A Stucktacular shot with .2 seconds for the WIN

Posted · 10 Comments
Stucktacular

If you were like me and you watched the Pistons/Wizards game from the tip it was pretty clear that this was a battle for lottery balls. I’m not going to say these teams are bad, but what I am going to say is if you got past three quarters of this game you should get a medal.

That medal (if you’re a Pistons fan) came with .2 seconds left on the clock when Rodney Stuckey’s step back jumper cut the net to break the 77-77 tie and give the Pistons the win.

Key Points:

  • THIS via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Rodney Stuckey, in his first game back since injuring his toe, led the Pistons with 24 points on 9-for-20 shooting with two boards and a blocked shot. He didn’t look hobbled, but you could tell he was having a few issues because he was settling for jumpshots, not his usual drives to the lane.

Photo/AP Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Tayshaun scored 18 but please stop giving him the ball when the game is on the line. He hasn’t been clutch all season. He missed a 5 foot jumper in the lane with 23 seconds left on the clock and the Pistons down by one 74-75. Thankfully Greg Monroe tipped it in.
  • Props to BIG BEN, who John Wall intentionally fouled with 11 seconds on the clock, for at least making one of his free throws and putting the Pistons up two.
  • Nene’s make to almost send this one into overtime was a blow, until Stuckey saved the day.
  • Hard work form Jonas Jerebko, who scored nine points and grabbed 12 boards.
  • Ben Wallace really had his fountain of youth drink late in this one. Thanks Ben and Jonas for helping the Piston get back and win this one.
  • When I tell you that this one was awful to watch I really do mean it. Neither team could really score. In fact I’m pretty sure I could score more in an Applebees with flannel bunny pajamas on.
  • The Pistons had three more turnovers than made baskets in the first half and only trailed by five at the half.
  • Brandon Knight missed 10 of 13 field goals, but made the play of the night when he leaped over his bench late in the fourth quarter and landed by the bucket that holds Gatorade. For old school Pistons fans…it was totally a Rodman play. Brandon finished with 8 points and 7 assists on the night.

Lawrence Frank “Brandon’s hustle play was a momentum changing play. Guy took a shower during the game, and that doesn’t happen a lot. I thought that really pumped our guys up.”

  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Greg Monroe 10 points and 10 boards.

Ben Gordon and 0-4 in six minutes. It’s sad that you can count on just one thing when it comes to the 12 million dollar man. INCONSISTENCY

10 Responses to "A Stucktacular shot with .2 seconds for the WIN"
  1. Marcell says:

    Please give us a heads up when your going to be at Applebees with flannel bunny pajamas

  2. edt says:

    bunny pajamas are super cute

  3. edt says:

    [img]http://cdn0.sbnation.com/imported_assets/1022684/happymoose-o_medium.gif[/img]

  4. Julian says:

    Maxiell only starter with no pts,
    BG, Wilkins, Daye (no surprise) with no pts off the bench.
    CV31 and Russell: DNP (coaches decision)
    If I were Gores I would be upset that I was paying all that dough for BG and CV for little or no production.
    Either play your highest paid players or get rid of them.
    The Mad Ants season will soon be over. I am betting that V. Mack finds his way back to the Pistons right afterwards. Hopefully he will get some more playing time than before although Big Ben is playing well lately.

  5. Damien W. says:

    @Julian: It’s pretty much safe to say that CV is getting the Amnesty Pink Slip by seasons end (or so we hope). He hasn’t been on the court for more than 5 minutes ever since being deemed “Healthy”. Ever since Gordon put on a Piston jersey, he is the embodiment of Inconstancy. Goes for 45 points on 9 for 9 shooting from 3-line in one game, to shooting 0-for-4 a few games later? Ugh, just a pain.

    But anyway, this game was like a Freshman high school game; lids on both rims for the first 40 minutes of the game, but when Brandon took his mid-game bath in electrolytes, the game picked up, which made me smile.

  6. shari says:

    LET’S GO RONDNEY AND BRANDON AND AUSTIN AND BEN GORDON.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM