Pistons shock the Celtics in Boston

Posted · 21 Comments
feb_15_12_stuckey

The Pistons snapped a two game losing streak beating the Celtics on the road 98-88.  This is only the second time the Pistons beat the Celtics in their last eight meetings. Detroit competed with the Celtics the entire game, but it wasn’t until the Pistons started to come back late in the third quarter that by outscoring the Celtics 8 to 2 in the final minutes of the third and finally taking a one point lead headed into the fourth quarter.

Key Points:

  • No Garnett for the Celtics.
  • The Celtics have won 11 of their last 14 against the Pistons
  • The Pistons have now won 5 of their last 7 games.
  • The Chicago Bulls Ben Gordon showed up at the Garden. Ben terrorized the Celtics all night hitting big shot after big shot.  None bigger than the 3 he hit to put the Pistons up 10 with a minutes left in the game.  Ben finished with 22 off the bench for the Pistons, going  4 -for-6 from downtown.   Congrats Ben….does this mean you’re back?
Ben Gordon vs Celtics

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

Ben Gordon: “We just played with some heart tonight,”

  • This was a one point with eleven minutesPistons go on a 12 to 2 run in the fourth quarter to put this one away. Three Ben Gordon triples in that run, that really tells the story.
  • 13 turnovers for Detroit.
  • The Pistons trailed by just 2 at the half.
  • Rajon Rondo with a season high 35 points.

Lawrence Frank: “We’re looking for little steps. We’re showing fight.”

  • Ben Wallace a season high 11 boards.  After the Spurs game and the Celtics outing it looks like Ben is drinking that fountain of youth juice again.  Good to see both Bens making it happen.
  • Jonas Jerebko sat out the second half and had ice on his leg.  No official word, it just looks like he’s a little beat up. Jonas played 8 minutes and had just one board.
  • Austin Daye did not play.
  • Greg Monroe with 22 points and 9 boards.  Monroe started slow, but became aggressive in the second half.   Monroe gave Detroit its first lead of the second half on a tip-in with 23  seconds left in the third quarter that made it 73-72 heading to the fourth.
Greg Monroe vs The Celtics

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Rodney Stuckey led the Pistons with 25 points with 4 assists, and 3 boards in 36 minutes on the floor.  Rodney really kept the Pistons in the game, especially in the first half.  Nice to see him with a handful of solid performances.
  • Chris Wilcox former Pistons had a heck of a game for the Celtics with 17 points.
  • Will Bynum appearance.
  • Brandon Knight got into foul trouble early and really didn’t get into the flow of the game with Ben and Stuckey doing well.  Knight seems to be having issues with his mask.  He starts the game with it, but it’s usually off by half.
  • Damion Wilkins had a couple of great defensive plays helping the Pistons down the stretch.
  • Tayshaun 3-for-12 from the floor with 10 points.
  • Detroit out rebounded the Celtics 44-33.
  • The Celtics biggest lead with 7, the Pistons 13.
  • Fun game to watch, and nice to see this team get a road win, especially when it comes against the Celtics.

Highlights via NBA.com
[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/celtics/2012/02/15/0021100431_det_bos_recap.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • It’s very noticeable that this team is getting better and better on the defensive end.
  • Keep in mind that these two teams play again Sunday at the Palace.

 

21 Responses to "Pistons shock the Celtics in Boston"
  1. josh blue says:

    I was at the game tonight, repping hard for the D. My wife, born and bred Celtics fan, actually his all my Pistons gear. At 2:30 today, i made the realization that I was sans gear, so i hustled to the mall and got a shirt custom made:

    http://img571.imageshack.us/img571/397/wallaceabck3.png

    (with a pistons logo on the front)

    dont get to see my team very often any more, but tonight was absolutely great. My voice is completely gone…only Pistons fan in my section, so I had to make it count. Tried to make Mason proud

    • Lori says:

      That is the best shirt! I want one!! Ben has always been my favorite.

    • Now that is Sheedtastic! Josh, do you have a picture of you at the game in it?

    • N1ck says:

      In times when everybody just think of next season(s), doin’ their own fantasy drafting and trading, trashing Joe D and even Frank… a TRUE Pistons fan deserves a big respect.

      • josh blue says:

        You know what? The way theyve been playing lately? I think they could make a run for a playoff spot.

        why do i have such a crazy thought? They are punishing people for going to the hole. Im seeing good hard fouls.

        stuckey will always be enthralling/excruciating. Austin daye may never leave the bench again. my secret website need4swede.com may always under contrtruction, much like jonas is.

        But we do have – i cant believe im saying this – the right coach. Greg Monroe is the truth. guys are buying into defense (note to knight: you might be buying, but you need to get big. eat a cheeseburger or something). grandpa wallace has been a bleeping rock for this team.

        5 of their last 7. keep this up….playoffs dont sound all that crazy. and if they make the playoffs, ill find a way to come on home to michigan for the first round

        • edt says:

          no. I’m going to have to bust a little reality here

          we are 9 and 22, we have 35 games left to make a playoff run we should get a record of 32 wins and 34 losses, which means of the 35 games left we need 23 wins,

          23/35 = 66% win rate, which is exactly the win rate of the LA clippers.

          I don’t think we are as good as the clippers.

          But I agree if we keep balling like this we are going to lose some ping pong balls I can see us going down to the 11th pick.

          This year it is up to Joe D to make some trades. The fireworks start in march when we have the option of trading Prince and Stuckey.

          If we can pull the trigger on trading both those guys we can go somewhere. Stuckey is our second best player (moose is our best) and if Joe D is able to give him up, that means he has learned to be all business, and not get so emotional.

          • junior says:

            We cant trwde stuckey till after the season, per when he signed his deal has to b three months till hes available for trade. Besides y trwde stuck hes one of our best players, have u given up on him?

            • edt says:

              I like stuckey he’s a beast. But he’s the best piece we can trade. Ben Gordon can’t be moved, his contract is a turd, Charlie V, Prince, Maxiell, Daye? We not nothing of value except for Stuckey and Moose and Moose can’t be traded.

              Our fans want to give up turds and gain diamonds in return that’s not how it works.

              I thought stuck was available to be traded in March am I wrong?

          • Drew says:

            Why trade? It’s not like high-profile players want to come here right now anyway. Just stick with Knight, Stuckey, Prince (or Jerebko), Monroe and (insert Davis, Drummond or T. Robinson here) and, bam, we have a squad.

            • terry says:

              finally somebody seeing what I’ve been seeing. You really don’t need much to make this team formidable. It just takes time for the pieces to develop into a cohesive unit, and what better season to get a high lottery pick than this? Thanks NBA lockout.

  2. daddy says:

    i love how people will trash our own team. yes everyone could use some improvements give them time to work on it. if in a year they dont get better then start talking.

  3. Julian says:

    Good W on the road after a terrible game against the Wizards.

    Didn`t choke this time at the end.

    Lets see if they put another win streak together

  4. Julian says:

    Is Austin now in the dog house and behind Wilkins on the depth chart at SF?
    I can see why, since Austin has not had a good game for quite awhile now.

    Austin needs to earn his minutes and atlhough Wilkins is not a big scorer at least can play D.
    Too bad since I hate to see Pistons have 1st round draft busts.

  5. junior says:

    U know i was thinking the other day that i rea/ly wish we would have kept amir and afflalo, those two have really stepped it up since leaving the d. Amir would fit perfect next to moose, with maxi off the bench.

  6. Julian says:

    the odds of getting the number 1 pick in the 2012 NBA draft for the number 6 team is 7.5% and for number 7 is 4.3%,

    there still is hope of getting lucky

  7. Conway Eastwood says:

    Exactly what this squad needed! Congrats, team! Especially after that terrible blowout loss to Washington, this win is a godsend.

  8. Venice says:

    I still want to get Davis than having a few more wins and failing to get to the playoffs.

  9. Julian says:

    Davis will probably go number 1.

    But we still have a chance a good big in the draft.
    Hopefully CV can play soon and we can see what he can bring to the current roster. Big Ben will probably retire next year. Maxiell and Wilkins are free agents after this year and will probably not be back.

  10. Julian says:

    So unless someone leaves by the amensty rule and we do not resign any free agents then we will need to fill several holes by draft or FA.
    1. Quality C backup for Moose.
    2. PF starter with JJ as backup with CV status up in the air. If Jason leaves next year CV could be the starter unless he is cut.
    3. SF backup to Prince, unless the kid from Spain comes back. Austin will be a third string.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM