Pistons slay the Raptors

Posted · 3 Comments
Rodney Stuckey

The Pistons got just what they needed Saturday night before they head out for an extended road trip.  Detroit took down the Raptors in convincing fashion right from the tip with a 37-14 first quarter, thanks to a 15 points Brandon Knight.  The  105-86 beat-down was a beautiful thing to see.

Key Points:

  • The Pistons 37 points in the first quarter was largest quarter total all season.
  • Detroit is hot at home, taking 9 of their last 12 at The Palace.
  • Don’t let the offensive numbers fool you, this team played defense all night long.
  • Everyone played in this one, including  Charlie Villanueva who jacked up a 3 pointer as soon as he got his hands on the ball. He went 0-for-2.
  • I’m getting to like Damion Wilkins more and more each game.  He’s all about defense and is doing a solid job backing up Prince.  He finished with 8 points, 2 steals, a blocked shot, an assist and one board.
  • Rodney Stuckey led the Pistons with 20 points on 8-for-12 shooting with 8 assists, 2 steals and 4 boards.  It was a solid performance in all categories for Stuckey.
  • The +/-  from the starting five went a little something like this.
  • Prince +27, Maxiell +20, Monroe +21, Stuckey +21 and Brandon Knight +16.
  • Can’t remember the last time this team had so many easy baskets.
  • Vernon Macklin is inactive now that Charlie V is healthy.
  • The new and improved Pistons backcourt scored 39 points and 15 assists.  Those are Chauncey and Rip kind of numbers.
  • Knight finished with 19 points, 7 assists and 4 boards.  His smile was brighter than ever after the game he was having.  He almost connected on a alley-oop from Tay in the first quarter that would have brought the Palace house down.  It’s good to see him bounce back like this.
Brandon Knight 15 points in the first quarter.

Photo/Associated Press editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Another solid night from Jason Maxiell, whose production none of us saw coming.  Jason finished with 12 points, 7 boards a steal and a blocked shot.
  • The Swede with 13 and 6 boards and the NBA’s Block of the night.

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/channels/top_plays/2012/03/10/20120310_botn.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • Moose didn’t have to do the heavy lifting, which was nice for a change.
  • Ben Wallace still grabbing boards.
  • It’s always nice to put a smack down on someone, especially at home.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/pistons/2012/03/10/0021100596_tor_det_recap.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

Lawrence Frank “We had a real good pick-and-roll game going, very good intent in terms of turning the corner. The ball was moving and sharing, but it all started with good defense. This is our third straight game of holding a team to 86 points or less. Holding a team down to 40 percent (shooting percentage) and to win on the road there are certain things you have to do, you have to defend, rebound, and you have to have low turnovers.”

  • Tayshaun Prince played his 700th career game in a Detroit uniform Saturday night.
  • It’s not going o be easy-going forward, just look at the schedule.
3 Responses to "Pistons slay the Raptors"
  1. rai_from_the_philippines says:

    nice convincing win. This was a game that was won primarily by solid defense.

    Go Pistons!

  2. Drew says:

    Beautiful game. I don’t think we’ve played so convincingly well in 3 – 4 years.

  3. daddy says:

    i know its the raptors but whooooooaaaaaaa. played well actually looked like a team on half the plays.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM