The Pistons keep rolling at the Palace

Posted · 3 Comments
mar_9_12_maxiell

The Hawks didn’t make the Pistons 86-85 win on the Palace floor easy.  The Hawks erased the Pistons fourth quarter lead to take it down to the wire. Atlanta had the bull with 24 seconds left in the game down one, and the best look they got was a missed Josh Smith three pointer.

Key Points:

  • The Pistons have now won 8 of their last 11 games at the Palace of Auburn Hills.
  • Brandon Knight scored six on 2-for-5 shooting. When I looked up at the score board and noticed he was still at zero I tried to think of the last time he had hit a shot. Remember he didn’t score on Tuesday against the Lakers.
  • The Pistons were led by Greg Monroe, who scored 20 with 7 boards and a blocked shot. Nice to see him bounce back after scoring just six points in the first half and having a not so stellar offensive game against the Lakers on Tuesday.
Greg Monroe Pistons Hawks

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • I thought this one was going to be one of those games after I got to my seat about two minutes after the game started and the Pistons were quickly letting the Hawks take charge. The Hawks made their first nine shots to lead by 10.
  • Jason Maxiell made sure Charlie Villanueva wasn’t getting any time in his return to the court. Jason stole the show with his second straight double-double, putting up 19 with 12 boards. Maxiell couldn’t miss, making all five of his shots in the first quarter to help the Pistons stay in the game.
  • Jason Maxiell loves a good putback jam.

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/pistons/2012/03/09/0021100587_atl_det_play5.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • When Jason wasn’t in the game lighting it up, Jonas made sure that there was no drop off. Jerebko scored 10 with 2 boards, a steal, an assist and a whole lot of energy.

Lawrence Frank: “If there was an MVP of this game, it was Jason Maxiell. Both Jason and Jonas combined did a great job. Max was super. The tandem of him and Jonas was great.”

  • Doug E Fresh, the Pistons half time show will probably log more minutes on court this season than Austin Daye.
  • Ben Gordon…still rubbish.
  • Nobody at the Palace seemed to notice or care that T-Mac was on the floor for the Hawks.
  • Stuckey with 11 points on 4-for-7 shooting in 37 minutes on the floor.
  • Prince was solid putting up 17 with 2 assists and five boards. You can thank Tay for this one after he had a solid fourth quarter, hitting three big baskets right when the Pistons needed it. No basket was more important than his 8 footer with 24 seconds left in the game to put the Pistons up 86-85 to cement the victory.
  • Can’t see Charlie V cracking this rotation any time soon. Is anyone upset about that?
  • Josh Smith led the Hawks with 21 on 8-for-19 shooting and most of you want to see him in a Pistons uniform. It seems like deja vu. How many times have we as Pistons fans went through the Josh Smith trade scenario?
  • This team can play defense.
  • No matter what team he plays for I still can’t stand Kirk Hinrich.
  • 44 points in the paint for Detroit.
  • Highlights of the game via NBA.com

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/pistons/2012/03/09/0021100587_atl_det_recap.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • Another chance to take on at the Palace tonight (Saturday) against the Raptors.
3 Responses to "The Pistons keep rolling at the Palace"
  1. N1ck says:

    The next few games… Tonight vs. Toronto and a road series with the “beatable” teams will show us the truth.
    Can we get near to the playoff spot or are we down under for a reason.
    In February and in beginning of the March, this team showed us some nice things, which we wanted to see for a long time. Can we make one more step, and do it on the road where we’ve been weak… Let’s see.

  2. Drew says:

    Stuckey had 7 assists. And we need a Putback King pic somewhere in this write-up. :)

  3. Julian says:

    I think the Pistons are going to shock the world by getting into the playoffs this year despite starting the season 4-20 at which time they were considered one of the worst teams in the NBA.

    Kudos to Frank and his coaching staff for staying the course and turning a bunch of misfits into a respectable TEAM.
    Hopefully Gore will allow Dumars to improve the roster as much as possible in order to keep the team moving in the right direction.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM