A little Magic of their own

Posted · 5 Comments
april_3_12_monroe

The Pistons added another one to the win column Tuesday night as they took on the short-handed Orlando Magic at the Palace of Auburn Hills. All Pistons starters plus Jonas Jerebko where in double figures in the 102-95 victory over a Magic team without Dwight Howard, Jameer Nelson and Ryan Anderson.

Key Points:

  • No Rodney Stuckey for the Pistons, but Ben Gordon was back and he put up 18 points on 7-for-13 shooting starting in his place. Ben also grabbed 6 boards, with 7 assists, and 2 two steals on the night in one of his most complete games this season.
  • Working as a team…25 assists on the night for Detroit.
  • The game wasn’t easy, especially with Glen Davis scoring a career high 31 points and even knocking down a three in the closing minute of the game to make the finish interesting. There were 16 lead changes and eight ties in this one.
  • Jason Maxiell going to work again. Jason put up 15 points, 7 boards, 2 assists, a steal and two blocked shots in 24 Energizer Bunny minutes on the floor.
Jason Maxiell Dunk

Photo Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Mr. Greg Monroe led the Pistons 22 point, on 9-for-11 shooting with 11 boards. That makes it 26 double-doubles on the season.
  • Brandon Knight had another tough night scoring going 5-for-12 for 11 points. Despite the lack of buckets, Brandon really drove the team when he was out there, even if the box score doesn’t show it.
  • I really never get enough of a convincing jam from Jason Maxiell.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • The Pistons didn’t make it easy on themselves with three of Orlando’s starters out. They had a hard time with the Magic all night, never leading by more than five in the first half and failing to put them away after opening the third quarter on an 8-0 run.
  • Jonas Jerebko really has found his stride coming off the bench for Detroit. Jonas scored 13 points with 5 boards and a steal in 20 minutes on the floor with just one foul.

Tayshaun Prince: “We were just moving the ball real effectively, moving their defense from one side to the other. Greg was doing a good job of getting the ball inside and making decisions. BG played a great all-around game coming off pick and rolls, making good reads. Just good all-around play by everybody. When you win, that’s how you want to play.”

  • Daye and Villanueva a DNP coaches decision. Anyone else think this whole Charlie V think is suspicious?
  • 22 points off of turnovers for the Magic.

Highlights of the game via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Tayshaun with 15 points, six boards and 3 assists. No two prettier than his dunk off a no-look pass from Will Bynum. Just check the highlights.
  • Next up the Wizards on Thursday.
5 Responses to "A little Magic of their own"
  1. The Fan says:

    NICE!!!

  2. daddy says:

    who was it talking ill about tay? now that he is got his legs and mobility back he is leading the team in the locker room. this is why we signed him to show the young guns how to keep it moving.

  3. Drew says:

    Hey, Ben Gordon dribbled literally coast to coast and didn’t dribble it off his foot!

    Monroe’s steal and slam is eerily identical to his one from last year on JJ Barea.

  4. Piston_fan_phls says:

    This win should be automatic without 3 of Orlando’s starters. Monroe could’v dominated inside without Orlando’s best interior defender. great win though. everyone scored at will inside the paint.

  5. Drew says:

    Should we draft Thomas Robinson? He could complement Monroe really well.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM