The Pistons vs. The Knicks

Posted · 24 Comments
The Pistons vs. The Knicks

The 16-31 #Pistons New York for the second game of a back to back to take on the 23-25 Knicks. The Knicks would like to bounce back after their five game winning streak was snapped, while the Pistons, who have lost four straight, will take any victory they can get.

The Knicks, under new interim coach Mike Woodson, are just one-half game ahead of the Bucks for the final playoff spot in the East.

  • The good: The Knicks are also on the second game of a back to back.
  • The bad: The Kninks are 3-0 under Woodson at home.  Carmelo Anthony this season.
  • Who to watch: I’m sure you all want to see what Jeremy Lin can do.  Keep an eye out for how Brandon Knight keeps up.
  • The unknown: Stuckey’s health.

Tip off is at 7:30 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports. If you can’t catch the game on TV, catch it on the radio over at 97.1 The Ticket.

24 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Knicks"
  1. edt says:

    Pistons roster has too many bad players, daye, russell, wilkins, macklin. We really can only field five or six players that should even be in the NBA, and of those five only three should be starters, jerebko can’t start he fouls too much, prince and wallace have both lost a step, gordon and charlie can’t defend.

    With Stuckey injured, we have two decent players, a tiny bench and a creamy cupcake filling made out of D leaguers.

    I can’t watch any more.

  2. Kerghan says:

    That was a rough outing that is for sure.

    Really nothing good to take from this game.

    Walker Russell, Austin Daye and low and behold a Charlie V sighting.

    Major trouble rebounding and Max seems to be finally hitting the wall. Our needs this off-season are becoming clearer all the time though.Size and athleticism at the top of the list.

    Couple important games coming up though. Lottery implications galore.

  3. terry says:

    I can’t be mad at these losses. Pistons need a lottery much more than a playoff run right now. If only Stuck can stay hurt a bit longer to seal a top 3 pick…

  4. Mel Crosby says:

    It should now be evident how much Stuckey really does bring to the table with this team. They looked like they did at the beginning of the season. But the schedule hasn’t been kind for them the last 6 games. But they should all be better for it at the end of the season. The young players should know what they have to work on during the summer. I hope Stuck and Knight really do work out this summer. Personally , Those the only 2 guards I would keep, junk the rest and pick up a couple of free agents a pg and a shooting guard. Draft a center and get another power forward and get a Singler back. Have Macklin work out with the big man coaches all summer . With a full training camp we’ll be in good shape.

    • As much as we see now that we need Stuckey, is it really the fact that we need Rodney or if maybe Ben Gordon was actually worth more than a Happy Meal, we would be ok.

      If a not disgruntled Rip Hamilton was on this team would things be different?

      • Zkranc says:

        We can’t get 2 SG’s to work. No wonder Rip didn’t click. Plus Knight is more of a SG than PG at this point of his carrer.

        ps Hey Nat are you, Danny and Dave going to do some new podcasts?The ones you did at the start of the season were awesome.

  5. N1ck says:

    I’m not upset at all, this team can win only when Stuck is on fire.

    For 2012/13 and a shot for the playoffs

    It’s simple, build around the core of Stuckey, Monroe & Knight (will grow, he’s a 20 yo rookie remember);
    Keep JJ, he’s good off the bench. Amnesty CV31;
    Draft good (big);
    Add a productive PF and a wing player via FA, sign Singler;
    Let Maxiell (putbacks are not worth 5mil a year), Russell, Daye & Wilkins walk;
    Keep Frank, he’s the coach we need.

    Monroe DP C DP C/PF
    FA PF Jerebko Macklin
    Prince FA SF/SG Singler
    Stuckey Gordon
    Knight Bynum
    (healthy)

  6. Julian says:

    Macklin stats in the last Mad Ants game: 14 points/ 19 rebounds
    He could replace Big Ben next year after his retirement for little salary.
    Unfortunately the Pistons are not one of those teams with alot of cap space for big name 2012 FA unless they amnesty someone like CV31.
    Most PF FA next year are either too old or too expensive for the Pistons.

    One guy they may consider is Ersan Ilyasova for the Bucks unless he returns to his native Turkey. He averages 12 PPG and 8 RPG and is a decent defender getting backup minutes for the Bucks for only $2.5 million/yr

    • N1ck says:

      We don’t need big names, BG & CV were “big names” and look how much happiness they bring…

      There are some good players in free agency in the summer. Better ones then we have right now… Hopefully Joe D learned something in BG/CV fiasco.

      • It’s sad that the “biggest names’ we could get where Ben and CV31.

        They are both terrible.

        • N1ck says:

          These guys can theoretically be good players on a good team, but not stars on a bad team. With that move Joe D got us three years of lottery. Can he turn the things around next summer with another good draft pick, amnestying one of them and pick a FA that can contribute to the team. I’m not even going as far as asking for a trade… It’s impossible to trade everyone beside Monroe, BK, JJ and offcourse Stuckey now when he’s figured out his role.

          And I’ll never forgive Aaron Afflalo!

  7. N1ck says:

    I meant healthy Bynum cause remember him like that? He was a good PG backup, very good even, with plenty of ball-sharing and heart. This team needs that.

  8. Zkranc says:

    I’ve kind of given up on FA. Big name players are never coming to Detroit and I hope Joe learned his lesson when he bought BG and CV. Two overpaid players who are not performing at all. There’s no point in doing the same thing all over again.
    We should focus on the draft and give young players a chance to shine. That way we can build the backbone of our team relatively on the cheap and use our cap space in trades, where it’s more likely we’ll get an impact player.

  9. Mel Crosby says:

    Only time free agents will come to The D is when they are a winning team. In the playoffs and FA know they’ll have a chance of winning.
    And on Bynum, sorry I like him but he was only good when other teams didn’t know his game. Once he was acclimated those few times, teams figured they could strip the ball from him and knew he would sometimes try to dunk on the other teams big men. He became to predictable. I feel he try’s to play like he’s bigger than he is. If he played like a Ty Lawson or some of the other good smaller point guards he would add better value. ( Remember the 21 assist game) when he passes it opens his game up much more to play the way he wants. He just hasn’t figured it out yet.

  10. Drew says:

    Long story short: This team is f###ed without Stuck.

  11. Julian says:

    Anthony Davis the consensus number 1 pick in the NBA draft had 18 pts 11 rebounds and 6 blocks.

    But I think we may get Sullinger PF of OSU.
    Great low post player

  12. Julian says:

    Sullinger and Robinson are both 6`9″ PF
    Robinson will probably go 2 or 3 in the lottery though

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM