Even Wizardry can’t stop the new and imporved Pistons

Posted · 2 Comments
april_4_12_jerebko

Yes, that’s right the #Pistons are now winners of five of their last six games after a 94-99 victory over the Wizards. So what if it wasn’t pretty, so what if the Pistons were supposed to beat the 12 win Wizards at home. They did, just not in convincing fashion.

Key Points:

  • Rodney Stuckey back and looking good coming off the bench for Detroit. Rodney with 15 points on 6-for-7 shooting with 3 assists in just under 19 minutes on the floor.
  • Ben Wallace is really making himself look good as he starts his ride off into the sunset after this season. He sure didn’t look like a 37-year-old out there on the floor last night. Big Ben with 8 boards, 3 assists, 2 steals, and a blocked shot in 27 minutes on the floor last night. Frank decided to keep Ben in for the final 18 minutes of the game for a defensive boost. I can’t even stand up for more than 20 minutes straight let alone play in a basketball game for 27. Kudos Ben!

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Lawrence Frank: “The group that changed the game for us was Ben Wallace, Jonas Jerebko, Damien Wilkins, Will Bynum and Rodney Stuckey. We went up 20 with that group and it was because of their defensive energy. Then we rode it. … You look at the numbers – we shoot 52 percent. For us, that’s a pretty high-water mark, but the game changed defensively because of the impact of that group. That’s what we’re going to be. We’re going to be a defense-first team. We can live with a lot of other things, but we’ve just got to continue to grind and establish an identity.”

  • Ok…so Charlive Villanueva is another DNP Coaches decision. Like I mentioned before I believe the fans that have been sticking with this team for the past few years should just split his salary. Wonder what my cut will be?
  • Washington led just once at 3-2, but the Pistons didn’t really put the Wizards away until early in the fourth quarter.
  • Greg Monroe led the Pistons with 18 points on 7-for-10 shooting with 7 boards in just twenty minutes on the floor.  Imagine how much better this team can be if he had a solid big man playing alongside him.
Greg Monroe vs. Wizards

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Make your free throws and this one is a blowout.  The Pistons were 23-for-39 from the line. Don’t put Big Ben in that mess, Ben was 5-for-6 from the line!

Ben Wallace: “I usually don’t make them until they make me make them. Tonight after the game, I got a text from my wife saying that she really hates when teams go to that Hack-A-Ben or Bump-A-Ben. But she’s very proud of the fact I can go up there and knock those shots down. As a player, you’ve got to accept the challenge and knock those shots down.”

  • John Wall 28 points and 10 assists.
  • Brandon Knight with 6 points, 1 assist and 3 boards in 28 minutes on the floor.
  • Why doing they bring Macklin back and put Charlie V on the inactive list.

Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Maxiell with a double-double with 11 points and 11 boards.
  • More wins means fewer balls, but I’m fine with it.
  • Next up Atlanta.
2 Responses to "Even Wizardry can’t stop the new and imporved Pistons"
  1. Julian says:

    the Pistons have won 9 of their last 11 home games.

    another fun fact. When Jason Maxiell has been a starter this year, the Pistons have had a winning record for those games. He is the only Piston that can say that this year.

    I love how the Wizards intentionally fouled Big Ben at the end of the game and he sticks 5 of 6 free throws and then points at the Wizards bench.

  2. Julian says:

    I think the Pistons will end up getting the 10th pick in the draft and will just miss passing up the Bucks and the Knicks for last playoff spot in the EAST.
    Only 80 days or so before the NBA draft.
    Joe D.may change the roster with 4 -5 new players but the core that have had such a better second half of this season will stay the same.
    Stuck, Knight, Prince, Monroe, BG, JJ, and Maxiell, if he decides not to opt out of his contract, will be the main core players to build around.
    Whoever wears 31 will be a new player for sure.
    Sad to see Big Ben go if he retires but V. Mack could be a decent replacement for Ben.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM