The Suns are too much for The Pistons

Posted · 4 Comments
Brandon Knight vs. The Suns

The Pistons put themselves in the position to take a game in Phoenix, but eerily like their game in Utah, Detroit couldn’t hold things together in the final minutes of the ball game.  With about four minutes to go in the ball game  Jared Dudley made a layup to put the Suns up 97-95 and they never looked back.

The final score 101-109.

Key Points:

  • It was tied at 95 with four minutes left, but the Suns outscored the Pistons 14-6 down the stretch.
  • Yes, that score in the box is correct, Ben Wallace with 10 points on 5-for-5 shooting.

Ben Wallace: “I mean coming down the stretch they made plays. They made enough plays to win the game and we didn’t. We were in the game and had a chance to win it but that’s all you can ask; is for us to fight and give ourselves a chance. Give Phoenix credit, they made plays when they counted the most.”

  • The Pistons clearly have a rough time on the road.  Detroit is now 3-17 away from the Palace.
  • Brandon Knight with 17 points, 10 of them in the first quarter, seems to be working well alongside Rodney. Brandon added 6 assists and a blocked shot in 37 minutes on the floor for Detroit.
  • Rodney Stuckey continues to lead this team in scoring, putting up 23 points on 7-for-13 shooting with 8 assists, 3 boards and a steal in 37 minutes on the floor. Is Stuckey’s bandwagon getting full?
Rodney Stuckey Pistons vs. The Suns

Photo/Getty Images edition Need4Sheed.com

  • The Suns had to rest Nash and Hill the game before they played Detroit.  Hill put up 14, while Nash had five with a ridiculous 17 assists.
  • The Suns bench scored 36, while Detroit’s put up 29.
  • Maxiell, who scored 12 with four boards in 25 minutes in the ball game is usually good for one of these highlights every game this season.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Ben Gordon took a 3 shots and scored 6 points.  It’s obvious that whatever role Ben Gordon accepted when he came to this team clearly hasn’t panned out.  His bank account however is just fine with it.
  • You have to keep a bad rebounding Suns team off the glass and the Pistons didn’t do that. The Suns out rebounded Detroit 40-32.
  • DNP = Daye, Villanueva, Bynum, and Russell.

Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Not cool – Phoenix outscored the Pistons 22-12 in second-chance points.
  • Greg Monroe with just 8 points 9 boards, and 2 blocked shots with 5 turnovers on the night.
  • Six Pistons in double figures.
  • Next up the Clippers Sunday in LA.
4 Responses to "The Suns are too much for The Pistons"
  1. junior says:

    stuckeys bandwagons not quite full yet nat. edt drew and me can scoot a bit closer n make some room for u. u cant sprawl out like u can on the bg wagon, but u can sit close to some friends! lol. im glad stucks performing how i knew he could, i was really getting tired of defending him every game. give me ur hand nat ill help ya up here.

  2. junior says:

    @Keith_Langlois
    Keith Langlois Impressive D-League debut for @vernon_macklin 18 points, 18 boards, 4 blocks, 3 assists for Fort Wayne Mad Ants
    Mar 16
    go macklin tear it up man, get back here we need a young center to backup monroe next year. ben wallace is on his way out.

  3. MrRockinWTB says:

    If Stuck doesn’t get Most Improved Player it will be highway robbery!

  4. Drew says:

    I was there in person for the game in Phoenix again. I was really impressed by our play but can’t figure out how Detroit gave away the game. I can’t really blame the refs, but maybe I can blame a few lucky shots from the Suns — Frye and Brown. Suns always seem to do that.

    Stuckey and Knight were awesome in the first half, but I was disappointed with Stuckey’s play in the second half. He seemed to lack the intensity needed to win. His shooting’s come a long way though; I saw him drain almost every shot while warming up, even 3s. He made a really tough 3 in the first half where it looked like he got fouled too.

    I’m a little worried how Monroe doesn’t always get crunch time minutes. Ben scored 10, but shouldn’t we throw Moose in the fire? Anyway, I sat in the nosebleeds but still had fun. It just could have been more fun…

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM