The Pistons lose another to The Thunder

Posted · 13 Comments

It sure was looking like the #Pistons were going to get their first win Monday night.  After having control most of the way, Detroit let the Thunder go on a 17-2 run to open the fourth quarter, wiping out an 11-point lead in what was clearly the best defensively played game all season.  The Palace crowd could feel it, but a late turnovers and poor shot selection doomed the Pistons to a 92-90 loss.

Key Points:

  • Give it up to Jason Maxiell who may not make the stat sheet explode, but if not for him Detroit wouldn’t have had a chance in this one. We may think he should be the first off the bench, but he’s showing us otherwise. Jason finished with 13 points, 7 boards and 3 blocked shots.

Tayshaun PrinceTayshaun Prince: “Max was unbelievable for us, he was covering for a lot of our mistakes on the perimeter. It’s tough to swallow this one because guys put out a great effort for a long period of time in this game.”

  • Knight needs to make things right. His shot is off and he made some terrible decisions late in the game, even though he hit a critical 3-pointer in the final minutes to give the Pistons a 1-point lead. He shot just 2-of-13 for 8 points, with 6 assists and 4 boards. He did do a number on Westbrook making him take 25 shots to get to his game high 33.
  • Through three quarters, Oklahoma City’s Kevin Durant and Russell Westbrook were shooting a combined 13 for 37.
  • The crowd was willing the team to get the win. There may not have been a ton of people there on Monday night, but the ones that were there were loud and surprisingly proud.
  • The next time I look over to the bench when there is less than a minute left in the game and the team is trying to figure out their play to win a much needed ball game and I see Charlie V and Austin Day laughing and making jokes on the sideline. I’m going Ron Artest and Stephen Jackson on them. This time I’m running down to the court not up in the stands. Nobody is laughing Austin and Charlie…the only thing that’s funny is that the two of you have a job.
  • Drummond had a nice game with four points, six rebounds and two steals in 13 minutes.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Rodney Stuckey led the Pistons with 19 points on 7-for-13 shooting. He’s got to do much more than sporadically put up points to get back in most of our good graces. I feel like we have been waiting and waiting for him to break out…how long do we have to wait? You realize it’s been six years now?
  • Greg Monroe with 17 points, 6 boards, 2 assists and 4 steals. No twin towers sighing just yet, maybe we have to wait until they lose 15 game in a row before Frank will try it.

Greg Monroe Pistons vs OKC

Photo/Getty Images editing
  • Highlights of the game via

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • This team is better than this, and they proved that they can play. They just have no idea how to win.
  • Wednesday night in Philadelphia should be fun.
13 Responses to "The Pistons lose another to The Thunder"
  1. B.G says:

    Why did we Hire L.Frank? This dude coached the nets to an 0-16 starting record before he got the boot.

    I’m not sure what if Joe.D is the right person for the job anymore

  2. Nikhil says:

    I think L.Frank was more of a Tom Gores choice than Joe D’s. Joe actually wanted Mark Woodson. But, either way I think Lawrence will do fine. I am still patient even though I don’t like how he hasn’t pushed the panic button and played the twin towers together. Maybe he is looking at the whole season rather than short term gains. I just hope he knows what he is doing. If we can keep us last nights effort we have good chance in the next 5 games, I say.

  3. josh blue says:

    Charlie V shoudnt be allowed to travel with the team, shouldnt be allowed to be on the bench. They arent going to play him unless a sinkhole opens up and swallows the rest of the bench anyway. He knows it, and is acting like an asshat accordingly.

  4. Drew says:

    I find it kind of awkward to go on a rant about Stuckey after he has a good game (19 points, above 50% shooting, 5 assists). Yeah, he’s never going to become the superstar some of predicted at the start of his career. Yeah, he’s lost a little of that luster in most of our minds. But, he’s an important piece to this team. The problem is we need all hands on deck. This is weird timing to spout off about his inconsistency. I hope you’re not just mad because you might have missed your window and now he appears to be back on track.

  5. edt says:

    here’s what I have to say about drummond.

    suppose I told you that a center that fell all the way to #9 because of his lack of work ethic, who was invisible in college offensively, unpolished defensively who only had as a great attribute a “large frame like Darko” who was “athletic” (“athletic” is code for guy can’t play a lick of basketball).

    Suppose I told you that this guy, that this drummond guy was playing some of the best basketball on our entire team, better than knight, prince, jerebko, amassing steals, putbacks, blocks, at a per-36 rate that would give him a double double very single game if he got that many minutes.

    And suppose I told you that Larry Frank had a plan for this young fella and his progress is coming along just the way he wanted.


    Two months ago we would have said, “Frank you’re doing magic bringing Dre along. Wow is all I can say.”

    The problem is this. We suck so bad that we are willing to risk our superstar . . . . just so we can win an extra game here or there.

    I have no idea what Frank is teaching our young fella, but whatever it is, keep doing it.

    Wow. Drummond is exceeding every single expectation, don’t change what’s working now. What if Frank gives him too many minutes and he quit progressing, what if he reverts, what if he quits learning, what if he gets injured because his body isn’t used to the nba 82 game pace.

    If there’s one thing Frank is doing rite, that’s how he’s bringing Drummond into the NBA game.

    If there’s one thing Frank is doing wrong that’s starting Prince over Singler.

    Also, nothing warms my heart like seeing Daye and Charlie V warming the bench. I don’t care what else Frank is doing, watching those guys get absolutely shut down goes a long way in my book. Thanks Coach.

    We need a point guard.

    Failing a point guard, Stuckey needs to go back to point. He’s serviceable there, I mean he lacks court vision, sometimes makes bad decisions, but compared to Brandon Knight, Stuckey has accurate passes, and is able to take care of the rock.


    Let Drummond grow into the starting position. I don’t want anything to go wrong with our future superstar.

  6. Markov7 says:

    “The next time I look over to the bench when there is less than a minute left in the game and the team is trying to figure out their play to win a much needed ball game and I see Charlie V and Austin Day laughing and making jokes on the sideline. I’m going Ron Artest and Stephen Jackson on them. This time I’m running down to the court not up in the stands. Nobody is laughing Austin and Charlie…the only thing that’s funny is that the two of you have a job.”
    love the attitude nat

  7. Julian says:

    CV31 and Daye are laughing all the way to the bank until they no longer in the league. Hopefully they will both be on the bench in a NEW uniform next year

    Like it or not Knight will be a starter for years to come.
    Moose Monroe will be a starter either at PF or C for years to come also.
    I think Drummond will a starter by the end of the season.
    Next year we will need some new blood at SG and SF via draft or FA.

  8. Mike says:

    Anyone have the highlights of Jason Maxiell’s blocks on Kevin Durant, mainly the one where he stonewalls him at the rim? refuses to put it up.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment


2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM