses to "Another Lead Blown"
  1. Marvin Jones says:

    Monroe has trouble with length and athleticism, it’s widely known; why he’s not on the floor with Drummond more I just can’t understand. With Drummond at center, Monroe with be defended by PFs who likely have less length than centers. Who would you rather Monroe be defended by McGee/Koufus or Fareed, Noah or Boozer, Hibbert or West, Varajao or Thompson and the list goes on. With Drummond at center Monroe gets a more favorable matchup. Max is playing well but is overmatched most nights, a second unit of Stuckey, Max, Slava, English and JJ would bring lots of energy rebounding and shot blocking.

  2. edt says:

    our backcourt got beat again and monroe had trouble with athletic centers

    I think by now the solutions is simple. Buy a point guard to teach Brandon Knight (Stuckey’s not gonna teach him anything). And give Drummond 30 minutes every nite.

    half of this is on Joe D. The other half on Larry.

    I’m not putting this losss on our boys, they tried.

  3. Brady says:

    I just checked the stats and the highest scoring average we have is Greg Monroe with 15. I don’t care who yoi are, unless you have six players averaging 15, you aren’t going to win.

  4. Tycoon says:

    If Drummond was drafted by somebody else, he could been starting and getting 30+ mins, happier and on the top rookie list.

  5. RealGMToni says:

    Will anyone here trade Knight, Stucky to Boston for PG-Rando? and Tayshuan, Jerebko, 1st round 2013 Pick for Rudy Gay?
    PG- Rondo
    SG- Kyle
    SF- Gay
    PF- Monroe
    C- Drummond ?

    Hmmmmm ?

  6. Brady says:

    No way would Boston ever give up Rondo. In two years he is all they will have going for them. Nice thought though.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM