The Pistons Lose the Home Opener Courtesy of James Harden and the Rockets

Posted · 7 Comments
harden_drummond

The #Pistons couldn’t hold on late in the game giving up 33 points in the fourth quarter to the Houston Rockets to put them 0-1 on the season. James Harden, acquired in a trade with Oklahoma City over the weekend, more than impressed in his Houston debut with 37 points and 12 assists as the Rockets defeated the Detroit Pistons 105-96 Wednesday at The Palace of Auburn Hills.

Key Points:

  • Don’t give all of the credit for the victory for the Rockets to Harden. Former Piston Carlos Delfino was a spark plug for Houston coming off the bench. Delfino, made 5-of-6 3-point attempts and grabbed 7 rebounds.
  • The Pistons guards didn’t show up at the Palace Wednesday night.
  • Rodney Stuckey was just 1-for-10 from the floor for 9 points and 6 assists.
  • Brandon Knight waited till later in the game to get going. He shot just 5-for-15 from the floor for 15 points on the night with 4 assists and 2 turnovers.
  • Andre Durmmond with his first two and only two NBA points of the game. He looked a bit nervous, but you can bet we’ll see some double-double’s from him soon.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Kim English can shoot! He knocked down two consecutive high pressure three’s to add to the Pistons lead in the third quarter. He finished with 8 points on 3-for-6 shooting with 3 assists and 2 steals in just 13:47 minutes on the floor.
  • Kyle Singler can shoot too! Singler with 10 points on 4-for-5 shooting in 15 minutes on floor. He may be this year’s Need4Sweede.
  • Austin Day may want to start packing for Europe, he’s not going to play a minute for this team unless everyone else gets kidnapped and held for ransom.
  • Jason Maxiell as active as he’s been in a few seasons. He was solid on both ends of the floor showing everyone why he’s starting for this team. Jason with 10 points, 8 boards and 2 blocked shots on the night. The Baby Eater is back.
  • Highlights of the game via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Greg Monroe led the Pistons with 14 points on 7-for-13 shooting with 8 boards, 4 assists and 4 steals. He know that he’s a big part of the team and if he’s playing well, the team does well.
  • Bynumite in the rotation. Will played well and was a solid spark for the Pistons when they were trying to mount a lead. Bynum finished with 9 points, 2 assists and a steal in 13 minutes on the floor.

Will Bymum against the Rockets
Photo Getty Images/Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • A 20 point fourth quarter swing in the fourth quarter doesn’t translate into wins.  Everything that was going right started going wrong for Detroit as the defense broke down and Houston stepped up.
  • Kravtsov and Maggette were both inactive for the game. Why not put CV31 on the inactive list since that’s what he is when he’s on court. The only way that Charlie Villanueva is going to get playing time with this organization is with the Mad Ants.

Tom Gores toonTom Gores: “I came here to win. I’m a now person,” he said. “Last year, we said we’re going to get into the playoffs (this season) and I meant it. We need to get into the playoffs.”

  • After just one game, this team look like it’s on the rise. You can see the team has changes and the youth can really take them places. They may not be vying for championships just yet, but mark my words this team is going to be really fun to watch.
  • Don’t forget about the 2012-2012 Detroit Pistons Intros.
  • Next up: On the road in Phoenix to take on the Suns Friday night.
7 Responses to "The Pistons Lose the Home Opener Courtesy of James Harden and the Rockets"
  1. edt says:

    maxie played fantastic, if he continues this thru the whole year, he’s going to be a very good power forward. Knight looks a bit bigger and stronger than last year, and I noticed he can take more contact, but he still is unable to distribute the ball, Moose is better at generating assists than Knight. Stuckey didn’t really have a bad night what happened is harden played out of his mind. Look for Stuckey to bounce back.

  2. Jaime says:

    we have a serious need 4 defense. we stiil cant outscore any and I mean any team. defense defense defense.

  3. Jean Pierre says:

    Great game, In the third quarter I think they showed their best side. Improvement on the defense is what we need. Maxiell, Monroe,Singler were very good…. I think we have a good thing in the mix for this season!

  4. terry says:

    It would’ve been nice to see Drummond and Monroe on the floor together at some point at least 5 minutes maybe to start off the 4th.

  5. Sevan says:

    coach has to put Drummond and Monroe together because I think once Drummond gets in the game the whole team game changes once he gets in and starts to play I start to believe the pistons are going to make the playoffs this year.

  6. O.G. Junior says:

    Stuckey didnt have a bad night? That was his worst performance ever. Im tired of sticking up for him. He has been around long enough and should be more of a threat on the floor. Its all about progressing year by year. He looks like the same player he was 4 years ago. Hell, maybe worse. Im done w him. And no Im not going by that one game…

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM