A Knight to Remember in Detroit

Posted · 5 Comments
Greg Monroe - Pistons vs. Raptors

#Pistons fans haven’t seen a Knight of basketball like they did on Friday in quit some time. It was the Pistons youth core of Knight, Drummond and Monroe that helped power Detroit in their 91-90 win over the Raptors. With the Pistons down one, it was Brandon Knight’s dribble drive with 7 seconds on the clock that gave Detroit their third win on year.

Key Points:

  • I’m back on the Tayshaun Prince bandwagon for right now. It’s not that I don’t think he’d fit better off the bench on a contender, but he’s doing his part this season to keep the Pistons in games. As important as Brandon Knight was down the stretch of this one, so was Prince who got the Pistons right back in the game when they handed the lead to the Raptors. Prince finished with 16 points, seven boards, and three assists in 38:19 minutes on the floor.
  • Another solid game for Greg Monroe who led the Pistons with 19 points, 11 boards, a steal and a turnover in 38:24 minutes. He’s not only playing well, you can see him in every play and being a leader to this young team.
  • Monroe has grabbed five or more rebounds in 104 consecutive games, the league’s longest current streak. Are you voting for him?
  • I suggest you watch the highlights of this one just to see the last couple of plays unfold.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/pistons/2012/11/23/0021200175-tor-det-recap.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • Andrea Bargnani with 17 of the Raptors first 20 points, had one of the best games I’ve seen him play. He finished with a season high 34 on the night.
  • I also didn’t know how good Toronto’s Kyle Lowry was.
  • Very nice to see the Twin Towers on the court together for Detroit. You can see how productive that they can be. Drummond finished with 13 points and career highs of 13 rebounds in his first double-double of his career in 25 minutes on the floor. He had some nice highlights in this one, none better to me than when he hustled back on the defensive end to take a charge and as he lay on the floor he gave a nice fist pump when the call was made. He even was put back in the game with 16.1 seconds left in the game to help Detroit make a stop when the Pistons were down one.

Andre Drummond: “One of the knocks on me is that I don’t have a motor, that I don’t play hard every day.” “(Frank) just tells me every day, effort, that’s all you need to do. Give effort every single day, play hard and keep yourself going. So that’s what I do.”

Tayshaun Prince: “I saw a lot from him, the most important thing is when he made mistakes and he missed free throws, he just stayed the course, put his head down. Obviously it was tough for them to keep him off the offensive glass and he had key blocked shots and things like that, but I think his energy kept the crowd in the game. That’s what we need from him.”

  • Detroit started the second half strong, going on an 11-0 run after Toronto scored on its first possession of the half and expanding their lead to 10.
  • Brandon Knight comes out the hero in this one and rightly so. His layup to get the win wasn’t easy, but don’t forget the clutch shots late in the fourth either.
    This was just the kind of game that Knight needed to kick start his confidence in his shot. Brandon finished with 16 points on 6-for-8 shooting with three assists and just 2 turnovers.

Brandon-Knight---Pistons-vs-Raptors Photo Getty Images/Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Let’s not forget about Jason Maxiell who continues to make play and bring the energy. I don’t have the clip, but did you see the sweet bounce pass from Monroe to Maxiell for the dunk?
  • Stuckey with 8 points on 2-of-9 shooting in 26 minutes.
  • Kyle Singler with 6 points on 2-of-5 shooting in 28 minutes.
  • Just 26 points in the paint for Toronto to the Pistons 52.
  • This game was tied 10 times with seven lead changes.
  • After losing double-digit leads and dropping their first three home games of the season, the Pistons have now won two straight at The Palace and the crowd truly did appreciate it.
  • A Sunday afternoon SHEEDtastic matinee against the Knicks. I’m all for it!
5 Responses to "A Knight to Remember in Detroit"
  1. ali bazzi says:

    I wasn’t too fond of tayshuan until this game. Those 2 hooks put us back in the game. Greg Monroe has to be the most consistent player in the leauge. And drummond is kicking away all that talk that he wasn’t NBA ready. the twin towers put up numbers. And drummond gives us that spark that we’ve been missing for quite a while. Then knight enters the game late 4th qt then hits that beautiful lay up of the high glass and drained a crucial 3. Then came back with that game winner in the end.

  2. ali bazzi says:

    One of those knights (pun intended) your proud to be a pistons fan

  3. Julian says:

    3 Ws in the last 5 games.
    At least Frank is starting to play AD1 more minutes even though he should be starting.

  4. Alex says:

    I was watching the Toronto feed for the game and one of the things they mentioned is that Detroit is one of the few teams in the league that can go really tall putting out a lineup of Knight, Prince, Singler, Monroe, and Drummond. I thought that was pretty interesting, maybe they can exploit that in future games.

  5. Jake says:

    Being a Kentucky fan I watched a lot of Knight in college. He was never afraid to take the big shot, he even hit the game winner against Princeton in the tourney. And Kyle Lowry can hoop, he’s a walking triple double.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM