Pistons still arent’ jazzed about playing in Utah

Posted · 10 Comments
dec_36_11_stuckey

Whatever voodoo that the Jazz have over the Pistons hasn’t worn off. Utah beat the Pistons 105-90 Monday night to make it nine in a row at home over Detroit.

Key Points:

  • Utah’s Al Jefferson, who missed the morning shoot around after the news of his Grandmothers death, led the Jazz with 33 points and 12 rebounds. He shot 14-for-18, and made six of his last seven shots. He also did a number on Greg Monroe, limiting his effectiveness.
  • The score doesn’t really tell the tale of this one, in fact the Pistons had a good chance to pick this game up. The lead changes hands nine times and was tied 15. And with 5 minutes left in the fourth the game was tied at 87.
  • Utah closed the game on a 16-2 run.
  • The Jazz, who are last in the league in three point shooting, made seven in the second half alone.

Ben Wallace: “Just one of those places. It’s just tough to play here. No matter who they put on the floor, once they step in this building they become gritty and grimy. Whoever puts that Utah uniform on, it doesn’t matter what they did before.”

Stucktacular

  • Rodney was well…Stucktacular again. He put up 29 and he’s scored at least 20 points in five of his last six games. He also padded his stat sheet with seven assists and four rebounds against the Jazz, both of which were better than his season averages. He shot 10-for-17.
  • From solid defense Saturday night to minimal on Monday.  The Pistons allowed Utah to shoot 60 percent in the first half and 54 for the game.
  • Brandon Knight shot 4-for-12 and scored 11 points in 31 minutes. He missed six of seven shots during a stretch in the first half. Not a stellar night for Knight, who also had 4 turnovers.
  • The Pistons are now 3-16 away from the Palace and haven’t won at Utah since Nov. 6, 2002.
  • Four Pistons in double figures.
  • The Pistons +/- was all minus for Detroit.

Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Detroit lost the board war 29-3.
  • Wouldn’t Paul Millsap look good in a Pistons uniform?
  • Jason Maxiell with three blocks on the night.
  • Back to work Wednesday night in Sacramento.
10 Responses to "Pistons still arent’ jazzed about playing in Utah"
  1. edt says:

    only 3 games out of the 8th place playoff slot

  2. daddy says:

    just to add insult big al hits a 3 at the end

  3. J'Quez Powell says:

    Al Jefferson would be a perfect fit in Detroit, we could do a three-team trade with the Cavaliers, giving up Ben Gordon, since Cleveland desperately needs a good shooting guard, we give up an extra player, and a draft pick (I really wouldn’t want to do that), we could have a good quality trade.

  4. Drew says:

    We only got 3 rebounds? Ouch. Also, “padding stats” implies that one added points and stuff during garbage time, which wasn’t the case with Stuckey. Al Jefferson, if anything, padded his stats with that 3.

  5. Julian says:

    Bynum, CV31 and Daye did not play in Utah but watched from the doghouse instead since it was a close game.
    That is over $12 million/yr of salary watching from the bench.
    Gore has to be pulling his hair out that he is paying so much for little or no contribution. If I were him I would do whatever I could to get ride of these guys after the season is completed.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM